We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy but classic world reknowned site” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza dei Miracoli

Piazza dei Miracoli
Piazza Dei Miracoli, Pisa, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$67*
and up
Pisa and Lucca Day Trip from Florence
Ranked #1 of 43 Attractions in Pisa
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
Activities: Walking, City walk sightseeing
Attraction details
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Busy but classic world reknowned site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great at dusk when most people have gone. Gets crowded during the day and people ignore the 'Do not stand on the grass' sign en masse! This is a world reknowned site so you expect it to be busy - and this was in February! The spectacular Duomo (cathedral) is free to enter but you still need to get a ticket from the ticket office. The cost to go up the Leaning Tower is 18 euros. The Baptistry is 5 euros. Be prepared for the row of souvenir stalls that sell you your guides, models, fridge magnets and masks.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,378
    450
    59
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Wonderful place you have to see and feel personally in order to understand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The whole piazza is a surreal place, so much beauty in one place is unreal. I think it's ideal to spend there at least a half-day , if not longer. If the weather is nice you can just sit on your perfect lawn and enjoy the view, and perfection. The fact that the individual buildings (Leaning Tower, Duomo, Baptistry, Camposanto) occurred in the period 11-14 century without intending to make a complementary set of buildings that now make Campo dei Miracoli further brighten the atmosphere. The combined ticket for all atractions, including the ticket to climb on Leaning tower is 25 eur. Be aware that if it is a tourist seasson, you need to buy ticket for the Leaning tower well ahead, due to the fact that you have only supervised group visits in 30 min.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Wall to Wall Humanity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

I am not certain how one arrives at this location on one's own as I was part of a tour group. The staging area for the various buses is some distance away from the Piazza and during our walk in, the guide let it be known that there was at least one group of beggars/pickpockets about whom we should be aware. Fortunately, I think we were a big enough group that they didn't bother us.

We also got to see one of the local Italian trains which, since I am a train fan, was interesting. Italian railways, like the Spanish, appear to use concrete rail ties/sleepers rather than wood...

We then walked around the walls of Pisa to the gate into the Piazza.

The minute you walk through the old gates of Pisa you will likely notice two things. The first are the Baptistery, Duomo and the Campanile (the famous Leaning Tower) across a velvety expanse of lawn.

The second is a sea of people either walking around or posing in front of the tower (most using forced perspective to seem like they're holding it up, a few like they're pushing it down. I did neither). There are also a number of stalls all along the street selling various kinds of souvenirs: always fun to look at and even occasionally to buy from.

The various religious buildings in the Piazza are all made from the same white or white-grey stone which gives them a unified look. They're very pretty from the outside, but unfortunately we didn't have time to investigate the insides, except for the Tower. Having done some research prior to the trip, I do know that the Duomo is free to enter, the Tower has a separate ticket price and there are four other attractions in the complex that can be seen alone (single ticket) or together (combination ticket) and if I'm ever back in Pisa I may just check them out.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“beautiful sites, long walk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My husband and I took a tour bus however the walk to get to the Field of Miracles from the Bus lot is very long. Its relatively flat but still long. Be prepared to ignore "hasslers" trying to sell you fake purses and other knick nacks. Just look straight ahead though or say no thank you and you'll be fine. Once we arrived the field itself was very green and well kept however it was very crowded. The line to go up the tower was too long for us to wait in for the half day timeframe but we got some great pictures "holding the tower up" as the classic tourists do. We were shocked however to see on the ride to the site that it is literally in the middle of nowhere. Our bus driver was "friends" with a restaurant owner so we were allowed to use his bathroom which was basically a hole in the dirt, but better than nothing. This was probably in exchange for our driver bringing so many people into his place to buy drinks but at least we had something! :).

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
80 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“lovely, shame about the tourists!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

obviously everyone comes to pisa to visit this square and the monuments, but it is beautiful, and peaceful (since you can't walk on the grass so everyone gets good photo shots!) shame about all the sellers but they keep to their huts!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza dei Miracoli also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Piazza dei Miracoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza dei Miracoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.