We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Victoria Hotel in Pisa, Italy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Royal Victoria Hotel in Pisa, Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Grand old hotel with reserved parking available (highly recommended). Location is on the river Arno so be sure to ask for a river view room - upper floor. There is a very small 2 person lift. No breakfast but they do have a Happy Hour. Rooms are very large with great antiques and the bathrooms were more than adequate. The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the Duomo and surrounding attractions.

Room Tip: Request a River View Room - spectacular at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    276
    143
    77
    61
See reviews for
116
355
34
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Grove, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Beautifully preserved spaces that have been in the same family for generations. Integrity of the original hotel has been honored. Wonderful, helpful, friendly staff feels like they enjoy their work and interfacing with tourists. Rotating local art exhibits, historical furnishings and rooftop garden enhance your stay. Large common sitting rooms provide respite for the traveler. Delicious sumptuous morning breakfast served with grace and smiles. I can't describe the welcoming feelings we felt here, truly a gem!

There was a bus strike when we arrived at the airport so we walked 20 minutes to the hotel that was easy to find, just across the bridge.

Room Tip: Our room was along the alley and there was activity below at night, but hey, it's an urban envir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We stumbled on this hotel on a short break to Italy, although we only spent one night we felt we d stumbled on a treasure . The staff are incredibly friendly . We were staying in a traditional room and we felt we had walked into another world, thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I totally agree with all the previous positive reviews - this historic and charming hotel is full of character, provides a very central and easily found location (we walked from airport as there was no bus due into town... took 20 minutes at night) and provided us with a very pleasant and comfortable one night stay with an adequate breakfast for only £50 in September. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the roof terrace provides a calm oasis with lovely views (and a bottle of pinot grigio with snacks for only 12 Euro!). bus stops outside with shuttle every 15 minutes to airport (1 Euro ) and Leaning Tower / Basilica a lovely 15 minute walk through the old town streets. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: en suite standard or superior rooms would be a better option for more than 1 night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Amazing hotel oozing character and charm. The roof terrace is stunning and you can order a very reasonably priced bottle of wine with complimentary snacks to relax with. Certain parts of the hotel are laid out as it would have looked in the 1900s. It was lovely to browse around and just soak up the atmosphere.
The staff very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and charming. The breakfast was great too - plentiful and something for everyone.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would gladly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carradale, scotland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

If you are a Hilton/Holiday Inn/Marriott kind of person, do not visit here !
If however, you like old historic buildings, splendidly located and run with charming, dedicated staff, this could be for you.
Sit in the reading room and imagine Charles Dickens scribing there. Imagine Theodore Roosevelt and his entourage bustling about noisily.
The old visitor's books are a revelation.
Accept the hotel for what it is, and one day you might just realise you were visiting Europe's historical past in a most astonishing way.
Think Raffles hotel in Singapore before they tarted it up, think Gabriel Garcia Marques and 'Love in a time of cholera', and you might begin to understand the experience.
We will go back again God willing, to that room with balcony overlooking the river Arno, and hope it doesn't change too much.
 

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for one evening on the start of our travels through Italy. This is hotel is in a lovely old building right in the heart of Pisa. We where able to walk from the airport to the hotel which took approximately 40 minutes. The rooms where adequate with comfy beds but the bathrooms where not the cleanest and although there is a toilet on each floor the shower was a few floors up. Reasonable for a one night stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.2 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Di Stefano
Hotel Di Stefano
#12 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Novecento
Hotel Novecento
#8 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Alessandro della Spina
0.3 mi away
Hotel Amalfitana
Hotel Amalfitana
#15 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#2 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.