We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Central, clean, good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Central, clean, good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights over Easter in the hotel and had a pleasant stay. The hotel staff was very helpful and nice. Our room was small, but comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet was nice and had a good and varied choice of food.
The Hotel has an excellent location, with many small restaurants and shopping streets at a few paces away. Also within walking distance of the tower and the central station, and located right in front of the Arno.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    227
    104
    64
    47
See reviews for
92
281
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our family stayed for only one night and had a very pleasant stay with friendly service.

We had rooms with a view over the river and once you close the wooden shutters it was not noisy and nobody needed earplugs, something I always travel with (if I remember correctly we were on the third floor). The rooms were big with period appropriate furniture, although not as impressive as in the lobby. Rooms were neat and clean, although ours could do with repainting in the near future, especially the bathroom.

The buffet breakfast was very good with a bigger choice than some of the other hotels we stayed at.

We were close to the tower and could easily take a stroll through town and enjoy the atmosphere.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elidelsol, Manager at Royal Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Gentili Clienti

thank you for staying at the Royal Vic during you visiti of Pisa!
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us starting from the room up to the Breakfast which we think is very important to well start the day!

With Many Best Regards from Sunny Pisa!
Elisabetta Del Soldato
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It is rare now to find such an anachronism and much appreciated by those who, like us, spot it and vow to stay there on a subsequent visit. So we arrived in the late evening to a spotless, capacious room on the fourth floor. The lavatory was two doors away, the shower was around the corner. The staff were delightful and took immense pride in the authenticity of this grand hotel. What a pleasure it was to descend the stairs and to discover landings, a roof terrace and so many beautiful original features! Breakfast was plentiful, each table having small chocolate eggs for Easter Sunday. There are grander rooms, with private bathrooms but we were pleased with our bargain and will stay there again on our return from Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elidelsol, Manager at Royal Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guests

thank you for your kind words.
We are very happy to receive a review about our Economy Rooms which are very basic but confy as you have wrote and available at a very good price!

We like your review's title a "Gem from a bygone age".......we are one of the oldest Hotels in Italy...and if we may suggest to you on your next visit don't miss our old registers with the signature of Charles Dickens and many many other special guests....and please ask for our new register we would love to read your name on it!

Best Regards
Elisabetta Del Soldato
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

If you don't want to sleep then please stay here. The hotel is on a very busy street. You will be woken up by drunks and cars all night. We requested specifically a superior quiet room which was not honored despite the fact that the hotel was maybe a quarter full. There are many cute quiet hotels in Pisa. Don't book this hotel, look elsewhere.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elidelsol, Manager at Royal Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guest
we are very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with us.
We always put our clients to the very top of our priorities and as I am sure you have read on other reviews we really enjoy going out of our way when possible to please our valued guests.
It is quiet strange that if you had booked a quiet room you have instead received a room overlooking the river.....Are you sure that yours wasn't just a "special request" to be confirmed by the Hotel upon availability? Anyhow, we would like to ask you to show us proof of the mistake, in which case we would be happy to reimburse you the full amount of the room.
Please do not hesiate to personally contact me at following address:
eds@royalvictoria.it
Looking forward to hearing soon from you.

With Many Best Regards
Elisabetta Del Soldato
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A wonderful place to start our honeymoon. Stunning rooms and views along the Arno. Helpful staff and very handy location for everything you could want to see on your stay in Pisa. Breakfast was excellent and we were advised on local restaurants etc

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elidelsol, Manager at Royal Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Gentili Signori

thank you choosing our historical Hotel for your Honeymoon.

We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the view of the river Arno which is quiet romantic.

Once again Congratutazioni agli Sposi!

Best Regards
Elisabetta Del Soldato
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I travelled with a friend, a few days holiday before Christmas. On entering our room we were blown away by it's charm, the gorgeous furniture, the fireplace, the balcony over the river, what more could we want?! The room had its own bathroom, enough storage space, hangers, clean towels. Breakfast was good with a vast selection of cold cuts, cheeses, yoghurt, fresh fruit, cereal, juices & of course tea or coffee brought by a very helpful lady. The reception staff were excellent even going the extra mile by charging my mobile phone overnight at reception since my adaptor didn't fit their sockets. The train station is just a ten minute walk away over the bridge, walking through a road full of shops & market stalls. There's many restaurants in the area & aperitivo on offer too. I would definitely stay there again should I visit Pisa in the future.

Room Tip: The road on the river is pretty noisy, seems to be a main road so if you're a light sleeper I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elidelsol, Manager at Royal Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Gentili Signori

thank you very much for your kind words.
For us who work with passion to receive comments like yours is an important reward.
We hope to see you again here at the Royal Vic in the near future.
With Best Regards
Elisabetta Del Soldato
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bandon oregon
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The artwork in the halls and rooms are worth the visit alone. Great huge rooms filled with antiques. Breakfast superb. Management very attentive. Close to everything. I would come anytime I am near Pisa. It is like a step back in time. It is like staying in a museum. Solid comfort.

Room Tip: Don't miss the old phone booth or the cocktail time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elidelsol, Manager at Royal Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Gentili Signori
just wanting to say thank you for your kind words!
We are one of the oldest Hotels in Italy and we are very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit of Pisa.
We really appreciate you understanding the true heart of the Royal Victoria.
With Many Best Regards from Sunny Pisa!
Elisabetta Del Soldato
Executive Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.