We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of city luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abitalia Tower Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Abitalia Tower Plaza to your Saves list
Abitalia Tower Plaza
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Caduti del Lavoro, 46, 56122 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 68 Hotels in Pisa
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Out of city luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We treated ourselves to the last night of a great holiday in Tuscany to a superior suite at this 5 star hotel. Actually is is just on the edge of Pisa so you still get views over the city and surrounding hills. It has lots of space everywhere. The large swimming pools have grass and paving all around with plenty of loungers and sunshades. Spacious bedroom and bed. Good bar and restaurant with easy taxi access from the railway station and the airport. There are also a couple of restaurants a short walk away if you want a change of venue.

Room Tip: Although rooms are spacious it is real luxury to have a suite here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear Guest Thank you for choosing the Tower Plaza! We are very happy with the fact that you got to enjoy our service, the place above all the availability of personnel. We believe that it is in service with attention to detail that you can recognize the true luxury of a hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again to welcome as our guest and look forward to meeting you personally know!
Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    317
    194
    92
    44
See reviews for
174
363
36
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We had a great room, large and very clean. View was out of this world. Breakfast was lovely,

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, September 24, 2011
We are very happy to learn that he spent a pleasant stay in the Plaza Tower of Pisa. We appreciate the fact that he liked the simplicity and authenticity of our hotel, we believe that luxury, elegance and above all to be transmitted through a professional service but not set, as well as the furnishings in the kitchen, they used the same criteria : the pursuit of excellence not by ostentation but by being constantly "in the search for the happily unhappy "!... nitpicking, constantly putting the other side, or the client's behalf, thus trying to make all simply beautiful ..... ..... Thank you for your feedback, and the soon!
The management and all staff
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

I booked this hotel as a surprise for my partner and booked a suite as a surprise. Reading the initial reviews and seeing the hotel website, I was definitely looking forward to enjoying a stay in a room with views over Pisa.
We arrived mid-morning after driving from Milan and were impressed by the location and the view, which was indeed like the pictures. Next started the ordeal.
At check-in we were greeted by a somber looking attendant. I was given the keys to the room and we went there to drop off our baggage. It was chaotic in the building and when we reached the room it turned out it wasn't cleaned and the view was of the back side of the hotel grounds and not the city. Went back to the front desk and we were grudgingly told that we would get another room and when we asked about the view, we were told that the hotel was completely sold out and that as we had not asked for a room with a view, we would not get one. What?? I was paying over E 200 for the room and that was the least I would expect!
After getting the keys to another room with a better view, I went to go look and also this one was not clean. Unbelievable. Back to the front desk and the attendant there became snotty. When i mentioned about the price and view, she said it wasn't her issue and that no hotel offered early check-in. This infuriated us as we knew this wasn't true; we have this offered to us by many hotels around the world and here this woman was just arguing with us.
Frustrated, we decided to just leave the hotel after feeling so unwelcome and almost insulted. We were told that we would have to pay for the room, but were so distressed and unhappy that we decided to just get out and try to salvage what would end up being a wonderful holiday in Italy.
All-in-all this hotel works on the views and this for us does not warrant them calling themselves a 5-star hotel. In the end we found much better choices in the city itself.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Dear Customer,

First of all we want to thank you for kindly published his review on TripAdvisor.

We respond with pleasure to your comments:

- We apologize for the inconvenience created it by assigning a room not yet perfect but remember to place the check in and reservations of rooms that are released and are ready after 12 00 hours
In addition, we generally specify that the tower view rooms are deluxe rooms and suites or j our reception is always available to meet the demands of our customers by offering a change room, probably if they have not done, it means that we did not have rooms available and have assigned these rooms with a view of the tower to those who had actually booked the one paying the price for a room type

- On the discussion he had with the service received, we apologize, but in fact if all the rooms overlooking the tower had been assigned / book unfortunately could not do otherwise. Just for completeness of information whenever we can operate a grating free up whatever book

- Regrets the fact that we did not appreciate the service of our staff we receive many positive comments

At your disposal for further information, we send our warmest greetings.

The Direction
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RLS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Firstly,the good points.....the hotel staff were brilliant,always helpful and spoke very good English.
The rooms were new and the bed comfortable...very clean!
The breakfast in the morning had a good spread and was serves at a time which allowed us to have a good lie in.
Great to have a pool in an area that generally doesnt have swimming pools
Party every Fri night with free food...and there is free WiFi!
Easy access to train station for visiting other areas.
The bad points...the swimming pool smelt like dirty water and you are not allowed to eat or drink around the pool with your own food for 'health and safety' purposes.This meant that you had to pay out lots of money from the expensive bar just to rehydrate yourself!
The parking at the weekend in the car park was difficult..There was a party on Fri,(which felt like it was more for the locals than the guests).and a wedding on Saturday night ,so when we arrived back both nights around 10pm in our hire car..there was no room to park our car which was annoying...perhaps car park bays could be allocated for guests only?
ALthough Pisa is a 20 min walk away it is a challenge to get there..crossing busy main roads...roads with prostitutes walking up and down and a very long underpass to walk through at night ,is not great...so you need to have a hire car or pay for a taxi to and from Pisa.
The water from the shower was not of a inconsistent temperature,always running hot and cold and no full length mirrors or tea and coffee facilities.
overall an average stay for a lot of money!

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Customer,

First of all we want to thank you for kindly published his review on TripAdvisor.
We are very pleased to learn that you have fully enjoyed his stay at our hotel and we want to assure you that the comments of our guests are precious to us, because we can better understand their needs and to improve the quality of the service. Am particularly pleased that we have enjoyed our staff, which is undoubtedly the most important asset of our company and I have enjoyed our food especially breakfast.

We respond with pleasure to your comments:

- The pool water meets strict level of hygiene in healthcare, a company specialized external checks and withdrawals accomplish every day in addition to our staff that monitors daily anti-fungal, anti chlorine and all other seaweed products needed for proper operation.
We have rules of procedure specifically designed to invite our guests to consume food and beverages at the hotel bar for several reasons, first of all to introduce plastic glasses, forks and utensils to avoid something breaks and jeopardize health of our guests and then to promote and sell our product. I take this opportunity to remind you that our prices are completely in line with the external market and any structure below a 5 star also eat / drink the pool is served and revered without any other value that has no hotels in Pisa;
Parking is very wide, we even have 3 car parks, all reported but little exploited by our customers, in fact, behind the apartments, in practice the opposite side of the pool there is a huge car park, reserved exclusively for hotel guests and apartment, perhaps even broader than that generally used
As far as the way to go in order to travel to visit the Tower of Pisa, we owe it to account would need to be improved, cleaned, kept lit, we are fighting a battle with the town of Pisa, as the uncomfortable presence of prostitutes that will certainly disturb our image.
As for the water with various temperature changes, the absence of a full-length mirror, we are providing.
We believe we have an excellent value for money, we are sorry if you think you spent too much.
At your disposal for further information, we send our warmest greetings and we hope to soon have it again as a guest
The Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

First the good bits:
The hotel is very modern and relatively convenient to Pisa. The reception staff spoke good English and were helpfull with suggestions. The Hotel is near to a railway station which links you to Viareggio and Luca, these are well worth a visit, with regular trains. The hotel has a large well maintained swimming pool which is a rarity in this region. There are sun loungers and seating around the pool. There is a substantial grass area, which allowed people to play babminton etc whilst in the confines of the hotel. Music was played at poolside. The hotel ran a free galla on friday evening, quite a few locals decended for the event. The breakfasts mainly consisted of pastries, prosecco was available, fresh fruit etc. Very good in comparrison with most Italian Hotel Breakfasts. The hotel utilises a lot of marble and wood, and the decor is well thought out with good use of lighting. Some of the rooms have excellent views of the tower. The air conditioning is very good, particularly in a heat wave of 40 degrees. There is a camping site nearby with a shop where you can stock up with water and drinks for the kids, although you can't consume these at the pool. You can hire a ferrari from the hotel for a lap of a nearby racetrack bring a spare 100 euro.
Now the not so good
Most days my room was not made up to around 5pm, as I spent several days exploring tuscany it was a real pain to come back late afternoon and find the room as I left it. The pool had inflatable leather look sofas around it. Children threw the large cushions in the pool to use as lilos. This really annoyed the guests as it made swimming really difficult there was no life guard and it didnt seem to bother the hotel staff. There was not sufficient sun loungers around. The pool bar didn't open to after 12 and was quite expensive, as was the food. I didn't see the indoor bar or the roof bar open the entire time, I would have liked to have used them . The hotels taxi man Tomasso is worth watching he charged us full fare to the railway station when we shared a taxi with some people going to the airport. The fee was the same as when we got a taxi independently to the station. Non e molto simpatico
Overall a good hotel but with a few minor problems which need sorting

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the entrance as prostitutes use the road outside, get a room facing the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for your welcome email.

We are particularly pleased to have enjoyed a hearty breakfast and our staff, which is undoubtedly the most important asset of our company.
We are very sorry to learn that you do not have appreciated fully his stay at our resort and we want to assure you that the comments of our guests are precious to us, because we can better understand their needs and to improve the quality of the service.

With reference to the fact the room is not ready for the hour 17 00 pm and we regret we are sorry, immediately check with our House Keeping for the swimming pool is a pool that does not require mandatory lifeguard since built for recreational purposes and not swimming, this is justified because of the presence of displaced inflatable pool or on the lawn, in order to take the opportunity to play in the water. Although everything was very pleased that she has appreciated the cleanliness and order of the pool. Regarding the number of beds we will as soon as possible to broaden the number as more and more people appreciate the garden and swimming pool.
The cost of food is in line with the external market, obvious that if we compare the price of a campsite and a 5 star hotel, we will lose forever the comparison but the quality of the service, the location, the decor and service are of course not remotely comparable .
Taxi service is performed by several companies and a chauffeur that as far as possible apply the same rates of the companies but when you can also shave some costs
Finally, the prostitutes, who stop in the vicinity of the hotel is not up to us, the area is monitored and Sitam fighting a campaign together with the forces of order daily and daily image that only the other day on the main newspaper read local and regional level has been published an article written about our fist to denounce this situation and urge the council to take appropriate action in 'immediately.

At your disposal for further information,
We send our warmest greetings.

The Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed there for 3 nights on a trip through Tuscany.

Some "highlights"
- we had booked a suite + a connecting room which, when we booked, we were advised was the ideal option for us and our 2 kids. On arrival we were told there are in fact no connecting rooms with the suites. To be fair, we were given 2 normal rooms at a slightly reduced price, but I would not have booked had I known this.
- too little staff in general. a 30 minute wait to check in, 20 minute to check out, no luggage porters, ...
- breakfast buffet is included but everything is served on a single table and generally mayhem as a result
- pool bar is managed by a separate company and VERY expensive. EUR73 for 4 pizzas and a few cokes....? Really?
- the rooms and hotel are quite modern in their decoration but even though the hotel is not that old, it was a bit run down already with water stains on the ceiling in the bathroom, etc
- the 3rd night there was a large reception in the pool bar, just below our rooms with music playing loudly into the late hours. We were not informed of this when we booked or even when we were there. Not good.
- WAY too few sun loungers around the pool. I counted 26 for a hotel with 100+ rooms. Every few minutes guests would show up and not find a lounger, then being forced to sit on the ground or in the bar.
- the site is surrounded by 3 roads so when you sit by the pool you see cars driving by and are overlooked by neighbours. The hotel car park adjoins one side as well.

Overall very disappointing (as is Pisa btw - visit the leaning tower for an hour and MOVE ON)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all we want to thank you for your welcome comment.
We regret that you have not fully enjoyed his stay at our hotel and we apologize for the fact of not only making your holidays.
Malgrdo assure you that this quality of service is one of the flowers at the eyelet and ordinary and extraordinary maintenance works are always in programming and development. Are suspended only when the hotel is full so as not to disturb the rest of our guests. The prices of bars / restaurants are in line with the external market
As for the events held on August 15 and Friday before, would like to clarify that it was added to each room and notice board at the elevators, check in at the time also involved in our contextual information. The music ended shortly after midnight.
Baby in the pool are not in number suffficente will try to expand the number and the resort is surrounded by a fence that prevents people outside the view el'affluenza
The free outdoor parking benefits and is a very popular and appreciated by all our guests
Ddesideriamo assure you that the comments of our guests are precious to us, because we can better understand their needs and to improve the quality of the service.

We thank you for choosing our hotel, we send our warmest greetings.
The Management
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights at this hotel as part of our honeymoon and thorougly enjoyed our stay.

Upon arrival, we found that our room had been covered in flower petals and that our room had been upgraded to a larger one with a huge balcony and fantastic views of the Leaning Tower. We left the room to check out the pool and on our return a bottle of champagne had been sent to our room. A lovely touch- thank you!

The room itself was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious, the only criticism being that the shower head cannot be attached to the wall.

The rest of the hotel was great- front desk staff were very polite. The breakfast had a wide range of food available to suit different tasts. The pool was welcome respite from the heat, although even in 38C heat the water was still freezing.

My only criticism of the hotel is its location. While it is a short enough walk into Pisa, the walk takes you through a very long underpass, which isn't particularly nice walking through at night. As a suggestion, perhaps the management of the hotel could consider offering a free shuttle bus service into the centre of Pisa and back.

Overall, a fantastic stay that made our honeymoon!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghelarducci, Direttore at Abitalia Tower Plaza, responded to this review, August 23, 2011
We are very happy to know that she has loved the location and structure but we are even happier to know that our service has met their expectations. We seek to continuously improve the quality of living of our customers and do not conceive the luxury end but merely as a means to comfort, relaxation and attention that our guests are looking for. Then I tried to give the newlyweds a memorable honeymoon is a source of pride for us. While waiting to meet again personally
Best Regards
The managment
Gianluca Ghelarducci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
3.1 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,929 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bologna Hotel Pisa
1.3 mi away
NH Pisa
NH Pisa
#7 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
AC Hotel Pisa by Marriott
8.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Continental
Grand Hotel Continental
#4 of 7 in Tirrenia
3.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pisa Tower
Hotel Pisa Tower
#3 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abitalia Tower Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abitalia Tower Plaza

Address: Via Caduti del Lavoro, 46, 56122 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Pisa
#6 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Pisa
#8 Business Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Abitalia Tower Plaza 5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great view over the leaning tower and close to the natural reserve of San Rossore, Abitalia Tower Plaza features an open air swimming pool, a relax room with Turkish bath, massage room and fitness corner, a fabulous restaurant "I Sovrani" and a lounge bar "La Piazzetta." 121 bright rooms among which glamorous suites like the "Honey" and "Golden-Silver". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Abitalia Tower Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abitalia Tower Plaza Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abitalia Tower Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.