We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid hotel's car park !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 83 hotels in Pisa
1 review
“Avoid hotel's car park !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I really enjoyed staying in this hotel in May 2013 with my wife and daughter. Hotel is located in a historic building, in very convenient location and for reasonable price. Unfortunately, I was not aware of consequences while using their car park.
My good memories from long weekend in Italy have been overshadowed by 125 Eur fine imposed by Municipality of Pisa for entering restricted traffic zone (my car was captured by street camera).
I drove through the restricted area solely to access the Hotel Royal Victoria car park (there is no alternative route to get there). I paid for the car park on top of the room rate (30 Eur) for peace of mind (mistakenly!) because there was no visitors car park available at the street.

Here are reasons why I blame the hotel for misleading information and lack of professionalism:

1. Hotel's staff did not inform me that traffic restrictions apply to the hotel's guests.
2. Staff member showed me a way to the car park through the restricted area without any warning.
3. Staff member ensured me that guest of the hotel are entitled to drive through like local residents.
4. Hotel's staff did not send details of my car to the local police at the time of my stay (even though there is procedure in place to avoid fines on local hotels residents).
5. Hotel's reception offered refund of the cost of the penalty under condition that sufficient prove of stay will be provided. This is despite an obligation to keep records of visitors (i.e. for reissue of the invoice).
5. The evidence was provided and reception have avoided contact since then.
6. The refund has been never actually paid.

If you consider booking your accommodation with this hotel, be careful and avoid using its car park. Otherwise, you will be charged a fine by local authorities (they have 18 months to do so) and if you will drive hired car there will be additional administration fee of 35 Eur for sending your details to the local police.

Have a nice time in Italy and avoid troubles

Room Tip: Hotel is a bit noisy over night due to busy roads around
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    229
    105
    65
    46
See reviews for
95
283
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A well presented hotel, the rooms are what I think of as typically Italian, classy and clean. Breakfast was a wide variety of fruit, cereals, breads, huge croissants, cheese, ham and yogurts. The position of the hotel is great, 20ish minute walk to the leaning tower and about the same to the railway station. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ensure you have chosen the correct option, we found someone had not read properly and booked shared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Royal victoria hotel has so much character and authenticity, and from the moment you walk in, it feels like you're stepping back in time and getting a feel for what Italy is really like. The staff are so friendly and just want to advise you on the best attractions, restaurants etc. The room was beautiful and even though, it wasn't the biggest, for the price we got it for-it was a steal! Breakfast was the best we had on our entire 13 day trip around Italy with a great selection of anything you could ever want.

Such a great experience and the best way to experience authentic Pisa!

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a balcony which overlooks the amazing river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The location is good and the staff are friendly. The room is very basic, but it's okay since it was also pretty cheap. There were lots of internet problems - one day it didn't work at all, and the hotel staff didn't believe us when we told them. Once they rebooted the router and got it going the next day, it dropped out quite a lot and was fairly slow

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Old hotel in centre of Pisa. Good location, very beautiful big room. One thing that we don't liked, was that information says check in time is from 12, we arrived at 2 pm and the room was not ready. At 4 we got our room... Also I booked a quiet room but there was a lot of sounds from outside. Breakfast was quite booring. But in general; nice hotel that I can recommend if you like to live in an old hotel with beautiful rooms and great location.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very atmospheric hotel,thoroughly enjoyable. We stayed for only two days but wished it was for more. Next to the river and gives easy access to all that Pisa has to offer. Would definately go back....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Takes you back to the times of the 'Grand Tour' of Europe, before hotels became crowded and utilitarian. The rooms are huge and airy with great views - ours looked out on the Arno River right across the road. The decor ranges from the turn of the last century to the 1920s, and - lots of huge glass windows & doors with sandblasted art deco embellishments, a beautiful, light & airy effect. The hotel is fun to explore - full of odd rooms that don't seem to be used for anything - a piano/recital room, a trophy room, a library, etc. You half expect to come upon a heroine from a Jane Austen novel, playing on a pianoforte in front of a small crowd of admirers in top hats & gloves! And the rooftop garden is a true garden with real plants - quite refreshing. All very pretty & quaint. Plus the location is perfect - close to everything, and easy to find - just walk uphill towards the river! the breakfast was superior, and they had a sweetheart of a waitress serving us. Service was overall very good.
Only two downsides: 1. The Wifi was in the process of being changed from paying to free, so it was free, but they still hadn't set it up to use a single universal password. You had to get the front desk to print you out a password, which expired within 2 to 4 hours, and then you had to get another. The password printing machine never worked any time I went down to request it, so wasn't able to access the wifi at all.
2. The lift is up a flight of stairs, so not accessible to the handicapped. Very common in Italy!

Room Tip: Rooms along the north side overlook the Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.