We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and nice hotel. Spacious room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Victoria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 83 hotels in Pisa
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheap and nice hotel. Spacious room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Better then what I expected. Advise you all to choose the traditional room with just another EUR20 more. You will get a wonderfully river view. The room is spacious really big even comes with separated room with sofa for you to take a rest. :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    282
    129
    77
    50
See reviews for
92
281
29
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My wife and I just came back from a short break in Italy and spent a couple of days in Pisa staying at the Victoria. To start with the Hotel is very well located on the banks of the River Arno just opposite the bridge. Either side of the bridge takes you to all the sights,shopping,bars and restaurants. All within ten minutes of walking. Even the Airport is only a ten minute taxi ride !
The hotel itself is obviously very old and has an amazing history to it. Just ask to see the previous guest list !! Its full of charm, grand rooms with high decorated ceilings, antiques and art. We just loved this place! The staff all spoke English and were very helpful. Thank you Mr Piegaja.
If you expect brand new fixtures and fittings and state of the art high-tec gadgets in your room this is not the place for you. If you appreciate history and traditional Italian decor then stay here. We stayed in room 306. Amazing views of the city and river.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, West Yorkshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Yes, we'd expected 'faded grandeur', which is what we got, but it's not in any way a sad hotel! So, we didn't get a shower - who needs one, when you've got a gorgeous deep bath and 15 foot ceilings? It still has marble floors and big open spaces, and you must check out the traditional telephone in the booth opposite the lift! It's all beautiful. But that isn't what makes this hotel so special - it's all the unexpected personal touches that elevate it.... It's next to the river, so the plug-in mosquito killer was handy, the waiter service for the roof terrace, the extremely friendly, helpful staff, and the general overall charm. It's been in the family for generations, and it shows - wonderful, and we'd recommend it without hesitation!

Room Tip: Get a river view - but expect a bit of noise from the street cleaners in the very early hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a beautiful old hotel, have to agree with that. We were given a very large room with a balcony that overlooked the river and it was a truly wonderful experience to sit out there and watch the world go by. I know that it is part of the hotel's charm that it is so old, but that is no excuse for not updating the rooms for the guest's comfort. By all means keep the feel of the place, but replace some of the furniture with drawers that work and cupboards that close. We stayed for four nights and so needed to unpack our bags.

We had two rooms (one double and one triple) and they were both very large by European standards. The bathrooms needed updating but not a major problem. The location of the hotel was out of the action of the Leaning Tower area and about a 15 min walk to the train station. Breakfast was pretty basic, but so were most of the breakfasts we had in other Italian cities.

Pisa is good to use as a base to travel to Lucca or Cinque Terra for day trips but there is not a lot to do in the city itself once you have seen the Tower etc. It is a university town so there are a lot of young people around and lots of bars.

Overall I enjoyed my stay here.

Room Tip: The rooms on the riverside were huge and the balcony was wonderful to go out on but it was quite noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

One night stay before our drive to Radda in Chianti. Its what you hope to find, great hotel,location,nice owner and workers.We loved the fact that you could hear the town from our window, people enjoying then self and life, room was huge and bathroom was small and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Stopped here for one night, when visited Pisa. Travelled up from Rome and was flying out the next day from Pisa, so only a flying visit.
Hotel was great, really great looking, nice features, excellent location, good people. Room was huge and bathroom was nice.
Drinks and nibbles on roof terrace for €3 was a nice touch. Breakfast was everything you wanted out of a continental.
Would def visit again and would def stay here, top notch hotel indeed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Before booking this hotel I read some positive reviews and I thought that I should give it a go. The hotel is located by the river and it is close to almost everything so it was really easy to find. When we entered we were really impressed by the decor. You could sense that it used to be a great hotel. The reception area was beautiful and full of antiques. We were given room 308 and that was when all the above positive aspects were forgotten at once.
The room was small, the furniture was tired, very old fashioned and just ugly. The walls had never been cleaned. You could see shoe prints and all sort of marks. Under the bed there was dust and fluff from at least a couple of years and you could barely see through the dirty windows.
But the worst was the bed. This was probably the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in. I woke up the next day with pains in my neck and back. It was dreadful.
Yes you can see that the hotel used to be great and grand but at the end of the day you spend your night in a room and if this experience is just terrible then I'm sorry but I cannot give a good review.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria Hotel

Address: Lungarno Antonio Pacinotti, 12, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Victoria Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria Pisa
Hotel Royal Victoria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.