We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Italian hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast San Michele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast San Michele to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast San Michele
Via C.Ridolfi, 24, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 233 Pisa B&B and Inns
Roma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Genuine Italian hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I spent 4 days at Lucia's B&B during a congress. The place is very well located, next to the Congress venue and to Pisa's center. Lucia's hospitality goes beyond the price, it's genuine Italian style :) The breakfast is rich and cappuccino e caffelatte are awsome. I will go back there and I recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harwich Port, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

B & B San Michele is an ideal place to stay in Pisa or as a place to travel among other sites in Tuscany. We stayed at the beginning and the end of our visit in Tuscany. Frabrizio, Lucia, and Andrea are a charming, lovely, and very helpful family, and their home is an interesting period home with a variety of unique items to see from their family history.
We felt right at home when we arrived, as the family welcomed us as though we were from their own family. Andrea picked us up at the airport, and they had a map of the city with specific locations ready for every visitor. Fabrizio helped us the next day with our car rental in the city, and that was a really wonderful addition to a completely stressless
introduction to our trip. And then there is the breakfast - outstanding, with fresh fruit, pastries, breakfast sandwiches, and a variety of beverages. We would recommend this b & b very highly for the family feeling, the comfort, the location, and just the courteous and friendly feelings in general.
Also, Andrea has a unique restaurant in the city, not far from the Tower and other important sites. VINTAGE is a neat little place in the middle of a historic square with an authentic Tuscan menu - a must place for wonderful food.

Room Tip: Try to reserve a room with a private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Fabrizio and Lucia are lovely people and make this B&B a great place to stay. We were here for a 3 night break and didn't really have any idea what we were going to do during that time. Thankfully Fabrizio was the perfect host, with many good ideas of what to see and do. We took the train to Lucca, about half an hour away - it was great. Then the other day was spent exploring the many interesting places in Pisa.
Each morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the back garden with an abundance of tasty foods. You can walk to the Leaning Tower in 15 minutes from here. The railway station is a 15 minute walk and the centre is just 10 mins at most.
I would return without doubt. Theres still more to see in Pisa and its a great base for exploring Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roxy2006
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Fabrizio and Lucia are lovely people and make this B&B a great place to stay. We especially enjoyed the breakfast in the back garden and the chance to relax before our late afternoon flight home. We stayed here as an alternative to going directly from our last location to the airport. I was able to leave the car back a day early and walk with the family to the Leaning Tower on the morning of our homeward day. If I fly through Pisa again I would want to stay there to eliminate the stress of the airport and car hire (and there can be plenty of that). If you're going to book and go the tower then 11am for the tower makes for a comfortable walk there and time for a lovely lunch at Vintage which is Fabrizio's son's café in town on the way back, ask him for the directions and check it on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Fabrizio and Lucia make this B&B a great place to stay. The breakfast was good, the place has character and Fabrizio and Lucia did all they could to make it a home from home. We would have no hesitation in recommending San Michele and would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Fabrizio and Lucia really are amazing hosts.
Highly recommend going for the airport pick-up / send-off (costs 5 euros per way). Prices are the same for shuttle from airport to city centre, but you get the added benefit of getting straight to the B&B.

Took the room with ensuite bathroom. Bed was single in what looked like a converted living room (there are 2 small armchairs in the same room). It was extremely hot during the period so it can get quite warm at night even with windows open (no A/C here).

Hosts were kind enough to provide a hairdryer upon request. I forgot to bring my shampoo. After checking with them, I got a handful of sachets of shampoo, bath gel, liquid talc plus Lucia's own shampoo bottle. They really are very helpful.

As mentioned by everyone, you won't go hungry here. There's a huge selection for breakfast and you can have your fill of bread, cereals, or yoghurt. Lucia also prepares a mean cioccolata calda for chocolate lovers. Americano was great as well.

Do note that since it's a B&B, windows are not soundproofed. The town is very close to the airport so you will hear the planes landing. And for some reason, there's always an ambulance in the middle of the night. This can be a problem for light sleepers (be sure to bring earplugs). Also, there's no lift so heavy baggage might be troublesome. (I'm nearly sure they will offer to help you go up the flights of stairs though..)

The only other downside is the send-off. There was an unplanned meeting so I had to leave 1 hour earlier than planned because no one will be home for me to collect my bags.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful hotel in Pisa, we were met from the airport even when our flight was late. The hospitality was super, breakfast was fabulous and our host could not have been more helpful about exploring the local area and towns, providing us with a map and restaurant recommendations for neighbouring villages. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast San Michele

Address: Via C.Ridolfi, 24, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bed & Breakfast San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.