We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a great place to eat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizzeria Trattoria La Buca

Pizzeria Trattoria La Buca
Via Santa Maria 171 | Via S.Maria, 171, 56126 Pisa, Italy
+39 050 560660
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #479 of 767 Restaurants in Pisa
Price range: $11 - $39
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: The PIZZERIA TRATTORIA "La Buca" located in the historical center of Pisa with a beautiful view of the Leaning Tower and of the botanical gardens, a few steps away from Piazza Dei Cavalieri ('teachers' training college) and from the main street of the city.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“It was a great place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We were a party of 6 and ate a late lunch at La Buca. I am not sure where the other reviews are coming from but we found the service very good and the food quite tasty. The atmosphere was pleasant and shaded. We had pizza, spaghetti and sea food amongst the dishes we ordered, and all were good. The spaghetti was one of the best spaghetti dishes I have had in all of italy. Family ran atmosphere, it was fun.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    55
    38
    26
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
324 reviews 324 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT TAGLIATTA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Nice location with a good service. We had one of the best Tagliattas up today. The house wine was of good quality.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Poor service average meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Food was ok but small portions at a high price, also it was a bit like find the waiter took a age to order the food then to pay the bill took forever had to go to the till myself and demand the bill, after asking for it three times wasn't as if there where busy!!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mitigated service...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We went to this restaurant twice. The first experience was really great, the food was great and the service fine. So we decide to come back, this time for a lunch and we were surprised to see that the same staff treated us very poorly... They didnt let us choose where to eat despite the huge number of empty tables, besides we waited for almost 15minutes to get the menu at the beggining and almost 15 minutes to get the bill at the end of the lunch!!! Besides the staff seems bored, like if it was a pain to serve us...! Fortunately they've got the wifi to fill in the waiting time !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Best pasta ever, nice view on the tower...thanks to the Mama!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Not sure I understand the negative critics on this place. OK, it is not a sophisticated chic restaurant but for a tratoria facing the leaning tower, where you can only expect tourist traps, this is a very decent option if you stick to what the italians do best...prociuto-melon, pasta and pizza. House wine rose was also very up to par. With a view on the tower, the mama running the place, the back tables of the restaurant full of italians for a very fair price...you have to be out of your shoes or to have very little travel experience in busy touristic sites to complain about this place sorry. My 6 years old and I were fighting to finish her pasta plate, which was served al dente, fresh pasta, a lot better than what we had in Rome for example. Show openess, try to stick a few words of italian, understand that they serve rushed tourists all year long, and take your time to treat them as human beings and you will do a lot better! I would definetly return for a family lunch in that sector.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizzeria Trattoria La Buca also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Pizzeria Trattoria La Buca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizzeria Trattoria La Buca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.