We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ending to our Italy trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast
Via della Foglia, 13 | Pisa Centro Storico San Martino, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 225 Pisa B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect ending to our Italy trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Cant say more about how glad we are to have experienced a night stay @ Villa Theresa. Especially after the not-so-good experience in the few BBs we have stayed in various villes of Italy. Here, the bedroom is designed with classic Italian taste and really spacious. Breakfast must be mentioned cos Alfonso made those wonderful marmalade, yogurt by himself. How nice to have a quiet night sleep and wake up to homemade BIO food!

Alfonso- thank you so much for showing your hospitality! If ever i go back to Pisa, i know who to look for! And you see Paolo and wife again, say HI.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Proprietario at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank You for Your comments.! Surely I'll say Hi to Paolo and Angela next September.
It has been a pleasure to stay with You and Karen at Breakfast time!
Waiting for You once more again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
41
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Toscana, Italy
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Already two years my parents and me are having great experiences staying at Villa Theresa. Not only the position is perfect for visiting the city but the B&B offers so much more. Entering in one of the tidy rooms, decorated with historical frescoes, and view at the garden, is the perfect way for starting the vacation. The breakfast is elaborated and taken care of. And the availability of the owners of the villa is exeptional! (Weather forecast, restaurants, hours of the train, questions about the history of Pisa...)
Perfect place for a perfect holliday!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Owner at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Family, really it is for us a pleasure to have You here at our home!
Thanks a lot for Your friendly comments and for Your presence!
waiting one more time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tergniet, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Villa Theresa was one of our most fabulous experiences in 3 weeks in Tuscany. The host Alfonso is utterly charming, thinks of everything and doubles up as a computer expert for people like us! The breakfasts were too delicious, including freshly baked croissants, courtesy Alfonso. The room we stayed in was huge, and had everything you could want, including a hair dryer, lovely fluffy white towels, soap,shampoo and even a chocolate for after dinner! The garden was cool, well kept and an oasis in the middle of Pisa. We would highly recommend the establishment to absolutely any kind of traveller.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Owner at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
The pleasure is our! Thanks a lot for Your staying with us. Naturally about Your I-Pad I was lucky that time!! See You soon once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Villa Theresa is a lovely, charming place, about a 5-10 minute walk from the train station. The other reviewers who gave high ratings had a similar experience to ours; Alfonso was a wonderful host and his care and love of this oasis in the center of Pisa is apparent. Our room was immaculate, beautifully restored and full of 16th and 17th century paintings with a view of the garden. The breakfast, served in the atrium in the garden was warm and delicious and included homemade marmalade and yogurt, along with local chestnut honey.

The location was great and all of the attractions were in walking distance. While Villa Theresa is very quiet, Pisa is a wonderful, thriving university town, full of youth and energy. The Piazza del Duomo was amazing and a great form of entertainment is to sit on the lawn watching people pose in front of the tower.

We highly recommend Villa Theresa, and if we return to Pisa, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Owner at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank You very much for Your sensibility!
Certainly the limoncello will be very good and the its taste will surprise you: no equal with the commercial one!
You have to be grate to Cynthia's Mother: Lot of Pacience by Her!
We'll be waiting for You: Surely a barbecue in the garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely place to stay, right in the center of the city and close to everything, but still a quiet oase of rest and peace thanks to the quiet street, beautiful garden and romantic interior in Villa Theresa. Alfonso is a great host, gave us good tips to explore the city and the lovely breakfast in the veranda with several home made products (yoghurt, marmelade, honey) was excellent. Beautiful authentic rooms and a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Owner at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank You to have choosen us. I'll follow Your suggests:Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We chose Villa Theresa because the website was appealing, but it was a great disappointment. The host, Alphonso, sounded very nice on the phone and he was waiting for us at a free parking spot where we could park our car. You need to pay for a permit to enter the center of Pisa, but Alphonso arranged it all. So far so good. We had to walk a bit with our luggage and we requested Alphonso to take our lightest carry on bag with wheels. Over his shoulder he told us 'just for the record, this in NOT my job'. Down the drain with all the positive remarks about the helphfulness of this gentleman. How welcome can you feel if this is already too much to ask?? We stayed at Villa Christina in Spoleto and an older lady, Anna Maria, even volunteered to carry up our luggage.

We tried to shake it off, but when we arrived in the 'apartment' we were really disappointed. The website shows pictures of the nice spots of the villa, the garden, the conservatory, the rooms and the apartment, but does not show the crappy toilet that makes a horrible noise when you use it. The noise is really frightening. Although the villa is nice and close to the main shopping street, it's a bit creepy. We found a few North Africans dealing drugs just outside our door.
When Alphonso recovered from his humiliation that he had to look after our very light bag, he actually became friendly and gave us tips about Pisa. Pisa by the way is a city you should pass by during the day, see the Tower and leave to stay somewhere else. It's full of many, quite agressive North African street salesmen trying to convince you to buy whatever they sell. They are like flies, all over the place. We also did not manage to find a decent restaurant. We walked from one side of town to the other, but did not see anything but tourist traps.

Alphonso advertises that there is free WIFI in the rooms, however, what he does not tell, is that he switches it off at 22.00 hrs. at night. And that turned out to be a disaster for us. Complications arose during a straight forward operation that my sister was undergoing in Holland that day, which forced us to return home straight away. However: NO INTERNET ACCESS. Alphonso did not answer the normal phone number and his mobile neither, so we were stuck. We left a voicemail and sent an sms asking for help. No reaction. No possibility to book tickets online. Thanks to Alphonso we came too late and did not see my sister alive.

The next day he called us, not even inquiring how my sister was, just worrying about his key and his money, which of course we left in the apartment.

We stayed in Italy for 2 weeks and we only had very positive experieces. Unfortunately Pisa was the worst in years. Our advice: don't go to Villa Theresa and skip the unfriendly Alponso. He is the worst example of Italian hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Owner at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
out of Tripadvisor guidelines.
This review offends directly the owner (called by name)!
Normally Villetheresa's owner turns off the telephone at 22:00 everiday at the and of check in time.
Villatheresa's Guests ,after 22:00, can contact him directly knocking at owner's door bedroom or ringing the bell at main entrance.
The owner got restaurant indications to these people but they preferred to walk around.
I am very sorry for her sister, that morning mobile transmission was disturbed and effectivly I could not understand her english.
They did not gently required me to get luggages from parking car, but it seems an order.
Normally We have no problems also from parking zone! In this case some education mode is required.
Guests normally are precious for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A highlight of our recent holiday in Tuscany, we can wholeheartedly recommend the Villa Theresa. The room (we were in "Teodora") was beautifully furnished and overlooks the romantic garden. No traffic noise to keep us awake although Villa Theresa is right in the centre of the old town. Close proximity to pedestrian zone (Corso Italia), railway station and airport. Alfonso was the perfect host, helping us find the B+B (not easy when you're new to Pisa) when we arrived by car and ordering us a taxi when we left. We appreciated very much his directions to the main sights of the city (much more to see than the leaning tower and the cathedral!) and the generous breakfast (the home-made yogurt and marmalade are unforgettable!). Unfortunately we could only stay one night but hope to stay longer in Pisa next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Direttore at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Your kind stay with us was precious. We are waiting for You.Thank You for Your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via della Foglia, 13 | Pisa Centro Storico San Martino, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our charming 18th century villa- Villatheresa. Located in the heart of Tuscany in the charming city of Pisa our guesthouse- complete with private garden is the ideal choice for your stay in Pisa. Conveniently located close to the Railway Station and the airport the guesthouse offers easy access to the entire region. Villatheresa is in the San Martino district of the city- often referred to as the historical city centre and is close to the Arno River, shopping district and only ten minutes walking to the Leaning Tower. Whether coming to Pisa for business or pleasure our guesthouse is ideal for making your trip a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.