We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but poor nights sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Helvetia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Helvetia to your Saves list
Helvetia
Via Don Gaetano Boschi, 31, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 80 Hotels in Pisa
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location but poor nights sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

The Helvetia is in a great location if you're there to see the leaning tower, minutes away from the site which is nice. Other than that there was just nothing great about this place unfortunately, check in and out were fine and the staff nice enough. The room itself was ok and clean. We were on the second floor and had a shared bathroom. The toilet was ok but cramped. The shower just didn't feel very clean and there was no place to put your stuff and no bin so people had left packaging, tissues etc in there which wasn't nice. The main problem though was it was so noisy. Even after a few drinks and with earplugs in I was disturbed so many times through the night, mostly seemed to be banging doors. For one night it was ok but nothing more than average unfortunately.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    121
    34
    17
    3
See reviews for
46
89
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Unassuming but very pleasant & welcoming; nice room & lovely bathroom; owners couldn't have been more helpful - and all this in a quiet little street a few minutes walk from the Piazza dei Miracoli: ideal to make the most of our brief stay. Price very reasonable - we weren't expecting such a nice place. Would definitely recommend & use it again, preferably for longer. Apparently the "new" ownership is simply the return of former owners after a break of a couple of years; & they are lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Was told not to expect much from Pisa, just to expect it as a nice place to stop between travel, what with it being a small city. However, despite it being incredibly busy with tourists, you can still get a great feel of the city and its architecture. Helvetia is lovely, the owners are really friendly and helpful, giving advice on where to eat etc. Speak good english too! We stayed on the third floor, didn't mind the stairs at all, and had a beautiful view. Facilities are comfortable and clean, would definitely go back.
If you are visiting Pisa, definitely worth going into the Baptistry next tot he tower, a staff member sings in there every half hour and it is completely breathtaking. The cathedral is beautiful too! A ticket for both is about 6 euros. Definitely worth taking some time to look around town, there are some beautiful restaurants and cafes.
very near the tower as well, and about a fifteen, ten minute walk to the train station - very handy!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Very great service and the couple in charge are exceptionally lovely, with great English. A great place to stay and I will be recommending it to everyone!
The cleanliness was impressive and the value for money even more so.
Will definatly be staying again if ever in Pisa!
Thank you again!
Rebecca

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I am due to stay in mid september for a few nights this will be the 5th time in 8 years that I have stayed in hotel Helvetia.That in itself says a lot about what i think about it. I know its under new ownership but from reading the recent reviews i can see its still great value for money. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family. It's clean, safe and in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Quite a walk from the train station if you have a heavy pack but then the rest of your stay you can visit the Leaning tower multiple times a day. We had a double room with private bathroom, very nice and refreshed daily. Staff were lovely and helpful with queries. Only down side is very hot in summer with fan above bed not a/c in room. Great wifi signal when working well, few glitches in our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel offered great value for money accommodation in a quiet street less than 5mn from the famous tower of Pisa. The beds were comfortable and we paid €10 extra to have an en-suite shower room. Still worked out t less than £50 a night per room at the height of the holiday season. Reception stayed open until midnight which is good for the evening flights fro London. The receptionists were very friendly and organised a parking permit for our car on arrival. We parked the car in the street outside the hotel without any problem. There was no breakfast served but the location is close to all the cafes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helvetiapisatower, Proprietario at Helvetia, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback, it's the second after the new running and we are pleased you had a good time with us. We hope to meet you again
Kind Regards
Michele&Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Helvetia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia

Address: Via Don Gaetano Boschi, 31, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands few meters from the Leaning Tower, close to piazza dei Cavalieri, in the middle of down town. 23 rooms, mostly with bath, and all with TV, telephone (incoming calls) and fan on the ceiling. Totally refurnished offers also a nice garden full of cactus and cosy breakfast rooms.Only telephone booking: we speak English, France and Spanish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Helvetia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Helvetia Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helvetia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.