We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay in Royal Victoria” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 82 hotels in Pisa
Göteborg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice stay in Royal Victoria”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Old hotel in centre of Pisa. Good location, very beautiful big room. One thing that we don't liked, was that information says check in time is from 12, we arrived at 2 pm and the room was not ready. At 4 we got our room... Also I booked a quiet room but there was a lot of sounds from outside. Breakfast was quite booring. But in general; nice hotel that I can recommend if you like to live in an old hotel with beautiful rooms and great location.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    236
    112
    65
    49
See reviews for
100
291
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Very atmospheric hotel,thoroughly enjoyable. We stayed for only two days but wished it was for more. Next to the river and gives easy access to all that Pisa has to offer. Would definately go back....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Takes you back to the times of the 'Grand Tour' of Europe, before hotels became crowded and utilitarian. The rooms are huge and airy with great views - ours looked out on the Arno River right across the road. The decor ranges from the turn of the last century to the 1920s, and - lots of huge glass windows & doors with sandblasted art deco embellishments, a beautiful, light & airy effect. The hotel is fun to explore - full of odd rooms that don't seem to be used for anything - a piano/recital room, a trophy room, a library, etc. You half expect to come upon a heroine from a Jane Austen novel, playing on a pianoforte in front of a small crowd of admirers in top hats & gloves! And the rooftop garden is a true garden with real plants - quite refreshing. All very pretty & quaint. Plus the location is perfect - close to everything, and easy to find - just walk uphill towards the river! the breakfast was superior, and they had a sweetheart of a waitress serving us. Service was overall very good.
Only two downsides: 1. The Wifi was in the process of being changed from paying to free, so it was free, but they still hadn't set it up to use a single universal password. You had to get the front desk to print you out a password, which expired within 2 to 4 hours, and then you had to get another. The password printing machine never worked any time I went down to request it, so wasn't able to access the wifi at all.
2. The lift is up a flight of stairs, so not accessible to the handicapped. Very common in Italy!

Room Tip: Rooms along the north side overlook the Arno.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

A lovely classic hotel located slap bang in Pisa city centre. I stayed a week in a huge room overlooking the Arno. This is a grand old lady from another era. Maybe a little tired around some of the edges but she makes up with character and beautiful charm. I was staying with my baby and whilst the lift was a wonderful help, annoyingly, you had to get up 5 steps before you could use it. So I had to leave our buggy in reception when we were in the hotel as I couldn't wheel baby upstairs in it :( A wonderful location with some great restaurants, gelaterias and cafes nearby. I would definitely return if I went back to Pisa.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Arno if possible - but be aware that they can be noisy if you have the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We chose this hotel primarily for the central location, 900 m from the Leaning Tower and only a 15 minute walk from the Central train station and it certainly did not disappoint. This hotel is full of old fashioned charm and was nice and clean, however, beware that the wi-fi seems to be rationed (we only had it for one evening of a 4 night stay) and we did have to persist to have the air conditioning switched on in the room. the continental breakfast was a really good way to start the day with a large selection to chose from.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siena, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Booked this hotel through Booking.com.

Unfortunately when we arrived they did not have our reservation. We were told Booking.com did not push the reservation through. They were fully booked and had no rooms to offer us.

The hotel was good, in that they arranged for us to stay at another hotel which was local, and we paid the same price. We were the third party that day to have the problem.

The hotel said they are trying to resolve this ongoing matter with Booking.com.

To add insult to injury, Booking.com sent us an email stating they were informed by the hotel that we failed to arrive and would be charging a cancellation fee. I wrote to the hotel to ask them to correct this, and they have not had the courtesy to reply. I have therefore written directly to Booking.com to resolve this myself.

It begs the question if the hotel know this problem exists why do they continue to use booking.com, and why did they not have a process for informing booking.com that their guests have indeed arrived?

This was not ideal after along day of travelling, and although they did find us another hotel, it was not what we booked

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I chose Royal Victoria based on the mostly positive TripAdvisor reviews. We weren't quite sure what to expect, but we ended up being very pleased with our experience. The hotel is quite large and in a lovely old building that's interesting to walk through. We booked a large room (I think it was called "classic") and specifically requested A/C and wi-fi as we noticed other reviewers had mentioned that not all rooms come with A/C and wi-fi. Our room was facing the river so I was a little afraid the noise at night might keep us up (based on other people's reviews); however we were on the third floor and we couldn't hear any noise at all, particularly since we had the windows closed and the A/C on. The view from the room was lovely. The room itself was very large and also had a spacious bathroom. We loved the frescoes on the ceiling. Definitely one of the most eclectic rooms we've ever stayed in. The rooftop terrace is nice, but we didn't really spend any time up there. The only downside of our stay is that the wi-fi was not working for the whole time. The front desk said they were having trouble generating passwords or something. That was pretty annoying, but not the end of the world. I would definitely recommend the Royal Victoria to anyone visiting Pisa.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, HostelWorld, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.