We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They make it up with their great breakfast buffet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“They make it up with their great breakfast buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Attention: We didn't go air-condition in our room, so it was very, very hot and difficult to sleep. It didn't say it has one, but since now, every room we had had one, so I didn't think there are rooms without AC at a 3-Star hotel. Also we had a shared bathroom (of course the price is much lower then), but for a ***-Star Hotel…I would say our room was only 1 or 2 Stars, although pretty spacious. Really good is the location and the breakfast buffet – by far the best in any hotel in Italy we had! The hotel itself is very nice decorated, has a nice terrace…
I don't know how the other, more expensive rooms are, but I would never book the room without AC again - at least not in summer.

Room Tip: No A/C, some rooms have shared bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    238
    113
    65
    50
See reviews for
100
295
29
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, Missouri
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This really is 10 minutes from the Tower and about a 15 minute walk from the train station. Breakfast was reasonable, too. The room itself seemed tired and while they touted the antique furnishings, in some cases the furniture seemed just old, not antique. Also, we arrived during the hot midday but the room we had reserved for three did not have the bed in it for my granddaughter. So we had to take our afternoon rest sharing the one double bed. They said they did not bring the bed because they did not want to disturb us, which was kind, but since we had reserved the room for three, the bed should have been there when we arrived. On the other hand, they did let us check in at noon, so I guess the service was mixed.

We did enjoy the air conditioning.

Unfortunately, the weather was so hot we only walked to the tower and back. That said, Pisa looked like a nice town which could be enjoyed with little trouble on foot.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the river, and it was a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Staying at this grand, spacious hotel is like living in one of those photos of the beautiful old buildings you see all around Italy--places that are crumbling but all the more gorgeous and elegant for it. But I assure you, this place is not crumbling. There might be a crack or two in the walls, but it carries on. And the price reflects fantastic value. We stayed with our two young kids in a quad room. The beds were great, pillows too, and we had a nice view of the Arno. With kids, it's a bit of a walk to the Leaning Tower, but not bad. The highlight, for us, was shopping around at nearby markets and grocers and picnicking on the hotel's rooftop terrace. For a family traveling on a tight budget, we could not have asked or hoped for anything better.

Room Tip: If you're noise sensitive, you might ask for a room off the street. You'd lose the river vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Best hotel ever with its marble and ancient tiled flooring. In July we stayed in the same bright room (429) we had stayed 8 years ago .. the room is compact by today's standards but the adjacent quiet terrace packed with an array of flowering plants and overlooking terracotta rooftops more than made up for this.
Great ambience in the hotel and with plentiful cold breakfast on offer, great value for money.

Room Tip: Would recommend 429!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you like antiques and have patience for their “quirks” this is the hotel for you. The historic Royal Victoria is located on the bank of the Arno River, about a 10 minute walk from the train station and 15 minutes walk from the famous tower of Pisa. When we arrived we were informed we had been “upgraded” to a room with a view of the river. The staff spoke excellent English, and were friendly and professional but the map of the city they gave us was illegible (unlike four other Italian hotels we have visited which have provided good, clear downtown area maps). Our room on fourth floor was near to a wonderful walk-out patio garden. The furnishings are antique, the room was big and very tastefully decorated. The bathroom had sink, toilet, bidet, shower, and warning: an emergency button where you would expect the light switch to be! The bathroom’s quirky fluorescent light took 3 minutes to actually buzz to life. The door had a finicky old lock with the old-type of skeleton key. The room had a TV but no mini-fridge. WiFi was 2.5 euro per hour, with one-hour minimum (so we elected not to use it and griped about it the rest of the visit). The air-conditioning required two visits from a staff person to get it properly turned on—posted instructions would be helpful. Its gentle roar covered the noise of the many tourists in the downtown part of Pisa who were active until the wee hours of the morning, and was a good background noise to sleep through. The shutters did not close tightly. The price included a very generous buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had just one night's stay in this hotel, the staff were very welcoming after getting on a late flight. The room we had was spacious, only one wardrobe and a small bathroom but as we were only there one night we didn't bother to unpack but it was all very clean. The bed was comfortable although we could have done with more pillows. It is in a perfect location to walk to the tower, the shops, the piazzas, near bars and restaurants. We were so tired when we arrived we went to the roof garden where the staff would bring you a drink although you had to order it from your room, perhaps a telephone in the roof garden so you can order drinks would be helpful?? We didn't need to check out until 12 noon so we went for a walk in the morning. I would recommend this hotel, reasonable price for one night. Pisa is a small town so you don't really need anymore than two nights stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed for two nights. Location is great to get around Pisa -- which BTW is a small town. The room is old, old -- creaky wardrobe, creaky beds and the bathroom -- old with red exposed water pipes and aged glass door. Wifi is not free -- very expensive. I thought with the price they charged, they could throw in free wifi given the aged condition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;