We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Duomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Duomo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Duomo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria, 94, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 73 Hotels in Pisa
Crewe
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The location makes up for the rooms. The room was on the small side but we didn't spend much time there. The roof terrace of this hotel is perfect to see the tower from. The breakfast was included and was sufficient to sustain our site seeing for the morning. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for its location.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    198
    158
    113
    99
See reviews for
97
259
41
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bologna, Emilia-Romagna, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a large, old-fashioned hotel near the Leaning Tower of Pisa - wonderful location. Reception staff were not particularly friendly or helpful. Rooms were adequate and clean. Fabulous roof terrace with spectacular views of the Cathedral complex. The breakfast was poor - there was much on offer, but none of it was very appetiising. The coffee was completely undrinkable. The breakfast was so bad that on the second morning we went out to a local bar. Given that his is supposed to be a fairly good standard of hotel, it was very disappointing. Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Leaning Tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here for one night on the way to the countryside. I was jet-lagged and it was amazing to be able to see a gorgeous view of the city and tower from the roof without even leaving the hotel. It is a basic hotel but has everything you need, especially considering the price.

The showers are hot, the rooms are clean and safe, and the staff is polite. The free wifi works well too. The only major negative is that the walls seemed thin, at least in my room. My neighbors woke me up when they came in even though they weren't being loud at all.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone that doesn't need luxury accommodations.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Fantastic location, good value hotel with fabulous roof top area to enjoy the weather and views of Pisa!
Staff friendly and polite and the hotel was clean - a room at the front of the hotel should be requested if available!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really like Grand Hotel Duomo, was great location, friendly helpful staff and amazing view from the roof. Hotel was clean and safe to stay at by yourself. My room seem to have a very large bathroom compared to a lot of hotels. I was very happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bdg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our bus had to stop and unloaded the luggages about 200 meters from the hotel. The hotel staff came by and picked up our luggages, we then walked dragging our carry ons to the hotel passing by the beautiful and historical the leaning tower of Pisa at night, which we literally could touch the leaning tower as we walked by. It was so amazing.

The hotel is old, and yet it has everything you need.

Room Tip: The corner rooms (next to the alley) is rather noisy from people talking and scooters. The rooftop o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frimley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Grand Hotel Duomo leaves a lot to be desired. The one word I would use to describe it is "tired". It is desperately in need of modernisation in both the rooms and the public areas. It is such a shame because it is in an undeniably superb location, just a couple of hundred yards from the Campo di Miracoli (make sure you dodge the "Sign against drugs?" con artists on the way).

From check-in (could hardly be bothered) to the room (tiny, rock hard single beds with foam pillows, reeked of stale cigarette smoke) to the breakfast (largely inedible) everything needs a revamp. It genuinely feels that the last time it had any money spent here was the late 1970's. Our room was small (to be expected) with a decent bathroom but the furnishings were - that word again - tired. The room was supposed to be non-smoking but had an ashtray, and all the fabric - curtains etc - reeked of smoke. Cleaning left something to be desired, too - my wife's hair-brush on the bathroom sink was liberally sprayed with some sort of cleaning fluid - would have been nice if they had actually thought to lift it instead of cleaning around it...

Some complain about the noise here, but to be fair, you can't expect monastic silence so close to one of the World's major attractions. Take ear-plugs if it bothers you.

The saddest thing of all about the Grand Hotel is that they have a roof terrace which offers superb views of the Leaning Tower and the Cathedral but which appears to be largely ignored - certainly it is an asset which is not being maximised. On the plus side if you bother to go to the top, you have it to yourself, since hardly anyone seems to know it is there (I spotted it from the top of the Leaning Tower...)

In summary, book if you want to be almost on top of the main sights, but do not expect it to live up to the "Grand" in it's name.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duomo

Address: Via Santa Maria, 94, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4-story Hotel situated in tourist center of town, near Leaning Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Grand Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.