We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the heart of Pisa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast
Via della Foglia, 13 | Pisa Centro Storico San Martino, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 225 Pisa B&B and Inns
California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem in the heart of Pisa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Villa Theresa is a lovely, charming place, about a 5-10 minute walk from the train station. The other reviewers who gave high ratings had a similar experience to ours; Alfonso was a wonderful host and his care and love of this oasis in the center of Pisa is apparent. Our room was immaculate, beautifully restored and full of 16th and 17th century paintings with a view of the garden. The breakfast, served in the atrium in the garden was warm and delicious and included homemade marmalade and yogurt, along with local chestnut honey.

The location was great and all of the attractions were in walking distance. While Villa Theresa is very quiet, Pisa is a wonderful, thriving university town, full of youth and energy. The Piazza del Duomo was amazing and a great form of entertainment is to sit on the lawn watching people pose in front of the tower.

We highly recommend Villa Theresa, and if we return to Pisa, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Owner at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank You very much for Your sensibility!
Certainly the limoncello will be very good and the its taste will surprise you: no equal with the commercial one!
You have to be grate to Cynthia's Mother: Lot of Pacience by Her!
We'll be waiting for You: Surely a barbecue in the garden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
29
41
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely place to stay, right in the center of the city and close to everything, but still a quiet oase of rest and peace thanks to the quiet street, beautiful garden and romantic interior in Villa Theresa. Alfonso is a great host, gave us good tips to explore the city and the lovely breakfast in the veranda with several home made products (yoghurt, marmelade, honey) was excellent. Beautiful authentic rooms and a great stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Owner at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank You to have choosen us. I'll follow Your suggests:Thanks a lot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We chose Villa Theresa because the website was appealing, but it was a great disappointment. The host, Alphonso, sounded very nice on the phone and he was waiting for us at a free parking spot where we could park our car. You need to pay for a permit to enter the center of Pisa, but Alphonso arranged it all. So far so good. We had to walk a bit with our luggage and we requested Alphonso to take our lightest carry on bag with wheels. Over his shoulder he told us 'just for the record, this in NOT my job'. Down the drain with all the positive remarks about the helphfulness of this gentleman. How welcome can you feel if this is already too much to ask?? We stayed at Villa Christina in Spoleto and an older lady, Anna Maria, even volunteered to carry up our luggage.

We tried to shake it off, but when we arrived in the 'apartment' we were really disappointed. The website shows pictures of the nice spots of the villa, the garden, the conservatory, the rooms and the apartment, but does not show the crappy toilet that makes a horrible noise when you use it. The noise is really frightening. Although the villa is nice and close to the main shopping street, it's a bit creepy. We found a few North Africans dealing drugs just outside our door.
When Alphonso recovered from his humiliation that he had to look after our very light bag, he actually became friendly and gave us tips about Pisa. Pisa by the way is a city you should pass by during the day, see the Tower and leave to stay somewhere else. It's full of many, quite agressive North African street salesmen trying to convince you to buy whatever they sell. They are like flies, all over the place. We also did not manage to find a decent restaurant. We walked from one side of town to the other, but did not see anything but tourist traps.

Alphonso advertises that there is free WIFI in the rooms, however, what he does not tell, is that he switches it off at 22.00 hrs. at night. And that turned out to be a disaster for us. Complications arose during a straight forward operation that my sister was undergoing in Holland that day, which forced us to return home straight away. However: NO INTERNET ACCESS. Alphonso did not answer the normal phone number and his mobile neither, so we were stuck. We left a voicemail and sent an sms asking for help. No reaction. No possibility to book tickets online. Thanks to Alphonso we came too late and did not see my sister alive.

The next day he called us, not even inquiring how my sister was, just worrying about his key and his money, which of course we left in the apartment.

We stayed in Italy for 2 weeks and we only had very positive experieces. Unfortunately Pisa was the worst in years. Our advice: don't go to Villa Theresa and skip the unfriendly Alponso. He is the worst example of Italian hospitality!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Owner at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
out of Tripadvisor guidelines.
This review offends directly the owner (called by name)!
Normally Villetheresa's owner turns off the telephone at 22:00 everiday at the and of check in time.
Villatheresa's Guests ,after 22:00, can contact him directly knocking at owner's door bedroom or ringing the bell at main entrance.
The owner got restaurant indications to these people but they preferred to walk around.
I am very sorry for her sister, that morning mobile transmission was disturbed and effectivly I could not understand her english.
They did not gently required me to get luggages from parking car, but it seems an order.
Normally We have no problems also from parking zone! In this case some education mode is required.
Guests normally are precious for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

A highlight of our recent holiday in Tuscany, we can wholeheartedly recommend the Villa Theresa. The room (we were in "Teodora") was beautifully furnished and overlooks the romantic garden. No traffic noise to keep us awake although Villa Theresa is right in the centre of the old town. Close proximity to pedestrian zone (Corso Italia), railway station and airport. Alfonso was the perfect host, helping us find the B+B (not easy when you're new to Pisa) when we arrived by car and ordering us a taxi when we left. We appreciated very much his directions to the main sights of the city (much more to see than the leaning tower and the cathedral!) and the generous breakfast (the home-made yogurt and marmalade are unforgettable!). Unfortunately we could only stay one night but hope to stay longer in Pisa next time!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Direttore at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Your kind stay with us was precious. We are waiting for You.Thank You for Your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found Villa Theresa to be a perfect b+b for the start of our Tuscan holiday. We only stayed one night, but would have liked to have stayed longer. B+B is in the heart of central Pisa, yet in a tranquil location, with peaceful relaxing garden. The room was large, comfortable, and tastefully decorated - and has character. Alfonso was an extremely helpful host, and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast in the morning was 'delizioso' (delicious) - especially the home-made marmalade (made from the oranges in the garden). Overally, great value for money, and would recommend this to any visitors to Pisa. Rob+Vanessa.

Room Tip: Room 'Martina' was large with lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Proprietario at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank You Vanessa & Rob. We are improving and applying Your suggests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Rooms are good and convinient. Small quite street just a minite from main pedestrian street. It is may be 10 minutes from the railway station on foot, 5 minutes from the close supermarket. A small kitchen and a bathroom are in the room (at least where we stayed). During breakfast you may have a chance to see a beautiful garden kept in order from the time of barocco nobles. You will get proper hospitality and attention to your needs from villa's owners.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Proprietario at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank You dear Family with precious children. Surely we'll come to Saint Pietroburgo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Spent four nights here at the beginning and end of our holiday. Alfonso is a wonderful host and gave us lots of helpful information about Pisa. Breakfast including home-made marmalade (oranges picked from the garden) , home-made yoghurt and local honey, sitting in the conservatory overlooking the gorgeous walled garden is definitely worth the trip alone! Could easily spend all day sitting in the lovely garden. The location is perfect. Villa Theresa is a short walk from the train station (10mins) five minutes to the bridge over the river to take you to the north side and 15 minutes to the Duomo. There are nice restaurants to eat locally, especially the Pizzeria. There is more to Pisa than the Leaning Tower so definitely worth a two or three day trip. Location near to the station also makes it a good base for taking day trips to Lucca, Florence etc Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alfy194851, Proprietario at Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Really We are happy to hear from You precious comments!
You appreciated each one of our prerogatives.
Thanks a lot for Your sensibility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast

Address: Via della Foglia, 13 | Pisa Centro Storico San Martino, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our charming 18th century villa- Villatheresa. Located in the heart of Tuscany in the charming city of Pisa our guesthouse- complete with private garden is the ideal choice for your stay in Pisa. Conveniently located close to the Railway Station and the airport the guesthouse offers easy access to the entire region. Villatheresa is in the San Martino district of the city- often referred to as the historical city centre and is close to the Arno River, shopping district and only ten minutes walking to the Leaning Tower. Whether coming to Pisa for business or pleasure our guesthouse is ideal for making your trip a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Theresa Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.