We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstandingly scenic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piazza dei Miracoli

Piazza dei Miracoli
Piazza Dei Miracoli, Pisa, Italy
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #1 of 52 attractions in Pisa
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Walking
Attraction Details
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Outstandingly scenic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This area is simply outstanding comprising as it does, the Baptistry, The Duomo and the Leaning Tower

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,070
    334
    47
    13
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our first impression was astounding it just hit you and you just watch and take it all in with awe. The lovely stalls on the sides made it enjoyable just looking around.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
83 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A "Bucket List" Site”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is someplace that anyone who considers himself a world traveler must visit. That said, except for the Leaning Tower, the Piazza is a little disappointing. The Duomo (cathedral) is huge, the baptistry is there (it has large, rather nice bronze doors) but the Tower is really the big deal.

What I like best about the Piazza (you may see "Campo") dei Miracoli is the *extremely* green grass that surrounds the white marble buildings. On a sunny day, that can be miraculous.

Sadly, it was gray and rainy for our visit today. You get what you get...

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“More than just a tower”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Amazing! You walk alongside the old walls, past numerous cheap souvenir stalls, and through the gates from the parking lot to find this incredibly large open area. First thing you see is the baptistry, a beautifully ornate building that's bigger than expected, and simply stunning. Not too close by is the duomo itself. Very large, very beautiful, and once again very ornate. While there is an admission fee, if you head towards the far back corner there is a small side chapel with free entry for prayer. This gives you a bit of an idea of the grandeur inside.

And of course, right at the end of the duomo is the leaning tower itself, still leaning at that crazy angle that makes it look like it will collapse any minute. Time constraints meant that we couldn't go up that day, but just being there and seeing it was magic enough.

This is a stunning wide open place, covered in lush green lawn (a bit overgrown), made even more remarkable by the densely packed buildings off to one side. So much space amid the narrow streets of old town Pisa.

Don't go just for the tower. The rest of it is every bit as impressive.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Surprisingly special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I am so,so lucky - I have seen so many beautiful things in the world and this has its downside...it takes alot to impress me or for anything I see to have a powerful impact. I went to the Piazza dei Miracoli because I was in Pisa and the tower was a must do. I was expecting to have a look and go. I wasn't expecting to be so awed and so impressed. The Leaning Tower of Pisa (which looked shorter than I expected but leaned far more than I imagined) is one of the most beautiful sights I have seen. I just sat and gazed for a long, long while. A shame it costs 15 Euros to climb - too steep a charge for me.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piazza dei Miracoli also viewed

 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Piazza dei Miracoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piazza dei Miracoli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Piazza dei Miracoli to your Saves list