We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 83 hotels in Pisa
nottinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent location, easy to find as long as you head straight ahead out of the train station and head towards the river.
The rooms are huge, to match the beautiful old Italian furniture.
The desk staff were very helpful, and the breakfasts were plentiful. The roof top terrace is a beautiful place to top up your fluid levels in the heat.
The only downside is the noise at night. I requested a room over the courtyard, but was allocated a room with a view over the river as I asked for a room with a bath (302). Although this was lovely to look out over, it's really too noisy to hope to get any sleep. If you are happy to just have as shower, you can have a quoted room. The desk staff did offer to change our room, and much to my husband's dismay, I decided to sit it out due to it being the weekend of the regatta.
I would definitely stay here again, without doubt, but would request a courtyard room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    192
    280
    128
    77
    50
See reviews for
90
280
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Top reviews in both Lonely Planet and Time Out guidebooks for Tuscany made booking a junior suite at the expected traditional glory of the Royal Victoria Hotel by the river Arno in Pisa. The low price was a warning unfortunately ignored. In Italy there is no such thing as a bargain except for the well brewed espressos available everywhere for 1€. You get what you pay for.

The location is superb, in the centre of the lovely, underrated university city of Pisa.

This suite/family room, booked for two adults and three children for a few hours sleep before early flight, was extremely worn down. Classy old furniture was ok, charming bathroom with a few facilities, and objects from the not-so-faraway-past such as a pack of q-tips under the cupboard gave me a hunch of not too thorough cleaning. A TV and a fan; no bin, no A/C, a nice balcony with a facade screaming for paint was some of the interior details on site. The whole experience was dark wood and dusty textiles, complete with a scary phone booth in the reception with a device from Mussolini´s days. Pittoresque to some, a tad on the ramshackle side for others.
On the positive side is the friendly and professional staff, mastering the English language in full. Service minded and polite, doing their best to make up for the impressive lack of refurbishing. The roof terrace is also a nice spot for a nightcap, and at night the empty dining rooms and gloomy hallways seem perfect for a horror movie.

However, we will probably try the Bologna Hotel the next time. The four star Royal Victoria does not deserve more than two.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I stayed here for two nights recently and couldn't recommend it highly enough. It's in a perfect location (everything is walking distance) and the whole hotel is really old style Italian. Massive bedroom and bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river- made my time in Pisa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

It's been said by others, but the Royal Victoria is a wonderfully characterful large, old building, in a brilliant location right in the middle of where you need to be in Pisa. We were welcomed by a young, elegant member of staff who directed us to the (tricky to find) hotel car park in the ridiculously narrow streets behind the hotel. Our room was a huge first floor 'junior suite' with solid stone columns and a balcony onto the river. No a/c since, as the receptionist explained the following day, planning regs don't allow installation of a/c into the older rooms. It's worth having a look around the corridors since several of the ante-rooms are used as exhibition spaces for photographs and displays about Pisa, and about this historic hotel. There was the possibility of a subsidised pre-dinner drink, or of paid-for wifi, both of which we declined.

If we go back to Pisa, we'll definitely stay at the Royal Victoria. The staff could not have been more welcoming. Breakfast was OK (not brilliant). There's a lovely terrace on the upper floor and if we'd had more time we would have enjoyed sitting out there. Next time we'll go for a room with a/c since it did get hot, even with the room fan. Rooms on the front are bound to be noisy with the traffic just below. Oh, and if you prefer pristine modern fittings to slightly tatty charm, avoid this place. We loved it.

Room Tip: Quieter at the back. If you need a/c, ask for it when booking. Not all rooms have it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

"faded grandeur" - which we like. We had a junior suite (same price as a standard room if booked directly with hotel, rather than an internet broker) which was a huge old room overlooking the river with a balcony. It is old, the furniture is old, the fan kept us cool on a hot evening, and the bathroom is rather dated, but this all adds to the charm of the place. Breakfast buffet was good. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenpoint, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We flew into Pisa for one nights stay before going to Rome and the service in this hotel was second to none. We originally booked a shared bathroom room, but were bumped up to a private twin room and were also allowed to check-in a little earlier than usually. The hotel is quite grand with beautiful old style décor and large open spaces and the room was very large too, with apt bathroom. They provided some aperitivos in the evening for a small fee, and it is great opportunity to meet other travellers. The breakfast buffet in the morning offers a wide spread.

The location is perfect, walking distance everywhere, in fact we were glad we didn't stay anywhere closer to the leaning tower as it is full of street sellers that will constantly hassle you.

Highly recommend this hotel for a short stay in Pisa. Every single member of staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We made a reservation in royal victoria hotel in order to get a charming room in a nice place as it was adviced in our guide.
We were so desappointed by the first room (awful bathroom, floor and furnitures) that we ask for changing.
Unfortunately, we were as dispointed as the 1st day, but bathroom was not out of order in this room!!
Breakfast is only made of industrial products!
This hotel does not deserve we pay 80 eur a night (more 20eur for parking, more 5eur for breakfast per person)
Definitly, we wont advice this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Despegar.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.