We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant overnight stay, but has potential to be so much more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Gibraltar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pleasant overnight stay, but has potential to be so much more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed one night at this hotel before flying out of Italy the next morning. The hotel is perfectly situated right by the river and only 10 mins walk from the Leaning Tower. The Royal Victoria has a lot of history behind it and it shows...both in good and bad ways. First the positives: there is a unique charm to this place with beautiful antiques around every corner, which is what made us choose this hotel in the first place! However it is clear that the hotel has seen better days...things like cracks on the walls and outdated plumbing for example could easily be fixed and would do wonders to spruce up the place! The room itself was very comfortable - we had one of the more expensive rooms with a private bathroom, high ceilings and wonderful views of the Arno river...just gorgeous! Staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was lovely. I would definitely recommend this place for a one or two nights stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    228
    105
    64
    46
See reviews for
93
281
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We loved this hotel.The location could not be better, with the River Arno to the front and to the rear, streets,passage ways,restaurants,shops and a ten minute walk to the Leaning Tower. Perhaps visit this area later in the evening to miss the crowds. You can hire bikes from the hotel and whole area relatively car free. Once inside the hotel you are transported to another world.We both thought it very beautiful,with wonderful floors,lighting,leaded windows and elegant public spaces on each floor.We gave up using the lift so we could wander and enjoy and thus found the most exquisite ,wonderfully lit,writing room.We had just found out that amongst others,John Ruskin,Henry James,Virginia Wolfe,Emile Zola and Charles Dickens for gods sake had all stayed.This is a place to let your imagination run riot-ours did.
There were photographs of time passed, paintings and displays of original art work.When we visited also a quirky collection of bicycles though the ages.At every turn something to admire.
Our room ,which was an economy room with bathroom, had a high vaulted ceiling with fresco and was spacious,pristine and very comfortable. We looked out over roofs and alleys and slept well. Next time we will treat ourselves and go for a more expensive room overlooking the river.We will also stay two nights to really soak up the atmosphere.
Each member of staff was really helpful and friendly and we appreciated the bar service in both the foyer and roof terrace.The breakfast was fabulous.We recommend this wonderful place unreservedly. We did not want to leave.

Room Tip: Do not go for cheapest rooms. Front of hotel, top floors,overlooking river will be my next choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Lovely old hotel with many original features. Staff are friendly, and great location on the river front. The breakfast was amazing and there's a little roof terrace which we very much enjoyed in the evenings.

We didn't check our reservation properly and accidentally booked an economy room which have no bathrooms. The room itself was nice but the shared facilities were somewhat below par. However, the en-suite rooms did look very nice, and our lack of bathroom didn't detract that much from enjoying our stay.

I would recommend; but check your reservation carefully!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Volterra. The rooms were obviously very elegant at one time, but are now a bit jaded. However the room was of a good size with a beautiful high decorated ceiling. The bed was comfortable.We loved the view of the river from our room. Numerous famous people have stayed at the hotel, which makes it interesting. The buffet breakfast is adequate, although I did think that it could have looked a bit more attractive. However the coffee was very good which we always think is important when judging breakfast. The location is good, between the station and the Leaning Tower. There are lots of good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel right on the rivet near the university with a lovely rooftop terrace. Only problem was a Friday night stay with river view was the very loud street noise from students partying...too loud to open the window for the river view. But the uniqueness of the hotel made for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. The service was very good as the hotel worker rode in our car with us to guide us to the secure hotel parking lot. The rooms were very spacious, and the view of the river is beautiful. The building is very old, so the rooms and bathroom are a little out of date. We enjoyed the location as it was an easy 10 minute walk to see the Leaning Tower. Breakfast was very good. The hotel does have a small elevator, but be prepared to use the steps as it is the only one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Almost everybody of distinction who has ever lived as well as members of every royal house in Europe seems to have stayed at the Royal Victoria Hotel. It certainly has a touch of grandeur, rooms with immensely high ceilings, and some with painted neo-Renaissance scenes as well as a wide frontage on the River Arno. It is also very well situated, on the fringe of the old town, and about ten minutes walk from the Campo dei Miracoli. That much having been said, it is looking a bit jaded, and one or two things hadn't had the attention they needed. However, the reception is friendly and they have a nice wine and snack bar operated on a honesty system which made for a good start to the evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.