We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, best view, awesome people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante L'Europeo

Ristorante L'Europeo
Via S Maria 177, 56126 Pisa, Italy
050560531
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #327 of 767 Restaurants in Pisa
Price range: $21 - $82
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Within sight of the leaning tower of Pisa. Looked like a bit too touristy but we had a good meal and reasonably priced.
Pune, India
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, best view, awesome people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We sat in the outside seating of the restaurant. The tower is just about 50 meters from the seating and has a clear view. The food is excellent. L' Europeo has beautiful patio inside. if it were not for the breath taking view outside i would haveloved to lounge away the afternoon here. Its a completely mood in here. The staff is great and friendly which is refreshing as most people running restaurants in such locations are very edgy about keeping their tables moving.
We had stopped at Pisa in transit. We left from Florence with our bags and were meant to stop in Pisa for a few hours before taking an evening train to Rome. The staff was really sweet. they let us pile our luggage (4 backpacks and an assortment of other bags) along the restaurant glass window as we proceeded to spent the next 3 hours sitting here, taking pictures, eating and drinking nastro azzuro beer. the place was well maintained

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    95
    49
    22
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slovakia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Pizza was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The advantage of this place is the location. We were hungry after sightseeing and chose this pizzeria close to the leaning tower and for a late lunch. The service was average.
I had a seafood salad for starter and that was very good. Then I had a smoked cheese (scamorza) with vegetable and it came with green beans clearly from a can, some carrots and tomatoes, however I expected either grilled fresh vegetable or a nice fresh salad when you are in summer in Italy. My husband ordered pizza with something translated in the menu as "typical tuscan/italian salami" which turned out to be a thin sliced pork fat. Not what we wanted or liked. But after putting it away the pizza itself was ok.
One thing that was really repelling was the toilet which was certainly not cleaned after the day before (we were there at 4 pm), lot of trash on the floor, no toilet paper, no paper towels.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“We love Johnny!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We took a day trip to Pisa and we were looking for a place with happy hour and wifi. This place unfortunately doesn't have happy hour but they do have wifi. The girls and I had bellinis and gnocchi, lasagna, and the magherita pizza which were shared among the 6 of us. I think what definitely made this place great were the waiters and their service. Johnny was our favorite! They even gave us a 10% discount to come back later on the day. Our train was leaving at 8 so we couldn't. This restuarant was absolutely the highlight of our Pisa trip.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Food is good - service is not”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Selected this one based on TA ratings. You can't expext much from a restaurant near a tourist magnet like this. So we weren't disappointed. Food was ok, service was poor. All as expected. You have to eat now and then, and for that purpose this place will do its task.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Walked out after waiting 20 minutes to be served!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We had a coffee and pastry here before visiting the Leaning tower. The service was reasonable and so was the food. We were impressed at how two young staff captured passing tourists and encouraged them to sit down at the tables. We decided we would return after the Tower visit for a pizza for lunch.
We returned and were duly shown by one of the two hardworking and charming young men to an inside table as it was a bit breezy. There was no pizza menu provided and after 10 minutes a pizza menu was produced after my wife eventually managed to get the attention of the waiter. We then waited another at least 10 minutes and no one came to take our order. We noticed that during this time customers came and sat in the outside area and had their orders taken almost immediately by a female waitress. Eventually we spoke to a waiter who was providing the bill for an adjacent table and he assured us someone would be along to take our order. After a further period we finally lost patience and walked out! We spoke to the two young staff members outside and explained what had happened. They apologised politely. I suggested that their hard work in encouraging customers was a waste of time it their colleagues could not deliver service at the table and bid them farewell. We were really disappointed about this episode because we had formed a really high opinion of the establishment at the morning visit and felt they had let themselves down (& lost 30 euros of business)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante L'Europeo also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Ristorante L'Europeo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante L'Europeo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.