We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lacks style!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Duomo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Duomo to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Duomo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Maria, 94, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Midleton, Ireland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good location, lacks style!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Great location, just round corner from Tower. Looks lovely & grand when you walk in. Grand piano & chandlers! The rooms are a million miles away from this!! Dated decor but clean! Buffet in morning ok, mostly cold savoury or sweets. One night here is plenty. Nothing to see but the tower!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    182
    146
    110
    95
See reviews for
88
245
38
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Although I can understand why some folks have said the place is a bit tired, it is clean and our room was spacious. Just fine for a tourist type hotel. The staff are brilliant, from reception to the garage man to the bar tender. The location is perfect.. you can almost touch the leaning tower! Don't miss a trip to the roof top terrace in the evening with a cold beer (bring it up from the bar)!

We reserved a parking place and although it was 25 euros I am glad we did as parking looks a bit challenging elsewhere. The garage is a bit tight but the hotel help with parking and we had no problems.

Breakfast was fine. There are a lot of restaurants just a few yards away from the hotel so evening meals are no problem at all other than choosing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is about 30 seconds walk from the Leaning tower. It was clean, functional and ideal from a night or longer stay. There are plenty of restaurants locally. Breakfast not the best - typical Italian. If you want somewhere to stay in middle of city, its a good spot. Take LAM bus from airport to Tower and walk across square.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malta
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here in mid August 2013. It was supposed to be a 4 star Hotel and was expensive for a one nights stay. What can I say but spend your money else where. The rooms were poor, outdated and not very clean. The breakfast was awful, everything cheap and nasty and the coffee was like dishwashing water, nothing at all we could eat. I was told if I wanted proper fresh coffee I had to pay for it. We complained but nothing else was offered to us. I wanted some still water and was told to get it from the machine it tasted like it had been there for months because I could taste metal and not nice. It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. This was supposed to be a romantic break away but we were left feeling we were conned.

Room Tip: Stay near Pisa Central and travel by bus or walk to see the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I really do not know where to start with this review... We stayed in this hotel for one night in August 2013 for a stopover at the end of our holiday before leaving from pisa airport (which is about 10 minutes on a bus from the hotel). The purpose of staying in this hotel was to visit the leaning tower and we picked this solely on location.

Firstly the location is excellent, the tower is a stones throw from the hotel and was super easy to find. There are a few restaurants around and the area in which the hotel is situated is nice. This however is about as far as it goes as being a good hotel.

Upon arriving at the hotel we were quickly checked in and the man at the desk was most helpful and placed us in a room on the top floor with a view of the tower itself.

When we arrived at the room it was instantly clear the decor was dated and has not been modernised since the late 70's/80's. The bed was hard and not comfy the tv had plugs hanging out from behind it with no english channels and there was no tea or coffee in the room. Having said that the room was stocked with clean towels and the a/c worked fine and kept the room at a decent temperature.

Upon investigating a little further I was disappointed that the phone in the room had some sort of brown liquid over the speaker and earpiece and had clearly not been cleaned prior to our arrival.

The room did smell a bit musty as well and could have been cleaned a lot better than it had been.

The hotel itself is incredibly dated and although the staff are helpful we would most defiantly not return, it seems such a shame because if this hotel was brought upto standard (it is more like 2 star hotel than a 4) its location coupled with the staff who do try their best would make it an excellent place to stay.

Lastly breakfast... One of the worst I have ever had in a hotel, the coffee is from a machine and tastes awful, the meats they stock did not look to brilliant so I did not attempt to eat it.. and the fruit looked like it had seen better days... I ended up with 2 pieces of toast and a yogurt and was most disappointed.

Overall... the location of the hotel is amazing, the staff are decent and helpful but it needs a major renovation to bring it close to being 4 star standard.

I would recommend staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had a great stay here when visiting the city . The hotel is fantastically positioned , we had a great room with a separate but adjoining room for our son & a balcony with a great view of the tower & church. The room & bathroom were clean but the furniture was rather worn in places .
Even though the temperatures were very high , the air con & quiet position meant we had a great nights sleep.
Breakfast was plentiful , with a large choice .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Would highly recommend his hotel for its rooftop views of the leaning tower and location. The rooms are clean and cool and yes it could do with some modernising but great service particularly from the barman supercedes the dated feel to the place. We stayed one night and had a great visit!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Duomo

Address: Via Santa Maria, 94, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary 4-story Hotel situated in tourist center of town, near Leaning Tower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hotel Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.