We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The toscan experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostaria Le Repubbliche Marinare

Hostaria Le Repubbliche Marinare
Vicolo Del Ricciardi 8, 56125 Pisa, Italy
+39 050 20506
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 765 Restaurants in Pisa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $54
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Dessert
Description: We mainly offer our guests a typical maritime cuisine, combining tradition and innovation, but never altering our first choice and extremely fresh ingredients. Our main concern is to offer an excellent selection of local meat and cheese paired with a rich wine list (more than 700 varieties) mostly composed by organic, biodynamic, naturally made wines with no chemicals. Not to mention the spirits and liqueurs menu (more than 250 varieties) and a pictured dessert menu daily offering a choice of 15 desserts or more, all beautifully served by the art of food presentation. The availability of the room is about 45-50 people in one room fully accessible to wheelchair users. In summer places increase to about 65 because you can dine outdoors in the beautiful square in front of the room (square of the Ancient Maritime Republics baptized by the municipality at the request of Beppe) lit by torches and candles.
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The toscan experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Really good food, a little expensive but worth every penny. Listen the suggestion of the staff and learn about toscan dishes.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    537
    212
    66
    35
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“More than a meal-it's an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Unlike us we stumbled upon this little restaurant some 150 metres from our hotel in a side street. (we normally go to tripadvisor first) It was the find of our holiday so far! A fantastic menu that wanted us ordering about 6 courses instead of 3, quality food with ample portions and superb presentation, not only that but with certain courses a little adventure in the serving.......eg I ordered a whole baked fish (can highly recommend) and the bought it out on a trolley and carved and plated in front of me. Other meals in the restaurant were similar with their own twist. As expected in this quality restaurant it is also about the wine with an extensive list to peruse and to be prepared & poured in the appropriate manner.

In summary, certainly come to Pisa for the attractions but do yourself a favour and treat yourself to this great little restaurant. PS... We didn't book, I think we were lucky, within 15 minuets of sitting down it was full.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“At home hostaria at Pisa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

very at home
Of course it is italian but I feel some french taste.
Excellent sea food and wine.
You can use in any occasion with your family, friends.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“One of the best pasta dishes i've ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

A fantastic restaurant with very friendly and attentive staff. I recommend the Spaghetti of the house with Lobster (for 2) made with fresh pasta... it was superb! and the steak with Roquefort cheese. We also enjoyed a lovely bottle of Montepulciano, they have a extensive wine list. This was our favourite meal of the trip! great place to go for a special occasion, very romantic!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
345 reviews 345 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“A real delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

We ate dinner here and were all impressed by the quality of the food and service. Often referred to as the best fish restaurant in Pisa. We all had the lobster with spaghetti, which was devine, with starters and two decent bottles of wine the bill was just under 150€, which was not overly expensive.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hostaria Le Repubbliche Marinare also viewed

Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Hostaria Le Repubbliche Marinare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostaria Le Repubbliche Marinare, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.