We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and B&B.... disappointing Pisa!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Maria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Maria to your Saves list
Bed and Breakfast Maria
Viale delle Cascine 52A, 56122 Pisa, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 242 Pisa B&B and Inns
Hemel Hempstead
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Location and B&B.... disappointing Pisa!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Our stay got of to a bad start with Maria not expecting us until the next day (email confirmation showed us to be correct), however, Maria was very apologetic and upgraded our room to an ensuite. Room was okay, breakfast basic but more than enough, location very good- only a 5 min walk under railway station to the leaning tower etc. Overall we found Pisa itself to be very disappointing. We were travelling through Italy, and Pisa was our first stop. If you are wondering how long you should spend here- an hour or so is seriously all you would need! Get your photo taken with the leaning tower and move on! We ended up leaving early than we expected and were so glad we did when we arrived in beautiful Florence!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We had a wonderful time at B&B Maria. Maria was so friendly, even offering to take us to the airport. The continental breakfast was delicious and the room spotless. The location was perfect, just a few minutes from the Piazza dei Miracoli and even closer to the San Rossare train station with easy access to Florence and Lucca. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We, family of three - me, my wife and daughter (3 yrs old) were on a self drive trip. B&B Maria is a very conveniently located place, with few minutes walk to the monuments. It also has superstore PAM along the way which was very helpful to get food items for my daughter. We could park our car at the B&B and just walk around for all our needs.
The room was furnished, tidy and clean. We had a shared bathroom-toilette, which was ok since we used about 1-2 times a day.
Breakfast was ok with assortment of serials, croissants, muffins, coffee, tea, apples etc. We could also use the kitchen for occasional heating/preparing food for our kid.
Our host was very friendly and we could communicate effectively - since we do not speak Italian. Our daughter was also very comfortable at the place. At the end of our trip, she said she wanted to visit Maria Aunty - which sums it all :)

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the street as they would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the highlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We could not have chosen better - thanks to Trip Advisor reviews. Extremely friendly and helpful owner Maria, she could not do enough for us. We had a room with shared bathroom which we only had to share once - so a bonus. The location was great, 300m from train station Pisa S. Rossare which is north of Pisa Centrale and only one stop. Very close to the Tower. The house is in fact a flat with kitchen, bathroom, 3 bedrooms one of those ensuite. No sitting room and on the first floor, could be tricky if you were disabled. The bed was very comfortable, remote controlled air conditioning, a mosquito net on the window and nice and quiet - despite being quite close to the train station. Breakfast was great and Maria catered for our needs, a good bowl of muesli was a welcome change from other continental breakfast we had experienced in Florence. We used the b & b as a base and travelled by train to Lucca, La Spezia, Livorno and Viareggio. By the end of 5 days we felt like family - thank you Maria.
We decided not to go up the tower as it cost 15 euro each. A good place to eat was Emma's at the bottom of the road, they served pizza base with salt and olive oil instead of bread, which was delicious but only if you are not eating a pizza as well!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This bed and breakfast is immaculate and offers very good value for money. The location is perfect, just a few minutes walking to the famous and central Piazza dei Miracoli with the Duomo and the leaning tower. No car or any transport needed.
Our room was very well furnished, tidy, fresh and clean.
Continental breakfast was generous and served in the nice garden.
We slept well on a good mattress and in perfect silence.
What can I say more... Maria is an exquisite person, helpful and available... we will sure be back. Recommended

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed and Breakfast Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Maria

Address: Viale delle Cascine 52A, 56122 Pisa, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 242 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cute bed and breakfast located in pisa, beside the lining tower.You will be welcomed by Maria, the owner of the house.The rooms are very clean and comfortable, with air conditioning, bathoroom and TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bed and Breakfast Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Maria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.