We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save on Event tickets
Ranked #22 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Quaint, historic hotel, with very nice, polite and helpful staff. Ideally located. Rooms were clean and breakfast was typical Italian choice. Minor points; communal toilet light sensor setting is not on for long enough and may switch off whilst you are still using the toilet (no window either so complete darkness) and there was alot of noise during the night from outside, with people shouting/arguing/talking until very early hours.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    248
    118
    70
    50
See reviews for
103
307
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Lovely, friendly, helpful staff. The hotel has elegance and you get a good feel for the past. Location is great, round the corner from some great bars and restaurants. Breakfast is basic but tasty. Good for a couple of nights.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loule, Portugal
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

We have just got back from Pisa and must say that this hotel is simply brilliant ...great location on the river and it's right in the venter between the train station and the leaning tower

The hotel is nearly 200 years old and has been owned and managed by the same family . It is worth asking the manger about the hotel and he and his daughter will tell you everything about the history of the hotel and it's royal connection.... You will be surprised how many kings and queens have stayed here.

It is a brilliant hotel and well worth the visit when in Pisa

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel in May 2013 with my wife and daughter. Hotel is located in a historic building, in very convenient location and for reasonable price. Unfortunately, I was not aware of consequences while using their car park.
My good memories from long weekend in Italy have been overshadowed by 125 Eur fine imposed by Municipality of Pisa for entering restricted traffic zone (my car was captured by street camera).
I drove through the restricted area solely to access the Hotel Royal Victoria car park (there is no alternative route to get there). I paid for the car park on top of the room rate (30 Eur) for peace of mind (mistakenly!) because there was no visitors car park available at the street.

Here are reasons why I blame the hotel for misleading information and lack of professionalism:

1. Hotel's staff did not inform me that traffic restrictions apply to the hotel's guests.
2. Staff member showed me a way to the car park through the restricted area without any warning.
3. Staff member ensured me that guest of the hotel are entitled to drive through like local residents.
4. Hotel's staff did not send details of my car to the local police at the time of my stay (even though there is procedure in place to avoid fines on local hotels residents).
5. Hotel's reception offered refund of the cost of the penalty under condition that sufficient prove of stay will be provided. This is despite an obligation to keep records of visitors (i.e. for reissue of the invoice).
5. The evidence was provided and reception have avoided contact since then.
6. The refund has been never actually paid.

If you consider booking your accommodation with this hotel, be careful and avoid using its car park. Otherwise, you will be charged a fine by local authorities (they have 18 months to do so) and if you will drive hired car there will be additional administration fee of 35 Eur for sending your details to the local police.

Have a nice time in Italy and avoid troubles

Room Tip: Hotel is a bit noisy over night due to busy roads around
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

A well presented hotel, the rooms are what I think of as typically Italian, classy and clean. Breakfast was a wide variety of fruit, cereals, breads, huge croissants, cheese, ham and yogurts. The position of the hotel is great, 20ish minute walk to the leaning tower and about the same to the railway station. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ensure you have chosen the correct option, we found someone had not read properly and booked shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Royal victoria hotel has so much character and authenticity, and from the moment you walk in, it feels like you're stepping back in time and getting a feel for what Italy is really like. The staff are so friendly and just want to advise you on the best attractions, restaurants etc. The room was beautiful and even though, it wasn't the biggest, for the price we got it for-it was a steal! Breakfast was the best we had on our entire 13 day trip around Italy with a great selection of anything you could ever want.

Such a great experience and the best way to experience authentic Pisa!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a balcony which overlooks the amazing river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The location is good and the staff are friendly. The room is very basic, but it's okay since it was also pretty cheap. There were lots of internet problems - one day it didn't work at all, and the hotel staff didn't believe us when we told them. Once they rebooted the router and got it going the next day, it dropped out quite a lot and was fairly slow

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.