We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it was okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Torre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel La Torre to your Saves list
Hotel La Torre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cesare Battisti, 17, 56100 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Pisa
Torino
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“it was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

No air conditioning, old furniture and common toilet. The hotel room was on a noisy street and because of the heat and the lack of air con, it was hard to sleep in the morning. On the plus side though, the people were really nice, and the hotel was clean. I found it expensive but I guess it is okay for such a touristic city like Pisa. I spent there 5 nights, I guess that if it is for one or two nights the hotel is great. Good location, 200m from the train station and 50m from the bus station and from the info center.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    47
    40
    15
    5
See reviews for
17
48
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I booked this hotel for an overnight stay due to an early flight from Pisa. This was my last night in Italy after holidaying in Santa Margherita Ligure.

On arrival at Pisa, I was surprised at just how close this hotel is to the central station. I crossed the road from the station and walked to the end of the block opposite. I stood on the corner and suddenly spotted the sign 'La Torre' approximately 50 metres to my left, on the left hand side of the road. Despite being only 12.30 pm, I was informed my room was ready.

Although a solo traveller, due to limited availability, I had booked a first floor, double room, which was somewhat limited in space albeit adequate. The bathroom on the other hand was large with a wet room at one end, plus another shower attached to the wall at the side of the toilet. Everywhere was clean and nicely furnished with a safety deposit box in the wardrobe. To obtain the key I had to leave a £10 deposit on reception which was refunded on departure. The air conditioning was good, of which I was grateful due to the hot weather. I later spent a lovely day around Pisa, a city I have visited in the past and which I find extremely useful due to its close proximity with the airport.

Overall I would recommend this hotel which I found quirky in many respects. Space has been used well throughout and the staff are very helpful and friendly. Breakfast was adequate, nicely presented and I would certainly recommend this hotel for a short stay in Pisa. There are also plenty of eateries nearby and the entrance to the shops in the 'centro storico' is just around the corner. Piazza Garibaldi and the tower are a straight walk through the centre and over the River Arno Bridge. Well recommended.

Room Tip: Unable to comment as room was adequate for overnight stay only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Haag
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Good location is near the railwaystation. and 20 minutes walking from the centre.
Our room had no shower and toilet. The were outside in the hall.
Simple hotel with value for money for a short stay in pisa

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Missed train to Lucca (where we had booked) so found ourselves stuck at 10 at night in Pisa. 2 minute walk and we found La Torre. Night Porter incredibly helpful and friendly and kept the bar open for us until really late! Room was pretty basic with no ensuite but was clean, fresh and quiet and the shared facilities were directly opposite the room, so no complaints here. Plenty of pretty little sitting spaces dotted around and a lot of effort has gone into updating the public spaces. Breakfast wasn't bad by Italian standards (continental but more than enough choice) and the waitress and chap at reception were bright, breezy and pleasant. Great basic hotel if you just want to get your head down or be close to things (train and bus stations only 2 mins walk). Will be great when they get round to modernising the rooms. Thoroughly satisfied with this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and myself stayed at the La Torre last year and stayed in a room with no en suite
facilities (shared bathroom) and found the room very pleasant, basic but clean with a lovely
balcony. This year we stayed in an en suite room but it did not have a little balcony.
The en suite rooms do not have a balcony. The location is ideal for train travel with the
station just being round the corner. There are lots of bars and places to eat nearby and
we would stay again if in Pisa. The staff are very friendly and helpful.
Would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a clean value for money hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night on our way to Florence so the location just next to the train station was ideal. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. We were given a map and shown where to go for something to eat, the leaning tower etc. The walk to the leaning tower is about 15 mins from the hotel and it's very picturesque. Across the river and through some lovely, very Italian, streets. It's a great base to explore the city and get away from the crowds at the tower. The room was very clean with its own bathroom with shower. We had a smoking room (we don't smoke), it was ok for one night. We could have changed if we wanted. I would suggest asking for a non smoking room if you don't smoke. Other than that the hotel was great, breakfast is included which is a nice addition. Overall it's a good value for money and the staff are so friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Torre

Address: Via Cesare Battisti, 17, 56100 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 76 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Torre 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel La Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.