We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very commendable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Osteria Santa Caterina - CLOSED

Osteria Santa Caterina
Via Santa Cecilia 34, 56127 Pisa, Italy
+39 050 581186
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Las Rozas, Spain
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Very commendable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We found this unpretentious little restaurant quite by chance and we were very pleased with the experience. The waiter was really friendly and the food tasty, copious and good value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    100
    54
    21
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Slow and insufficient”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Advised by our B&B-owner we checked out this small and simple restaurant. Though nicely situated in the town centre the interior is nothing impressive the service is slow and

The food was unimpressive, actually I'd go so far as to call it disappointing. The dishes served were bland (e.g. for the mixed salad only salt & pepper and olive-oil) and too small (e.g. 5 pieces of pasta for 8Euro). In short, the food was both insufficient and not particularly tasty.

Overall I was very diasappointed and wouldn't return for another meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very quite place with tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Very calm and quite place. Food is delicious: risotto al fungi porcini, caprese, pasta. Not far from main tourist route,but quite and calm.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Phenomenal food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This gem was tucked in a side street away from all the busy pedestrians and peddlers, it was a nice getaway from the crowd after a day of sightseeing in Pisa. Cozy and friendly atmosphere inside and outside. Service was excellent, the waiter patiently helped explained each question and recommended the drinks with the meal. The meal itself was very memorable for us, it was fresh and the meat melts once you have it in your mouth! We had coffee afterwards and it was good as well. If I can only have one single meal in town, I have no doubt this will be my first choice. Price is decent for Pisa and the food portion is more than enough for us after coffee. Definitely worth the time spent to look for this place - which is just next to the main street. Look out for the sign!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Welcoming, good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We didn't want a full meal and there was no problem about choosing exactly what we wanted from the menu and in what order. The Caprese salad (mozzarella and tomato) was the best I had whilst in Italy and all the other dishes were good or excellent too. The waiter spoke English which was helpful as my Italian isn't good. They were helpful when we asked where to go for a taxi and ordered one to pick us up at the door and no rip off/weighted charges.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Santa Caterina also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Osteria Santa Caterina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.