We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 2012” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Dei Cavalieri

Save Saved
You added B&B Dei Cavalieri to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
B&B Dei Cavalieri
Piazza Sant'Antonio 4 | Sesto Piano, 56125 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 225 Pisa B&B and Inns
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“June 2012”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Wonderful hosts met us at the airport and took all the stress out of finding the apartments. These were graciously furnished and comfortable. We were feeling a bit shaky after a bad experience with Ryan Air food and were allowed a late checkout without hesitation or charge.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    28
    10
    2
    6
See reviews for
18
43
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This place is better than "Average" - "Good" would be the rating, if they had it. There's nothing fancy about this B&B but it is 5 minutes from the train station and 20-25 minutes from the Tower (there are a few other things, but not much more to see in Pisa). There's even a few of the Tower if you look off in the distance from the balcony.

The rooms are simple - some with ensuite bathrooms. The showers are typical Italian-accommodation-tiny. The beds aren't super-comfortable but certainly sleepable. Maria, the very friendly and helpful owner doesn't speak much English (Italian and French instead) but her staff generally does.

It is best to give them a call before you arrive. IGNORE the Google mapping of this place it is wrong. It is on Piazza Sant'Antonio - walk straight out of the train station to the end of that big street. At the roundabout veer left. That's the Piazza. Google maps will put you at the end of Via Sant'Antonio which is by the river and will make you waste your time.

You probably won't stay more than a night in Pisa. This a good place to spend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This hotel was gorgeous. Its a shame it took us so long to find it. The hotel does not have a reception and you have to call when you are close to arrival. We did this but missed each other for approx 2 hours which was very frustrating.

Its in a good location and close to eateries and bars.

Lovely decor and brekkie included (with others B&B style).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed at this B&B for one night, which was perfect. I chose it for its location because we were going to be arriving by train late in the evening and because the rate for a quadruple room was relatively reasonable (90 EUR). In the end we arrived around 7.30 on a rainy night and I was glad for the proximity to the train station but I have to say the neighborhood is a little seedy at night, so if you're easily spooked don't stay here. The quadruple room is at the top of a very narrow set of stairs and, as other visitors have said, it can be very clumsy with a big suitcase (ours is medium and it was hard). The room is not large but it is perfectly adequate, with good heating, good insulation, plenty of towels and hot water, shampoo and soap, good bedding, a small TV, a closet and a hair dryer. It was clean and comfortable. It all looked much nicer in the daylight especially after being fed a very nice and varied breakfast: homemade cakes and jam, good coffee, yogurt, toasts, cereal, cold cuts, etc.
Best of all, the attendant and, especially, the owner, were vey nice and helpful. They entrusted us with the house key so we could come back later to retrieve our luggage and use the bathroom, recommended good places to eat and told us how to get to the airport.

ps. it is true the elevator is noisy. Don't stay here if you are easily disturbed by noise.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We were spending one night only in Pisa to complete our honeymoon. Booked Cavalieri 6 months in advance. Arrived to find we'd been double booked. After much confusion we were transferred to nearby property in the same chain - the Harlequin. We arrived to find a child running around in underwear. No discount was offered. Small room not a problem but it had a pervading smell of damp. Room was very sad with a 5 armed chandelier with only one bulb working and a carpet with a huge hole in it. Breakfast disgusting - half eaten apple going mouldy in a bowl, jam that looked to be fermenting, a dog bone under the table (I kid you not!), piles of laundry lying around and every surface covered in either nick-nacks or dust! Staff mostly disinterested. Delighted to escape. Would NEVER recommend this group of B&B's.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We were instructed to call the owners 30 minutes before arriving to arrange to pick up the keys. However, neither of the two phone numbers they gave us worked from my cell phone: one was automatically rejected and one number called a restaurant or a bar or some other loud place. We even tried the first number on a pay phone thinking that maybe there was a problem with my cell phone. However, we were never able to contact the owners and had to find another place to stay. And, we lost our 29 euro deposit.
If you decide to try this place out -- it looks nice from the photos on their web site -- be aware that the B&B is located about 200m from the train station and from there you can take a bus to the Leaning Tower. The hotel is about 20-30 minutes walking distance from the tower.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

it's a good b&b, with cozy rooms, ensuite or not, as you prefer.
location is perfect to/from airport (lam rossa shuttle-bus stop in front of the b&b) and to/from train station walinkg distance 3 min.
walking distance 15-20 min to the tower.
good breakfast.
only down point is the noise of the elevator in the upper room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Dei Cavalieri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Dei Cavalieri

Address: Piazza Sant'Antonio 4 | Sesto Piano, 56125 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 225 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your B&B Dei Cavalieri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Dei Cavalieri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.