We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, could not do more for you, won't go hungry either” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed & Breakfast San Michele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bed & Breakfast San Michele to your Saves list
Bed & Breakfast San Michele
Via C.Ridolfi, 24, 56124 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 233 Pisa B&B and Inns
Lewes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Friendly, could not do more for you, won't go hungry either”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Fabrizio and Lucia are perfect hosts - they picked us up from the airport and even, unarranged, dropped us to the station despite it being a rather short one-day stopover in Pisa. Their breakfast was abundant too, locally made Torta de Nonna was a star attraction and they could not have done more for us.

The B&B is very central, short walk to the riverside and about 20 minutes to the Tower or the main shopping areas in Pisa. Safe residential area, quite a few local cafes but we ate at a central restaurant on Fabrizio's recommendation, about a 10 minute walk, and were very satisfied to do so.

The room was traditional, quite large, basic but comfortable. Bathroom was across the hall, had a bit of a DIY feel to it but everything worked just fine and we enjoyed our first stay in Pisa.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
15
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We only stayed here for one night. We had a double room downstairs and a single room upstairs. Both rooms were very nice, and clean and comfortable. Fabrizio and Lucia are a very friendly couple and extremely helpful, even running us to the airport for our return journey. The breakfast was varied and generous. The front of the B&B looks like a normal house on a side street but you can find the name of the accommodation on one of the doorbells. The location is about 25 mins walk to the Duomo and Tower - it is also close to bars and restaurants, and the river.
I would recommend this B&B if you want a home from home with lovely Italian hosts.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We chose this from Tripadvisor reviews and it lived up to expectations. It's not a hotel and it won't work if it's a hotel experience you want. Fabrzio and Lucia use the bottom floor of their family home as a b&b and they are perfectly charming and helpful. It's very definitely their home with all their clutter and books. Our bedroom was compact, somewhat overshadowed by a huge cupboard with a small ensuite shower room and toilet. But it was fine for us.

We had access to their attractive and comfortable sitting room which also served as their dining room. Wi-fi included.

Breakfast is quite something: Lucia prepares a good selection of sandwiches and local cakes and pastries.

But what made our stay there was the charm and helpfulness of our hosts who picked us up from the airport and took us back again and helped us with travel advice and took us to the station one morning.

San Michele is about 10 minutes walk to the central area of the town, about 25 minutes to the Leaning Tower and about 20 minutes to the main station. A taxi from the station costs about 8 - 10 euros. Pisa itself has enough for about two days; it's easy to get to nearby Lucca and Florence is about an hour away on the train so Pisa is not a bad base.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I stayed for one night on the way home from a walking holiday in Tuscany. The address is about a mile from the station so we decided to take a taxi and the driver knew the place straight away. The entrance is a nondescript door in a quiet street but once opened Lucia dragged us into her family home. She is clearly a people person and made us very welcome although we were early and she was just clearing breakfast. We dumped our bags and went out for a look around the city while she got organised. Returning after lunch we settled into our room which was clearly part of a family house with family books, CDs and pictures everywhere. Small but with a good bathroom, it suited us well and the following morning, after a good breakfast, Lucia dropped us at the airport.

Pisa airport is in the city so quite loud aircraft noise is inevitable but they stop at around 10pm and resstart at 7am so sleep is not really affected.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My daughters and I stayed with Lucia and Fabrizio in Pisa. They were such gracious hosts - even driving us to the airport for our departure. They were full the first evening we wanted to stay, and went our of their way to find us another B and B until we could move into their place. As others have said, "the breakfast is amazing." A great value for your money and a chance to meet some lovely people too.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are quiet and well decorated and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I lived in the B&B for 4 nights for work and personal travel, and it was great! The breakfast has a lot of selections, and it was in the beautiful garden of the owner. I enjoyed the conversation with the owners about the italian life style. Also, I met a lot of nice travellers during my stay there, and I think if I am going back again to Pisa, I will definitely stay at the same place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This place is amazing. Here is the low down:
About 400m the train station.
About 10 min walk to the centre and that was with my mum who is in her 50´s.
The B &B is one of the best i have stayed in. Breakfast, is a variety of cereal, cold meats, cheese, yogurt, fruit, bread (the cereal is amazing!!!).
The Room was exceptionaly clean!!!! and literally like a 5 star hotel room!!
Michele is amazing, he speaks brilliant english and is a fantastic host!
you can easily go to cinque terre from here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bed & Breakfast San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed & Breakfast San Michele

Address: Via C.Ridolfi, 24, 56124 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 233 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Bed & Breakfast San Michele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed & Breakfast San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.