We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abitalia Tower Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Abitalia Tower Plaza to your Saves list
Abitalia Tower Plaza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Caduti del Lavoro, 46, 56122 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
hereford
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in a standard room. As it was Easter the hotel was busy but found reception staff to be very cordial and helpful. The rooms are very spacious and have doors that open to a mini balcony. The bathroom is big and deep bath for a good old soak. Very clean and comfortable stay.

Restaurant was good and 2 courses with glass of wine came to 30 euros for one. Didnt have breakfast but used the bar where they do appertina. So order a drink at 5 euros and there is a complimentary buffet with very good selection.

Location is a not ideal for the traveller on foot. Good 20 minute walk to the piazza del miracoli. However it is only 10 minutes walk to the station Pisa san Rossore station. Keep walking down the underpass on vialle delle Cascine and there are steps that go up to the station. P san Rossore is on the line to Lucca and also well connected to Pisa centrale station which is only E1.50 and same cost to Pisa airport. So if you are travelling light, take the train from airport to centrale station and then change trains to san Rossore and walk it up. The way to go is to head towards the main station building and then go to the right of the building as you face it. There is a path that leads out and then look out for steps that take you onto the underpass (vialle delle cascine) There head to the left for the hotel and right for piazza del miracoli.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Tower Plaza!
We are very happy with the fact that you have got to enjoy our service, the place, but especially the availability of staff. We believe that it is precisely in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
It 's really rewarding for all of us have succeeded in our aim.
As for his comment on the friendly and courteous staff is really the best reward for us.
The comments relating to 'aperitif, but indirectly to the dinner is appreciated as we treat these services as every service (lunch dinner) as it is important that the customer feels that you tried lying, good product, good quality and low price.
The hotel enjoys a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bicycle rental service / electric car / auto, through which in a few minutes you reach the Tower of Pisa, the center, the heart of the city . The distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is really not much.
On the other hand only leaning out the window of the rooms, or enjoy a drink at the bar or tasting something at the restaurant, we note the proximity to the Tower, then the center of the city is impressive.
There are several location "interesting". The terrace on the third floor that becomes the protagonist of ceremonies and banquets during the summer, where you can enjoy a cocktail / dinner is really a privilege for the view of the Tower, as if to touch it, not to mention the space by the pool in light of candle, thank you for having detected.
We also have a corner spa, a small SPA and our site is quite clear that what is offered and what is ascertained, including the equipment in place. For complete information, but we can also tell you that we're finishing a very impressive spa, we hope to usher in the year 2013.
In fact we also welcome pets because we believe that more and more people and families renounce to part with their animals, so to try to meet the needs of these families people have decided to receive them, and where possible provide them with rooms with terrace or apartments that also have a small garden in addition to the usual terrace. L 'use of the terrace shall also be comfortable to enjoy a beautiful sunset with a mild temperature of these days, or is very much appreciated by people who smoke, as all our rooms are "no smoking". Among the other near the reception we have equipped a beautiful cigar romm
We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest welcome and we look forward to meeting you personally.
The Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    270
    159
    74
    38
See reviews for
147
306
34
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The first contact with the hotel was a bit hectic. I arrived very late (after 11pm) after a dreadful and neverending trip (10hrs delay due to 5cm of snow...) from Paris. Of course the restaurant was closed but the bartender managed to serve some food for us. She could speak limited English but was very attentive and kind. As I was travelling with my daughter, I had booked a twin bed deluxe room. Unfortunately, the room was a double bed one, so I had to go back to the reception, and ask for a twin bed room. We were then moved to a twin room at the ground floor, which was not a deluxe room. As it was midnight, I chose to sleep there and check with the reception during the morning of the second day. After a small talk with the reception, which were very listening and understanding, I was moved to a 3rd room which corresponded to what I booked.
The room was nice, with a comfortable bathroom (shower and bathtub), and a dressing room. I liked the dressing room because you can put your luggage there, and keep the bedroom nice and organized. The bed was comfortable, but I found the quilt a bit thin. The beauty products were pretty standard, nothing fancy, and certainly not anything to the level of a 5 stars hotel.

The breakfast buffet was pretty nice, again, personnel was nice, smiling and attentive. I am a tea drinker, and I know Italy is not the best place to enjoy a good tea, but I think the hotel could offer better than standard Twinnings or Lipton tea. Same with jams, by the way. Very, very average. Definitely not to the standards of a 5 stars hotel, not even a 3 stars. Too bad because the rest of the buffet was pretty good.

The location is pretty good, rather in the outskirts of Pisa, but since I had a car, it was not a real issue. I did not try to reach the historical center of Pisa by foot, but I guess it is feasible.

All in all it was an enjoyable experience. The hotel is modern, nicely decorated, and with a very nice and friendly staff. Rooms are comfortable. As for amenities, well, it depends. If we consider Abitalia Tower Plaza as a 5 stars hotel, amenities are definitely not up to the standards, if we consider it as a 3 stars hotel (more in line with the prices), I would say it is average, with some nice touches, but also some minor flaws (like the quality of beauty products or breakfast buffet).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Google Translation
“Modern hotel with good service”
Recensito il 17 marzo 2013 NOVITÀ
The first contact with the hotel was a bit hectic. I arrived very late (after 11pm) after a dreadful and neverending trip (10hrs delay due to 5cm of snow...) from Paris. Of course the restaurant was closed but the bartender managed to serve some food for us. She could speak limited English but was very attentive and kind. As I was travelling with my daughter, I had booked a twin bed deluxe room. Unfortunately, the room was a double bed one, so I had to go back to the reception, and ask for a twin bed room. We were then moved to a twin room at the ground floor, which was not a deluxe room. As it was midnight, I chose to sleep there and check with the reception during the morning of the second day. After a small talk with the reception, which were very listening and understanding, I was moved to a 3rd room which corresponded to what I booked.
The room was nice, with a comfortable bathroom (shower and bathtub), and a dressing room. I liked the dressing room because you can put your luggage there, and keep the bedroom nice and organized. The bed was comfortable, but I found the quilt a bit thin. The beauty products were pretty standard, nothing fancy, and certainly not anything to the level of a 5 stars hotel.

The breakfast buffet was pretty nice, again, personnel was nice, smiling and attentive. I am a tea drinker, and I know Italy is not the best place to enjoy a good tea, but I think the hotel could offer better than standard Twinnings or Lipton tea. Same with jams, by the way. Very, very average. Definitely not to the standards of a 5 stars hotel, not even a 3 stars. Too bad because the rest of the buffet was pretty good.

The location is pretty good, rather in the outskirts of Pisa, but since I had a car, it was not a real issue. I did not try to reach the historical center of Pisa by foot, but I guess it is feasible.

All in all it was an enjoyable experience. The hotel is modern, nicely decorated, and with a very nice and friendly staff. Rooms are comfortable. As for amenities, well, it depends. If we consider Abitalia Tower Plaza as a 5 stars hotel, amenities are definitely not up to the standards, if we consider it as a 3 stars hotel (more in line with the prices), I would say it is average, with some nice touches, but also some minor flaws (like the quality of beauty products or breakfast buffet).
Hotel moderno con un buon servizio"
Recensito il 17 marzo 2013 novita
Il primo contatto con l'albergo era un po 'caotico. Sono arrivato molto tardi (dopo le 23 pm ) dopo un viaggio terribile e senza fine (10 ore di ritardo a causa di cinque centimetri di neve ...) da Parigi. Naturalmente il ristorante era chiuso, ma il barista è riuscito a servire un po 'di cibo per noi. Si potrebbe parlare inglese limitato, ma era molto attento e gentile. Mentre ero in viaggio con mia figlia, avevo prenotato un letto singolo camera deluxe. Purtroppo, la camera era un letto matrimoniale uno, quindi ho dovuto tornare alla reception, e chiedere una camera a due letti. Poi siamo stati spostati in una camera doppia al piano terra, che non era una camera deluxe. Come è stato a mezzanotte, ho scelto di dormire lì e verificare con la reception durante la mattina del secondo giorno. Dopo una breve chiacchierata con la reception, che erano molto ascolto e di comprensione, sono stato spostato in una camera 3 che corrisponde a quello che ho prenotato.
La camera era bella, con un comodo bagno (doccia e vasca), e uno spogliatoio. Mi è piaciuto lo spogliatoio, perché si può mettere il vostro bagaglio lì, e tenere la camera da letto bella e organizzata. Il letto era confortevole, ma ho trovato la coperta un po 'sottile. I prodotti di bellezza sono stati piuttosto standard, niente di speciale, e non di certo nulla al livello di un hotel 5 stelle.

La colazione a buffet era piuttosto bello, ancora una volta, il personale era bello, sorridente e attento. Io sono un bevitore di tè, e so che l'Italia non è il posto migliore per gustare un buon tè, ma credo che l'albergo possa offrire meglio di Gemellaggi standard o tè Lipton. Stessa cosa con marmellate, tra l'altro. Molto, molto media. Sicuramente non per gli standard di un hotel 5 stelle, nemmeno un 3 stelle. Peccato perché il resto del buffet era abbastanza buono.

La posizione è piuttosto buona, un po 'alla periferia di Pisa, ma da quando ho avuto una macchina, non era un vero problema. Io non ho cercato di raggiungere il centro storico di Pisa a piedi, ma credo che sia fattibile.

Nel complesso è stata un'esperienza piacevole. L'hotel è moderno, ben arredate, e con un personale molto gentile e disponibile. Le camere sono confortevoli. Per quanto riguarda la comodità, beh, dipende. Se consideriamo Abitalia Tower Plaza è un hotel 5 stelle, i servizi sono sicuramente non all'altezza degli standard, se la consideriamo come un hotel 3 stelle (più in linea con i prezzi), direi che è nella media, con alcuni tocchi , ma anche alcuni piccoli difetti (come la qualità dei prodotti di bellezza o di prima colazione a buffet).


Grazie per aver condiviso con noi la sua esperienza al Tower Plaza, i suoi commenti sono per noi importanti.
Siamo molto contenti del fatto che Lei abbia avuto modo di apprezzare il nostro servizio, il posto ma soprattutto la disponibilità del personale. Crediamo infatti che è proprio nel servizio attento ai dettagli che si può riconoscere il vero prestigio di un albergo.
Il nostro impegno costante è volto a far vivere ai nostri Ospiti soggiorni indimenticabili .
Per quanto riguarda la posizione, l'hotel gode di una vista fantastica, unica al mondo, inoltre come avrà potuto notare abbiamo un servizio di noleggio biciclette / auto elettriche/ auto, attraverso le quali in 10 minuti si raggiunge la Torre di Pisa, il centro, il cuore della città. La distanza dalla Torre di Pisa, dunque dal centro, a piedi è davvero poca cosa.

Vorremmo cercare di argomentare i vari punti positivi / negativi da lei citati al fine di non lasciare dubbio alcuno sul fatto che Lei possa comunque aver soggiornato in una struttura di livello con un personale all'altezza delle prestazioni.

I prodotti di cortesia presenti in camera sono completi, come lei ha specificato, e personalizzati, non riusciamo a capire il riferimento standart poiché per ogni camera , prescindendo dalla tipologia, il cliente trova tutta la linea , dalla pulizia intima, al bagno doccia, crema corpo ecc ecc ) personalizzato abitalia

Per quanto riguarda il servizio di colazione è un esclusiva del nostro Hotel, a partire dalle 7 fino alle 10,30 - 11 del mattino; come:
per garantire un servizio a coloro che hanno necessità alla partenza di un piacevole risveglio
- COLAZIONE A BUFFET dalle 7 alle 10:30 con scelta da ricco buffet con angolo di alimenti biologici, dietetici e per celiaci
- COURTESY BREAK dalle 10:30 alle 11:00 presso il nostro bar con pasticceria e delizie del nostro pasticciere.

Il nostro Ristorante serve oltre 25000 coperti l’anno, siamo un hotel di livello cosi come il servizio colazioni , definirlo 3 stelle ci scusi ma è riduttivo. Così come se la nostra cucina, “in vista ai clienti” non fosse orientata alla trasparente genuinità delle ricette che proponiamo con prodotti tipici dei contadi pisani.
Leggere quanto Lei riporta, relativamente ad i prodotti gustati ci rattrista e non lo condividiamo
Le torte di 3 tipi diversi accompagnate da una crostata sono fatte in casa, i cornetti di doppia varietà presenti sul buffet in effetti non sono riscaldati, ma non siamo dentro un autogrill, ma ancora una volta nulla vietava al cliente in questione di approfittare del nostro fornetto grill messo a disposizione in sala per chi ha l esigenza di tostare pane e pan toast al fine di passarvi il cornetto oppure chieder direttamente al personale di sala . Le varietà di tè sono presenti ma se avesse voluto avrebbe anche potuto chiedere nell’immediatezza, invece di sparare a zero il giorno seguente su trip advisor oppure booking. Molto più semplice chiedere e cercare di trovare una risoluzione immediata al problema , anche perché la critica negativa punta poi solo su due argomenti la varietà di te ( presente in gusti diversi ) e delle marmellate presenti tra l'altro in 7 varietà diverse in vaschetta di vetro mono dose, poiché in Italia per legge haccp , non è possibile mettere sul buffet confezioni marmellata grande self service
Il ristorante solitamente si contraddistingue per il servizio e la qualità, tant’è che siamo in contro tendenza rispetto a molti hotel, poiché tanti sono gli abitanti di Pisa che si recano a cenare / pranzare presso di noi, organizzando anche matrimoni ed eventi particolari , riteniamo di dare un servizio degno di nota . La nostra cucina si basa su cibi espressi e prodotti freschi, le portate sono sempre studiate e pesate ma faremo tesoro del suo suggerimento .

Purtroppo viviamo in un mondo dove è possibile “sparare a zero sentenze negative”, anche accedendo per la prima volta in un posto, nonostante l’evidenzia dei fatti neghi il tutto. La nostra unica difesa è lo storico e i centinai di giudizi e apprezzamenti positivi ricevuti sin’ora .
Ci dispiace per questo giudizio basato su di un dettaglio talmente "particolare" cosi fastidioso da non meritare il 5 pallino e generare il dubbio che noi non si possa essere una struttura di livello.

Infine come ultima precisazione riteniamo i prezzi del nostro hotel non rispecchino gli standart degli hotel 5 stelle ben più noti e conosciuti,questo fatto è dettato da una precisa “policy “ aziendale, al fine di rodare la struttura, farci conoscere e per dare modo a svariate persone di provare, a prescindere, un emozione, un atmosfera ed una struttura, che Noi comunque riteniamo esser di livello malgrado il prezzo con cui usciamo sul mercato e il giudizio di poche persone ( e ce ne dispiace) non soddisfatte .
Grazie per avere condiviso il suo commento, per gli apprezzamenti positivi, l’attendiamo nuovamente come nostro gradito Ospite per toccare con mano la qualità del servizio
Cordialmente
Direttore
Gianluca Ghelarducci
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Thank you for sharing with us his experience at the Tower Plaza, his comments are important to us.
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, but also the place of the staff. We believe that it is in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
Our commitment is designed to bring to life for our guests an unforgettable stay.
As for location, the hotel has a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bike rental service / electric car / auto, through which you can reach in 10 minutes the Tower of Pisa, the center, the heart of the city. The distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is really not much.

We would like to try to argue the various points positives / negatives you mentioned in order to leave no doubt about the fact that you could still have stayed in a layer structure with a staff matching performance.

The in-room toiletries are complete, as you have specified, and custom, we do not understand the reference standart since for each room, regardless of the type, the customer is across the board, from cleaning intimate, to bath and shower cream body etc etc) custom Abitalia

As for the breakfast service is exclusive to our Hotel, from 7 am to 10.30 to 11 in the morning, such as:
to provide a service to those in need at the start of a pleasant awakening
- BREAKFAST from 7 to 10:30 with a choice of rich buffet with organic food, diet and celiac
- COURTESY BREAK 10:30 to 11:00 in our bar with pastries and delicacies from our pastry chef.

Our restaurant serves more than 25,000 seats per year, we are a world class hotel as well as the breakfast service, call us sorry but 3 stars is an understatement. As if our kitchen, "with a view to customers" was not oriented to the transparent sincerity of recipes that offer typical products of peasant Pisa.
You read the reports, in respect of the products enjoyed saddens us and do not share
The cakes of 3 different types are accompanied by a tart homemade croissants double varieties on the buffet in fact are not heated, but we are not in a highway, but again nothing forbade the customer in question to take advantage of our oven grill made available in the room for those who need to toast the bread pan and toast in order to pass the croissant or ask directly to the dining room staff. The varieties of tea are present, but if he wanted he could have ask immediacy, instead of sniping at the next day on trip advisor or booking. Much easier to ask and try to find an immediate resolution to the problem, because the negative criticism tip then only on two topics the variety you (present in different flavors) and jams among others present in 7 different varieties in pan glass single dose, because in Italy by law haccp, you can not put the jam packs great buffet self service
The restaurant is usually characterized by the service and quality, so much so that we are against the trend compared to many hotels, because there are so many inhabitants of Pisa who go to dinner / lunch with us, and organizing weddings and special events, we believe that we provide a service worthy of note. Our cuisine is based on fresh produce and food delivery, the courses are always designed and weighed but we will treasure his suggestion.

Unfortunately, we live in a world where you can "shoot zero negative judgments", accessing for the first time in one place, in spite of the highlights of the facts deny everything. Our only defense is the historical and hundreds of judgments and positive feedback received sin'ora.
Sorry for this judgment based on a detail so "special" so annoying they do not deserve the 5 ball and create doubt that we can be a world-class property.

Finally, as a last point we believe the prices of our hotel does not reflect the standart 5 star hotels most famous and well-known, this fact is dictated by a specific "policy" company, in order to break in the structure, let us know and give way to many people to try, regardless, an emotion, an atmosphere and a structure, which we still believe to be level despite the price at which we go out on the market and the opinion of a few people (and there sorry) is not satisfied.
Thanks for sharing your comment for the positive feedback, the wait again as our welcome guest to see first hand the quality of service
Cordially
Director
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

clean hotel, friendly barstaff especially ishmu, fantasic tower views, excellent dining although breakfast time the eggs and bacon were cold but alternative continental breakfast was adequate and surfice tostart your day. little stroll into pisa and the world is your oyster small cafes and bars with pleasant staff....would reccomend and definitely return

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Customer

Thank you for choosing the Tower Plaza!
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, but also the place of the staff. We believe that it is in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
It 's really rewarding for all of us to be successful in our goal.
As for her comment is really the best reward for us,
The hotel has a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bike rental service / electric car / auto, through which in a few minutes you reach the Leaning Tower of Pisa, the center, the heart of the city . The distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is really not much.
On the other hand only affacciandoci the window of the room, or enjoy a drink at the bar or tasting something at the restaurant, we note the proximity to the Tower, then the center of the city is impressive.
There are several location "interesting". The terrace on the third floor that becomes the protagonist of ceremonies and banquets during the summer, where you can enjoy a drink / dinner is really a privilege only for the view of the Tower, as if to touch it with your hand, not to mention the space by the pool in light of candle, thanks to notice them.
We also have a corner spa, a small spa and our site is well specified what it offers and what it is ascertained, including the equipment in place. For complete information, but we can tell you that we are also finishing a very impressive spa, we hope to usher in the year 2013.
We are waiting to welcome you again as our guest welcome and look forward to see you here know personally.
the Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I just recently went on a trip to Italy with my mom, and we stayed for 2 nights in 6 cities. This was by far the best hotel of that trip (and by far one of the cheapest). Very clean and trendy rooms and lobby, excelent service, and a stunning view. As we arrived, they gave us a room with a king bed. I asked if I could change to a room with 2 twins bed, and my request was promptly attended. We stayed on a very large room, very different from almost every hotel in Italy. It's a very new property, and almost every room has a great balcany (with views of the pool area or the tower of Pisa), and the location is perfect. Really close to the center, and still on a residential and very quiet area. It's just great. There is free internet for as many devices as you'd like and even our housekeeper spoke great english, so non italian speakers are gonna feel very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Tower Plaza!
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, but also the place of the staff. We believe that it is in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
It 's really rewarding for all of us to be successful in our goal.
As for her comment is really the best reward for us,
The hotel has a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bike rental service / electric car / auto, through which in a few minutes you can reach the Tower of Pisa, the center, the heart of the city . The distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is really not much.
On the other hand only the window of the room, or enjoy a drink at the bar or tasting something at the restaurant, we note the proximity to the Tower, then the center of the city is impressive.
There are several location "interesting". The terrace on the third floor that becomes the protagonist of ceremonies and banquets during the summer, where you can enjoy a drink / dinner is really a privilege only for the view of the Tower, as if to touch it with your hand, not to mention the space by the pool in light of candle, thanks to notice them.
We also have a corner spa, a small spa and our site is well specified what it offers and what it is ascertained, including the equipment in place. For complete information, but we can tell you that we are also finishing a very impressive spa, we hope to usher in the year 2013.
We are waiting to welcome you again as our guest welcome and look forward to see you here know personally.
the Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed here on the 1/02/13 -4/02/13. Nice hotel. Very nice reception staff. Helpful and informative when asked advice on how to get to places of interest.
Couple of niggles. 1) Regarding the shower. Looks fantastic. Nice big space but the water pressure is not fast and the temperature seems to change from hot to cold of its own free will sometimes. I think the water pressure needs to be looked in to as a few other people have also mentioned the showers in their rooms or the shower heads need to be changed. I didn't want to spend a long time in the shower because of this reason.
2) The gym only had 3 machines to use. 2 bikes and 1 treadmill. Luckily I was the only person using the gym whilst on this trip or else there would of been dissapointment. There should be a cross trainer machine in there at least for a 5* hotel. The smallest gym I have ever been in in regards to the lack of equipment available. Nice views overlooking The Tower of Pisa though.
3) No tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms or any room service available(apart from a continental breakfast in a morning). All 5* hotels should offer room service for snacks.
4) A very hard king size bed. Lovely size but both of us had bad backs throughout our and only 3 pillows offered.(Needs 4).
5) There was a party going on on the Sat night we stayed here and the music went on till 12.30am which was very loud through the floor. Good job it didn't go on any longer as I was quite annoyed. They have weddings there.
6) Breakfast cost 10 euros pp and there was only scrambled eggs and bacon available for a hot meal. Both of these were cold on all days we had the breakfast. Usual continental available. Quite pricey I thought though but made sure we filled up.
Last point to make was the 6 euro charge to order a taxi from the hotel to the airport. The hotel was not forthcoming in letting us know this information at the time of ordering as we would of looked elsewhere for one.
Overall though a very nice stay here. The hotel is off the beaten track but The Tower of Pisa is only a 15 minute walk away through an underground tunnel way.
Taxis cost just over 10 euros from the hotel to the airport and vice versa as long as you don't book a taxi through the hotel. The hotel is 10 mins away from the airport.
We didn't eat in the hotel on an evening. Went to, but not much selection for vegetarians and quite pricey(even for 5*). Not to worry though. If you turn left out of the hotel barrier and walk straight to the end of the road there is a little Italian cafe and a fantastic chinese down there. Very good food and prices. Also Lili's for cakes, chocolates and general yummy stuff to eat.
Quite pricey for some food places. Got totally ripped off on our last day. Went to a snack place near Grand Central Station. Had 2 smallish sandwiches, 2 drinks and 2 slices of cake. The total bill came to 28 euros. Was not happy. Don't eat here. There are no price lists available and we made the mistake of just ordering food without checking. Wasn't even very nice food.
Total rip off. I lost the receipt with the name of the cafe on it. It has a black and white sign and no price list. Avoid.Cheapish food can be bought out but do shop around and check prices first.
Tip: Take a day trip out to Florence. Much better than Pisa. Lots of shops and a much better city to look at. Wish we'd of stayed in Florence and took the train to Pisa for the day. The train station is a 45 minute walk from the hotel. Take a taxi. 15 euros pp to Florence on the train and it takes an hour. Well worth going there though.Not loads to see in Pisa. Not enough to do for the 3 days I don't think. Pisa needs a facelift. The Leaning Tower of Pisa is 20 euros and you can go inside it. A must but only on a clear, sunny day.
Overall a quite enjoyable holiday apart from the very expensive cafe we ate at. Just watch where you eat if on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Tower Plaza!
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, but also the place of the staff. We believe that it is in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
As for location, the hotel has a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bike rental service / electric car / auto, through which in a few minutes you reach the Tower of Pisa, center, the heart of the city. The distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is really not much.
On the other hand only affacciandoci the window of the room, or enjoy a drink at the bar or tasting something at the restaurant, we note the proximity to the Tower, then the center of the city is impressive.
There are several location "interesting". The terrace on the third floor that becomes the protagonist of ceremonies and banquets during the summer, where you can enjoy a drink / dinner is really a privilege only for the view of the Tower, as if to touch it with your hand, not to mention the space by the pool in light of candle, thanks to notice them.
Inherent in the outdoor swimming pool during the summer season as well will have seen we have a nice swimming pool with sun beds and umbrellas in abundance, with a space children but also sun loungers and benches tub, seasonal pool, with water heated by the sun. During the summer, but if the weather permits also the spring you can enjoy your dinner / lunch and breakfast outside. We also have a corner spa, a small spa and our site is well specified what it offers and what it is ascertained, including the equipment in place. For complete information, but we can tell you that we are also finishing a very impressive spa, we hope to usher in the year 2013. What is certain is that most hotels do not have such spaces available free of charge to the customer, placed under a personal trainer available would drive up the cost of the room, which cost instead is really interesting, especially since you have personally witnessed another
The prices of our hotel do not reflect the standart 5 star hotels most famous and well known, this fact is dictated by a specific "policy" company, in order to break in the structure, let us know and give way to a variety of people to try, regardless, a feeling, an atmosphere and a structure, which we still believe to be level despite the price at which we go out on the market and the opinion of a few people (and there sorry) is not satisfied.
We have room service like any hotel, it is certain that the service has a cost, everything is in the directory specified in each room. In addition, this information is also given on receipt. During the day and into the night the bar is always open, the place where you can enjoy tasty sandwiches, focaccia sandwiches and cold dishes (between meals)
Inherent in the restaurant deserving of clarification regarding our cuisine in general, referring to the hotel in his daily life, as both breakfast the lunch / dinner, provide a level of service and food. Everything is prepared in house ... especially that undoubtedly adds value.
Buying as you did the room without breakfast once in the hotel must pay other than breakfast if you want to eat at the hotel, or you can do it outside. As she is satisfied, eat, drink or have breakfast outside hotel, around Pisa has a cost even more. Our continental breakfast features, toast, sausages, meats, cheeses, eggs, bacon, juice. Coffee, water, bread, cake, pizza, four different types of cake, honey, jams, biscuits, yogurt of any kind, etc. etc. with a buffet loaded and replaced by our attentive staff.
The interior and exterior are new, in Italy for the welfare of the natural latex mattresses are soft and have absolutely. but rather rigid, as recommended for optimal rest by the best specialists in orthopedics.
Finally, two interesting details but in his opinion, are the work of the hotels in the city tax and fee of 6 euro taxi. We confirm that the city tax is collected from hotels but paid to municipal administration, so you do not pay but the hotel but rather a tax levied by the city. In Italy, unfortunately, from the moment you call the taxi, from any mobile phone or mobile call makes the meter uploads scoring as early as 6 euro. This for us is a rip off but the hotel is not responsible. Rather than call and reserve a taxi for the customer can not do more, avoiding to charge the call of the taxi.
She also writes a review this hotel but more than half of this, speaks of other local Pisa (fortunately it can be seen by comparing our price comparison and price list is winning against them) we might like to read comments only on us.
We are waiting to welcome you again as our guest welcome and look forward to see you here know personally.
The Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ochota, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The hotel was chosen because of it's proximity to the airport.

We arrived late, the only thing we wanted was to go to sleep as soon as possible. Unfortunately the check-in process was rather sluggish (copying passports, filling forms...). There were also some problems with obtaining an iron and ironing board at that hour. Also my key card didn't work so I had to go back down with two suitcases to get a new one (the staff did not seem apologetic...).

The room is spacious and nicely furnished, the bed was also comfortable. There was a balcony (I love rooms with balconies) overlooking a busy street - the traffic noise could be heard, especially during the morning rush hours.
The bathroom was large with two shower cabins (might be an interesting idea for couples to shower together) but not very clean (not disgusting but noticeably dirty).
The breakfast was a typical Italian breakfast, not much to chose from, but rather good quality. Generally OK.

The hotel is located in the middle of nowhere, it is quite a walk from the city centre and I didn't notice anything interesting around there.

The staff was OK, they worked a little bit slowly, but it is Italy, nothing to complain about.

The hotel could be rated much better if they paid more attention to cleanness and to efficiency of check-in and check-out. If I were to stay another time in Pisa I think I would chose a different hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street may be noisy for some people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear customer, we answer to the second criticism appeared identical to that quote and written by the same hand as we change the title but the content is always the same. Sorry for so fiercely that among other things we do not recognize appartanerci because all his criticisms are unfounded. Despite this we will respond in the same way and we hope to receive more criticism, not written by the same hand again for the usual living room, it would be incorrect.

Thank you for sharing with us his experience at the Tower Plaza, his comments are important to us.
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, but also the place of the staff. We believe that it is in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
Our commitment is designed to bring to life for our guests an unforgettable stay.
It 's really rewarding for all of us to be successful in our goal.
As for location, the hotel has a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bike rental service / electric car / auto, through which you can reach in 10 minutes the Tower of Pisa, the center, the heart of the city. The distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is really not much. The road that separates us from the Tower of Pisa is the Aurelia, but far enough away from the busy hub Hotel and impactful sound-especially because the rooms are soundproofed. We also have rooms that overlook the magnificent garden pool view, but generally we try to pay homage to a stranger giving him the deluxe room with terrace and view tower although he booked the superior room as a courtesy kindness and helpfulness.
As for the decor and the bathroom in particular the case of the de luxe rooms, the design is very attractive and level, especially in the shower, large bright with dual showerheads excited. Thanks for your report, concerning the clogged drain, even if our service is constant, then a small problem is already solved in the evening the next morning
Thanks for sharing your comment for the positive feedback, the wait again as our welcome guest!
Cordially
Director
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a night because my flight to Paris has been cancel and I need to find somewhere to just stay just one night. This is the only "5 star" hotel available during winter around the area so I choose it.
The location is very convenient, only around 4km away from the airport and 1km away from the Leaning tower. You can actually see the Leaning tower from the window. The lobby is modern and bright, check-in is efficient, the room is ok with a small balcony outside, room size is reasonable.
There are few problems I found which is quite distributing, 1. As other reviewer has mentioned before, the room is noisy, the hotel is located in a cross junction and many cars pass by even late night that's why it can't help it. 2. the design in the bathroom is funny, instead of having 1 bathtub and 1 shower cabin, they have 2 shower cabin instead. And there is no glass between the two cabin. So you can easily walk from one cabin to another.
3. Drainage is bad, one side if the shower cabin has l block drainage which water keep accumulating during shower. Maybe that's why they need to give you two shower cabin.
Overall is a reasonable hotel, consider I was only paying 99 Euro for a night including breakfast and free wifi, what more I can ask for!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you for sharing with us his experience at the Tower Plaza, his comments are important to us.
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, but also the place of the staff. We believe that it is in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
Our commitment is designed to bring to life for our guests an unforgettable stay.
It 's really rewarding for all of us to be successful in our goal.
As for location, the hotel has a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bike rental service / electric car / auto, through which you can reach in 10 minutes the Tower of Pisa, the center, the heart of the city. The distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is really not much. The road that separates us from the Tower of Pisa is the Aurelia, but far enough away from the busy hub Hotel and impactful sound-especially because the rooms are soundproofed. We also have rooms that overlook the magnificent garden pool view, but generally we try to pay homage to a stranger giving him the deluxe room with terrace and view tower although he booked the superior room as a courtesy kindness and helpfulness.
As for the decor and the bathroom in particular the case of the de luxe rooms, the design is very attractive and level, especially in the shower, large bright with dual showerheads excited. Thanks for your report, concerning the clogged drain, even if our service is constant, then a small problem is already solved in the evening the next morning
Thanks for sharing your comment for the positive feedback, the wait again as our welcome guest!
Cordially
Director
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abitalia Tower Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abitalia Tower Plaza

Address: Via Caduti del Lavoro, 46, 56122 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#8 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Abitalia Tower Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great view over the leaning tower and close to the natural reserve of San Rossore, Abitalia Tower Plaza features an open air swimming pool, a relax room with Turkish bath, massage room and fitness corner, a fabulous restaurant "I Sovrani" and a lounge bar "La Piazzetta." 121 bright rooms among which glamorous suites like the "Honey" and "Golden-Silver". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abitalia Tower Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abitalia Tower Plaza Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abitalia Tower Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.