We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the lost attraction” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza dei Miracoli

Piazza dei Miracoli
Piazza Dei Miracoli, Pisa, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$69*
and up
Pisa and Lucca Day Trip from Florence
Ranked #1 of 43 Attractions in Pisa
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Walking, City walk sightseeing
Attraction details
Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“the lost attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

When you come to Pisa, the “Field of Miracles" is the place to be. It is made up of 3 magnificent marble structures, the Pisa Cathedral , the Baptistry and the Leaning Bell tower. When you come to see one you will see them all. Now it is an UNESCO World Heritage Site. There is a forgotten Camposanto Vecchio ("old cemetery") in the “Field of Miracles". Not many people notice it. We visited 2 times and both times our tourist guide didn't mention it at all.
Happy Travelling!

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,897 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,371
    443
    59
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
175 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Several Masterpieces of Architecture in One Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2014 NEW

The Piazza dei Miracoli (Square of Miracles), also known as Piazza del Duomo (Cathedral Square), is one of those rare historical places where you can visit several famous buildings within a few minutes of each other. These famous buildings were THE reason for our stop in Pisa enroute to Venice by train.

The complex consists of The Leaning Tower, The Cathedral, The Baptistery, and the Monumental Cemetery. You are able to walk around outside for free; I recommend the combo ticket that allows entry into all of the sites. One can easily spend several hours wandering around the Square. There are souvenir booths in one area and many people picnic in the grassy open areas.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFULL BUILDINGS.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014 NEW

We came by bus from the Pisa central station mainly to see the Leaning Tower but when we walked through the arched entrance way into Piazza dei Miracoli [Field of Miracles] their was definitely the WOW factor as you viewed the complex of beautifull religious buildings for the first time.
Pisa being a maritime empire in the 11th.to 13th. century built this legacy with the riches plundered from other countries. Their is the Duomo [Cathedral] begun in 1063 which is a beauty, the Leaning Tower begun in 1173 which is a national icon,another grand building is the Baptistery topped with a statue of John The Baptist and finally the Camposanto a cemetery. Holy Ground believed to contain sacred dirt brought back from the Holy Land during the Crusades.
The place was very busy which I imagine is the case all the time. We spent all afternoon there it is soo interesting and great architecture and the buses seem to be coming and going all the time so no problems getting there from the station for example, Loved it, well worth coming to Pisa to see.

Visited October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a shining jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2014 NEW

We saw the piazza on our first night in Pisa. A fine drizzle was sprinkling pearls and diamonds caught in the floodlights around the battistero, the duomo and the tower. The vari-coloured marble that encased all three monuments was glistening like semi-precious stones. It was silent and shimmering and ageless. It was magical. We had come for a romantic three days away from the kids, and Pisa delivered. Thank you.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Traveling around is easy as Public transport is frequent and affordable. The staff at the hotel can explain all the details to travel without any hustle.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza dei Miracoli also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Piazza dei Miracoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza dei Miracoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.