We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliving the Victorian elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 82 hotels in Pisa
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Reliving the Victorian elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

A step back into the past in this elegant hotel. So different from the usual modern hotel that could be anywhere. Large airy rooms and halls with beautiful period furniture, pictures and even painted ceilings. Although the front rooms have views across the river the students could be a bit noisy at night. However the roof top terrace with its plants and terracotta was a peaceful haven. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful and a more than adequate breakfast is provided. The situation could not be better being easy walking distance between the Leaning Tower and bus and train station and next to the pedestrian areas with the shops, bars and cafes.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quiete.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    233
    108
    65
    48
See reviews for
97
288
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Xewkija, Malta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I fly almost every month out of Gozo and Malta for a week's break, thanks to great prices and timimngs with Ryanair. My tenth visit to the Roayal was the best because I stayed 4 nights ang got to know owners better and had a stunning private tour of all the most interesting public rooms and bedrooms. The hoteliers are passionate about their family palace started by a tour operator about the time of Thomas Cook in the 19th century, who saw the gap in the market for catering for aristcrats from Scotland and england on the 'Grand Tour' Previously travellers like Byron and Sheelley, Keats, etc. stayed free with local grand families or after a moth's hospitality, rented for a longer period one of the family villas. But for shorter stays for those who had not such connections or leisure, a hotel in the right location was needed.
The Royal Victoria proved a great, sustainable success and is still in the families safe and progressive hands. More and more heirlooms decrate this venerable hotel and it gets better every vist. The staff from willowy blond, happy waitresses at breakfast to flashing dark ,smiling receptionists are talented, multilingual and charming. A treasure no other hotel in the area can compare. The roof terrace is a constant if underused delight, there's good wifi, great evening snacks plus wines and an air of happiness and tranquillity, right on the river right by the real old town, fine restaurants at all prices,untouristy , by the university and blissfully not by the ooverrated tower!

Room Tip: Ask reception..they will tell you...4th floor is great and the junior suite but this is only first f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danderyd, Sweden
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is not an ordinary hotel, or a hotel for those who want newly decorated rooms with postmodern chrome showers or burgundy carpeting that makes you wonder if you are in Washington DC or at the airport in Amsterdam. No this is a hotel for those that are thrilled by the high ceilings, the occasional murals, the antique and beautiful but not always super comfortabel furniture. And for those that just love that every afternoon beautiful trays with cocktails, wine and olives are placed for anyone who cares for an aperitif or a chat with other residents or passers by in the lounge area. This is truly a hotel for the bon vivants.

Room Tip: some rooms can be noisy due to llots of young people gathering at nearby squares. Despite this I wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

This old and very historic hotel was definitely above-average for us already based on its central location, amazing historical charm with lots of old furniture and pictures. Largely we found it positive that it did not renovate away the old charm but probably the actual bedrooms could have done with some renovation, particularly the bathrooms and it was not clear what double vs two singles is in booking.
But because of the overall atmosphere, very nice staff and not too high rates it was definitely a positive experience and highly recommendable!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I have stayed dozens of times at the Royal Victoria as a work project kept me coming back to Pisa many times over the course of the past year and a half. I have also stayed there with my family. Some locals dismiss the big old place as a "hotel for little old English ladies," but I find it charming and genuine. If you do not need to stay at a place in Pisa with the Leaning Tower hovering over your head, the location is superb. Right on the Arno River, the hotel is surrounded by the best (non-touristy) restaurants in the city and provides a welcome relief from the insanity that envelopes the Tower. Still, it is only a fifteen-minute walk from all of that. The hotel has been managed by the same family for many generations, and its staff is made up of loyal, long-time employees. They are uniformly cheerful and helpful. I love waking up to the view of the river through its soaring double windows, the spacious old bathrooms, and the charming common rooms. In the summer I open the windows. In the winter there is plenty of central heating. If you are sensitive to street noise, ask for a room on a higher floor. I cannot recommend the Royal Victoria Hotel too highly and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view overlooking the Arno. Worth the additional cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville, sc
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel was the worst by far of the 5 we stayed in during our recent vacation in Italy. Apparently the hotel is going to be renovated, that is good because it badly needs renovation. "Shabby chic" had its quixotic charm in the public areas, but our room was awful, simply awful. Shabby chic would have been a vast improvement. The room was large and not decorated at all....just bare walls, twin beds (we booked a double which turned out to be "2 adults" which does not mean "married couple" and was annoying). Also, one small table with small inadequate lamp between the beds, one dresser with a useless mirror, so low it stopped at my shoulders (I'm 5'3"). Also, a wardrobe and two chairs from the breakfast room. That's it. Huge room, bare. The beds were made up with sheets that were too small and became untucked easily to reveal the mattress cover: a bathroom towel! It looked like the convent we think it probably was, although I would suspect that the nuns might have thought this room was part of some larger plan of penitence and accepted it on that basis. The bathroom was tiny, not super clean. Thank goodness for the wide windowsill, otherwise there would have been zero place for bathroom items. Where to put the luggage? On the dining chairs, which were much too small really but were pressed into service. In short, the room was cold in feeling and was pretty much a dump. We would never stay there again or recommend it to anyone. Yes, the people were nice (they're in the hospitality business....) and yes the breakfast was okay, no different than any other hotel. But the room was awful. It also overlooked an area that is populated late into the evening by lots of young folk having lots of fun....nice for them but the noise level was bad until about 1:00 AM. The worst hotel of our trip, by far. We were glad it was only for one night.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

This was our second trip to this wonderfully atmospheric hotel and we were housed in the same room (family room 102 overlooking the Arno), which had been decorated since our last visit about 7 years ago. The decor was brighter and fresher and the beds were much more comfortable than previously - very good quality and very comfortable. For a family of four, this is large and airy, with some very ancient stonework revealed which adds atmosphere. Despite this, the room was very warm throughout our stay which was appreciated. There is a kingsize bed (two beds together) and a single sofa bed and a single day bed. Lots of towels and a good size bathroom with basic shower bath and good bidet etc. Nice basic toiletries. The welcome is very warm on arrival, with reception staff very friendly and helpful with a great attention to detail. Ours recalled that we had mentioned an early start when we booked the room. The hotel is so historic, with a stunning little writing room overlooking the Arno, complete with writing desks each suitable for two writers and split by a screen so that the correspondents of a byegone age were afforded privacy. It brings to mind the film version of EM Forster's Room with a View. Throughout the hotel, you will spot old bakelite phones, wonderful antiques, gorgeous prints, sketches and paintings, little sitting rooms or music rooms which tell more about the history of this wonderful spot. The little roof top garden terrace with a view of the rooftops around must be a great spot in high summer to take an apperitif. There are appertifs served in the reception area in the evening. Staff were very helpful in suggesting a local spot to eat as we just fancied a pizza, being the last night of a week long trip. Their suggested pizzeria Tana 3 minutes walk away hit the spot and was good quality and extremely reasonable. Breakfast is very good with all the usual fare including little tomatoes, mozarella and prosciutto for those who can't do without even at an early hour on a trip to Italy. The only criticism is the coffee was a bit rough. The only negative throughout our stay was that staying on a friday night, straight after a bank holiday in Italy, we were disturbed during the night by noise from the street below. It was very disruptive. Having stayed in the same room before, we did not recall the same problem, so presume it was just because it was a particularly lively weekend. The plus side of the river view is obvious and we caught a wonderful sunrise over the city due to our early morning start. This is a gem of a location, 10 minutes walk to the Leaning Tower, right on the river, with a wealth of history and atmosphere. I would be hard pressed to even consider staying elsewhere in Pisa. I have given it 4 stars but for a property of its ranking it's unique and would be impossible to beat. Sleep quality in terms of beds was excellent, in terms of noise from outdoors, i think we were unlucky!

Room Tip: Views from the river rooms are stunning. Family rooms are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.