We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely few days” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abitalia Tower Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Abitalia Tower Plaza to your Saves list
Abitalia Tower Plaza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Caduti del Lavoro, 46, 56122 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A lovely few days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

After a very short and smooth flight to Pisa and a short taxi ride to the Abitalia Tower Plaza hotel I was very pleased to say the receptionist greeted us warmly and efficiantly before showing us to our room. As it was our anniversary my husband and I asked to upgrade our room which was very nice but we wanted something a bit more special, The receptionist was very obliging and swiftly upgraded us to a beautiful junior suite which had the stunning view of the Leaning Tower.
we stayed at the Abitalia for 3 days and I can honestly say our room was cleaned daily and was spotless we were given extra blankets for the bed as the heating had not yet been put on and the cold weather front had just arrived and consequently it was a bit chilly at night especially in a glass sided room.
After spending the days touring Pisa and boarding a train to Lucca sightseeing and eating in little cafes and restaraunts we had quite a surprise as we did not find the food in local establishments very appitising but our evening meals in the hotel were superb! we really enjoyed the every dish we ate, yes its a bit pricey but well worth it compared to some of the others we tried.
All in all we had a wonderful break in Pisa made all the better by the Pisa football team also staying there at the same time! and would recomend the Abitalia to anyone for either a short stay or a longer stay in Italy.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice but the junior suites are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us his experience at the Tower Plaza, his comments are important to us.
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, but also the place of the staff. We believe that it is in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
Our commitment is designed to bring to life for our guests an unforgettable stay.
It 's really rewarding for all of us to be successful in our goal.
As for her comment is really the best reward for us, finally, a last point on our desserts, all homemade ... this is undoubtedly an added value and have it recognized honors us.
Thanks for sharing your comment for the positive feedback, the wait again as our welcome guest!
cordially
director
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    268
    158
    73
    38
See reviews for
146
306
33
110
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for four nights. Lovely hotel with a good restaurant. Quite a long walk to the centre of Pisa but there is a bus from outside the hotel (no 6) which goes to the Central train station. A good day trip from Pisa is a medieval town of Lucca 25 mins on the train 6 euros return. A good hotel for overnight stop for Pisa Airport as only 5 minutes. Recommend Osteria Bernardo - fab food and wine list.

Room Tip: Book through Olotels - rate was almost a 3rd of the price direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us his experience at the Tower Plaza, his comments are important to us.
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, but also the place of the staff. We believe that it is in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.Our commitment is designed to bring to life for our guests an unforgettable stay.It 's really rewarding for all of us to be successful in our goal.With regard to the 'Osteria Bernardo you cite is very popular we recommend to many of our customers when they want to necessarily have lunch or dinner outside of the hotel, although we always recommend testing in our restaurant that has no equal as value for money. Thanks anyway for sharing his comments, and positive feedback, the wait again as our welcome guest!
Cordially director
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here in Sept/Oct 2012. The hotel is a bit out of town but only 15 minute walk to Field of Miracles. Rooms are spotlessly clean and reasonable spec. Not 5 star but a good 4 star.
Reception helpful with room requests and taxi booking. Bar and restaurant staff generally good and helpful. We only encountered the "ladies of the night" once during our stay and they are down on the main road from the hotel. Didn't use the pool or the spa but both looked fine. Ate in hotel once and food quality very good.
If you get this at a good price you can't really go wrong. It's €10 to the train station for Florence, Siena, Lucca etc and €15 to the airport.
Loved Pisa, Loved Italy (again!)

Room Tip: ask for view of tower - you may not get one but you may be lucky if the hotel is not full,
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us his experience at the Tower Plaza, his comments are important to us.
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, but also the place of the staff. We believe that it is in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
Our commitment is designed to bring to life for our guests an unforgettable stay.
It 's really rewarding for all of us to be successful in our goal.
Regarding prostitution present near the hotel is a phenomenon we are struggling with the help of the police light. Finally, as you have well perceived and pointed out, if the hotel is available we always try to give the customer the level room
Thanks anyway for sharing his comments, and positive feedback, the wait again as our welcome guest!
cordially
director
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Firstly our room was not upgraded even though I had email proof of my upgrade, which I had agreed to pay for. The receptionists were very abrupt and said I was wrong. Then they went on computer and gave us keys to a musty smelling room. Our food order was wrong in the restaurant so my fiancé ate first. I didn't bother 30 minutes later. The new room was nice enough in the end but not as nice as we hoped. The cleaning products were not replenished daily. Not a five star feel. Not welcoming. The customer is not always right.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, November 3, 2012
Dear Customer
Thank you for choosing the Tower Plaza!
Sorry for what you write especially about not being able to enjoy our service, the place but especially the professionalism of the staff.
As for location, the hotel has a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bike rental service / electric car / auto, through which you can reach in 10 minutes the Tower of Pisa, the center, the heart of the city. The distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is really not much.
The towels in the room were changed every day, while towels are honored at the beginning of the pool room, towels of different colors that the customer is in the room on arrival, with a card written in two languages (English Italian) warns that the use of the towel and the time duration of the stay. Otherwise clean towels for the pool if a client wishes to change it every day are available at the bar, the receipt or upon report, however, as these usually reads the tag and the directory will be charged. Cleaning products for intimate room, they are replaced when finished. Write a review for this negative frankly there sconforta but we take note.
Sorry for the inconvenience capitatole in the room it can happen that a waiter mistakes, we are very sorry for your patience.
As for the room, your reservation was for a superior standard but when you can attach the upgraded room as in your case at the same price. We could not attribuirle a junior suite for the price she paid
However, as also noted by you believe the prices of our hotel does not reflect the standart 5 star hotels most famous and well known, this fact is dictated by a precise "police" company, in order to break in the structure, let us know and give way to many people to try, regardless, an emotion, an atmosphere and a structure, which we still believe to be level despite the price at which we go out on the market and the opinion of a few people (and there sorry) is not satisfied.
We are waiting to welcome you again as our guest welcome and look forward to see you here know personally.
The Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very handy for the A11/A12 and the airport, so great if driving and looking to stop off before getting a plane the next day. Very large car park too.
Staff are really nice and welcoming, and very helpful if you need advice. All spoke really good English, so this is a handy hotel if you don't speak Italian. The hotel is also a short drive, or about a 15 minute walk to the leaning tower, though this is through an underpass which may spook some people late at night. The main area of Pisa is another 10 minutes walk from the tower, so although the hotel is on the outskirts, nothing is particularly far away.
Other plus side was that breakfast was really good - usual buffet breakfast, but well above the average even though the fruit juice machine dispensed surprisingly low quality juice.
Only down side, the bar didn't have any Italian beer - just Becks, though they did say they had sold out due to the conference which was on that day, who all seemed to be dining in the hotel.

In Summary, great place to stay, easy option if you have a car, and best of all, if it's a rental as there are two petrol stations round the corner on the SS1 (Strada Statale 1 Aurelia), so you can fill up before dropping off your rental car.

Finally, if you do stay here, make an effort to go and look at the leaning tower - it's pretty awesome, and leans far more than you imagine.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us his experience at the Tower Plaza, his comments are important to us.
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, but also the place of the staff. We believe that it is in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
Our commitment is designed to bring to life for our guests an unforgettable stay.
As for location, the hotel has a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bike rental service / electric car / auto, through which you can reach in 10 minutes the Tower of Pisa, the center, the heart of the city. The distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is really not much.
The road under pass that leads to the Tower mortifies and there is a battle that we are fighting every day urging council we want to reaffirm our commitment to fight the phenomenon and to find better solutions.

With regard to the various beer brands are available to us, that day our bar / restaurant was literally taken 's sunny and stocks were exhausted.
Thanks anyway for sharing his comments, and positive feedback, the wait again as our welcome guest!
cordially
director
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Hotels in Italy that say they are "Grand" can be disapointing, whilst this one does not have this title, I was very surprised and delighted with this excellent Hotel. It was modern, very clean, with a large bed, and room space, with walk in wardrobe, steam room and superb bathroom. Restaurant food and staff all very good and free wi-fi. The second night as the Hotel was full we had to go to Grand Hotel Bonanno in Pisa, and that was a disaster and explains what I mean by the term "Grand" in Italy. If you are in Pisa for business or leisure choose Abitalia Plaza.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us his experience at the Tower Plaza, his comments are important to us.
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, but also the place of the staff. We believe that it is in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
Our commitment is designed to bring to life for our guests an unforgettable stay.
It 's really rewarding for all of us to be successful in our goal.
Thank you for sharing, we wait for you again as our welcome guest!
cordially
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in a 'superior' room and were very pleased with the facilities and the cleanliness.

The hotel is at the junction of a busy road but the double glazing effectively keeps the noise out at night.

As always the charge for items in the mini bar was exorbitant so that facility got given a miss.

A, not too pleasant, 10 min walk gets you into Pisa; it takes longer in a Taxi.

We have two negative comments the first was the service for a late lunch in the restaurant - it was obviously too much trouble for the chap in charge. The second was the Wi-Fi which needed constant reconnection - with separate usernames and passwords for each phone this wasted a lot of time. There are RS232 ports in the rooms so take along an airport express and run your own network.

There is a bedside plug for your chargers but you have to get under the bedside table to find it.

On the whole we enjoyed our stay and would use the hotel again if we were I the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you for sharing with us his experience at the Tower Plaza, his comments are important to us.
We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, but also the place of the staff. We believe that it is in the service attentive to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel.
Our commitment is designed to bring to life for our guests an unforgettable stay.
As for location, the hotel has a fantastic view, unique in the world, as also will have noticed we have a bike rental service / electric car / auto, through which you can reach in 10 minutes the Tower of Pisa, the center, the heart of the city. The distance from the Tower of Pisa, then from the center, walking is really not much.
Sorry for the two points you have mentioned as negative, or a slow connection to the wi fy (due to other network problems and dictated by the bad weather conditions) the long wait for the restaurant and room service. We will understand the reason for this inefficiency and work so that this does not happen again with other customers Thanks anyway for sharing his comments, and positive feedback, the wait again as our welcome guest!
cordially
director
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abitalia Tower Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abitalia Tower Plaza

Address: Via Caduti del Lavoro, 46, 56122 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#8 Business Hotel in Pisa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Abitalia Tower Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great view over the leaning tower and close to the natural reserve of San Rossore, Abitalia Tower Plaza features an open air swimming pool, a relax room with Turkish bath, massage room and fitness corner, a fabulous restaurant "I Sovrani" and a lounge bar "La Piazzetta." 121 bright rooms among which glamorous suites like the "Honey" and "Golden-Silver". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Abitalia Tower Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abitalia Tower Plaza Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abitalia Tower Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.