We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth seeing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leaning Tower of Pisa

Leaning Tower of Pisa
Campo dei Miracoli, 56100 Pisa, Italy
50 835011/12
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Buy Tickets Online
$34*
and up
Ranked #2 of 111 things to do in Pisa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Tower of Pisa (180 feet in height) was begun in 1173 and, due to its faulty foundation on unstable soil, leans precariously more than 14 feet out of line, preventing visitors from climbing its 300-plus steps to the top.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Visited the Tower last week. No need to book in advance. We bought our tickets directly from the on site ticket office, next available time slot was an hour later which gave us time to visit the Cathedral and the Ballistero. We had a wait time of 10 mins only. Cost 18 euro, 300 steps, you are allowed about 35 mins to get up to the top ,have a look around and get back down. The view at the top is hampered by the safety meshing so don't count on getting great photos. Worth the money, probably not but the experience was good.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,853 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,017
    1,985
    629
    133
    89
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Photo Op - Check”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Aside of the typical tourist photo with Leaning Tower I had no desire to visit this attraction. It was at my husband's request that we made the stop (on our way to Tuscany). All you really need is 1-2 hours for the entire area. It's well maintained, not as crowded as most 'sites to see'. I'm glad we went but I do not feel the need to return again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Would I go here again? No.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Took a day trip to Pisa, that's all I would recommend. Within 3 hours in the city there wasn't much more I wanted to see. It's cool to say you've seen it, but other than that Italy has so many more amazing places/things to do and see that would be a better use of your time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Could be much better without appalling staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Brought our tickets online then added another person for our allotted time easily at the ticket office. The tickets are for entrance slot every 15 minutes. You can take along your printed out online tickets without having to convert to issued tickets like many other Italian attractions. NOTE though - you MUST hand in ALL bags well before the scheduled time at the cloakroom near the main ticket office. We were told by the cloak room that my very small messenger bag would be fine so handed in camera bags etc and waited in the line for our allotted time. When we went to enter we were told by the very rude guard / ticket collector that it was not acceptable and we would have to hand it in. This was despite members of our group being allowed with umbrellas and similar sized camera bags and many other people being allowed in with carrier bags and massive camera bags. This member of our group then missed the tour because the allotted time would've been over once she trooped back over to the cloak room, queued up and came back :( This man was extremely rude and aggressive and obviously disliked tourists a great deal. So please learn from our experience and hand in all bags!!
Inside there was supposed to be a small introduction to the Tower and we guess the reasons for the lean etc however this was extremely poor and the description inaudible for those speaking even Italian.
Stairs are moderate walk at around 10 mind to the top but because of the lean the stairs are difficult to negotiate being very steep on one side and almost downwards sloping on the other. Very cool experience which our teenage boys liked but those with vertigo may find a little difficult. At the top there are great views across the town and countryside. The view down into the tower (it is hollow) was unable to be seen because the Perspex covering the hole was unable to be seen through due to rain drops and poor condition of the plastic.
Worth a climb for those willing but please be aware of bags!
A note for those traveling into Pisa via car - it is extremely poorly signposted and parking a nightmare. We decided to park at the airport and take a taxi into town (you could take the bus to the train station and then walk to save a taxi fare) which was a great idea.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You kind of have to go if you are in Pisa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My friends and I were at the end of a pretty long vacation by the time we got here, so we didnt go into the tower. The best part of the park in front of the tower is looking back towards all of the other people trying to make odd poses with the tower...seriously, it amused us for about a half hour. That combined with the occasional clearing of the lawn by the guards people made it a tourist attraction that you can visit, and make fun of yourself for being a tourist at the same time. Of course after laughing at the photos others were taking we took some ourselves!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leaning Tower of Pisa also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Leaning Tower of Pisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leaning Tower of Pisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.