We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Torre

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Torre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Torre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cesare Battisti, 17, 56100 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Marsascala, Malta
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great value hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Me and my family went to Pisa for 2 nights, so we decided we only needed a small hotel to sleep. This hotel was the ideal choice. It is ideal for anyone stopping for a night, or planning to visit Tuscany.

The hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Pisa's Train Station. Rooms are small and practical, and have all basic amenities. Breakfast was decent and the hotel was very clean.

Great value for price paid!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    39
    32
    10
    5
See reviews for
15
38
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trondheim, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed here for the first night of our honeymoon as we were arriving into Pisa too late to travel out to our villa in the countryside. As it happens we were also booking on the city’s busiest night of the year – La Luminara, an awesome festival of lights which happens on the 16th June every year. So our options were limited, plus we didn´t want to spend too much as we were arriving late and planning to spend the evening out on the town anyway.

As it turned out we could not have hoped for a better hotel for our needs. 25 minute walk from the airport with out luggage (information at the airport had warned us that public transport was gridlocked that night, we didn´t notice it being that busy, but a nice walk anyway!) or 10 minutes on the bus, 10 minutes walk to the river and a very close to the station. The hotel was the opposite side of the river to the Tower, though actually we were glad for it as it was slightly less touristy and more authentic for it. The rooms were exceptionally clean and tidy, roomy and light. We had a shared bath but it was bang opposite our room so not a problem for a short stay. Breakfast was decent, with good coffee. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and even let us put our bags behind the desk the next day so we could go out and see the sights before we travelled out to our villa.

I am giving it four stars because I believe it exceeds its price bracket, which is what I think this website is all about. We paid €60, everything included. I would definitely use it again in similar circumstances.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorks
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Decent enough hotel for the money although would struggle to give it 4 "stars" which means Very Good because it wasn't but its more or less what you would expect from a near the train/bus station budget hotel. Probably worth 3.5 stars. The staff were friendly, great bathroom but the bedroom didn't match up to the quality of the enormous well finished off bathroom, just a bit dowdy really. We asked for a quiet room at the back which we got, worth doing because its on a busy street. Anyone visiting this hotel DO NOT under any circumstances visit the GRAMBIUS bar on the corner (in fairness the hotel receptionist warned us not to which was nice of him) it is a COMPLETE RIP-OFF, 6.20 Euro for a small (warm) beer and 5.00 Euro for a coke by far the dearest place we went in the city. For cheap beer and "entertainment" visit the Piazza Dele Vellavaglie (or something like that) for the nightly display of crusties,their Dogs, students, shady looking characters and bemused tourists. Grab a cheap beer, pull up a chair and watch the show. Also in contrast to the Grambius rip-off a very cheap but clean decent Chinese restaraunt near the hotel called XIN ZHON GUO (same street as hotel,turn left and look for the lanterns) is worth a visit when you're tired of Pizza and Ice Cream!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

if you need something basic and handy for the train station La Torre is for you. Pleasant enough staff, adequate rooms with good space, although hot water takes ages to come on. literally 5 mins from train station and 10 mins drive from airport.

from now on all hotel guests must pay tourist tax in Italy, in Pisa it is 1.50 euros per person per night (in cash).

Room Tip: rooms with a balcony can be quite noisy first thing in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

2 of my friends and I stayed in this hotel for a photography trip we took. When we arrived, we checked in & asked for a dinner recommendation, the man gave us the BEST recommendation, just down the street. (I forget the name, but we joked that it sounded like "scratch-your-nosey"--say that in an Italian accent & you should be able to find it)
Then the next night, we asked again & he recommended a place across the river. We walked & never found it, but upon coming out of our restaurant that we ate at, a marching band marched by & suddenly dramatic music & fireworks started going off. We had walked right into Pisa's new years eve celebration (in march). We thank our hotel for this experience! As a whole, service was wonderful. I only saw & met 2 people working there. So they became friends. Our rooms were nice & clean. Not anything particularly special, but it was safe & the walls were think so we couldn't hear people in the halls talking. The breakfast service was great!! We had just been to France where they only served bread, so this breakfast bar was wonderful! & so well presented. We enjoyed the food & the cappuccinos that we were served with. Lastly, the location was great. We could walk to restaurants, the train was RIGHT around the corner....and to get to the leaning tower, we paid our taxi to take us by the tower on the way to the airport as we left. We paid 15 euro, split three ways, jumped out of the car to take a few pictures in front & jumped back in the car. (what else are you going to do with a tower?) this is a perfect hotel at a great price. You better stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Torre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Torre

Address: Via Cesare Battisti, 17, 56100 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 82 Hotels in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Torre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Torre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Torre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.