We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummylicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Taverna di Emma

La Taverna di Emma
Via Carlo Cammeo, 50, 56122 Pisa, Italy
050.555003
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 739 Restaurants in Pisa
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Valletta, Malta
2 reviews
“Yummylicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant for our last dinner in Pisa. We had to book in advance and they super busy so we had a reservation at around 10ish. The restaurant was still super busy and food did take a while to reach our table but it was worth the wait! The penne alle melanzane was the best I've ever tasted, the meat and desserts where to die for!! Super good food, worth visiting :)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    263
    53
    9
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Pushy waitress made this a less than relaxing experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The handwritten menu made it more difficult for us to translate and understand. We advised the waitress of our dietary requirements and before we knew it she'd not only recommended a starter but written it down without our asking - we had to get her to erase that and put something else. Her pushy attitude set the wrong tone for what we'd hoped, having chosen carefully from Tripadvisor recommendations, would be a relaxing meal. The food was good but rather pricey.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

I recently was in Pisa for work for a few days and took some of my coworkers here for dinner on our first night. None of us had been here before. We all really enjoyed our dinner. The wait staff and service were great. We greatly appreciated the waitress who took time to explain everything to us because the menus were hand written in Italian and none of us knew how to read Italian. The only drawback was that a couple of my coworkers said the pancetta in their pasta was overly salty. Also I was shocked at the bill when I got it. I couldn't believe we had that great of quality dinner for that low of price. I will definitely go back again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Aggressive and rude!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

The owner was extremely rude and aggressive! Waitress sent us outside to iwait for a table and forgot about us. We eventually got a table but there was no English menu and waitress was in a rush to get our order. When the food came one of the dishes wasn't what we wanted. We talked to the waitress and she ignored us then we approached the owner who spoke English but he immediately started to yell at us and saying that we were in Italy and that we should speak Italian. We left money on the table for drinks that we were drinking and no money for the untached food and walked out. He then while still yelling in front of our children followed us outside saying he was going to call the police. He then started to yell that he didn't need tourist's dirty money and crumpled and threw the money outside that we had left on the table.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pordenone, Italy
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Looks as a typical italian restaurant, cosy, nice, small, family run and.....it is! Located few steps away from Piazza dei Miracoli and Torre di Pisa, it offers delocate cuisine, full of good taste. Large choice of dishes, portions were very generous, absolutely suggested. And fair prices too.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Taverna di Emma also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to La Taverna di Emma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Taverna di Emma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.