We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waiter, great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Duomo

Ristorante Duomo
Via Roma 70, Pisa, Italy
050/56.23.52
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #361 of 701 Restaurants in Pisa
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Decatur, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great waiter, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our waiter Igli greeted us when we were perusing the menu and proceeded to treat us to a wonderful evening. He accomodated our food requests, and all the food was delicious. I had the calamari, and it was a memorable meal. Located very close to the Tower, prices were reasonable.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    27
    24
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pizza ok - service worst I have experienced ever, anywhere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

I headed along to this restaurant with my husband and son after our visit to the Tower of Pisa. It took a few minutes to seat the 3 of us. The main waiter (older guy) was abrupt and seemed like his customers were an inconvenience. He did not have a poker face that's for sure!

Our pizzas arrived and were ok (this is where the 1 is scored from). After our pizzas were delivered to our table (with help from us telling them they were ours...) that was it as far as service. What we witnessed after that was so bad it was almost funny. People left after waiting and trying to get service while said main waiter stood there watching the Grand Prix on his HD tv which I am now sure is just for him. 1 person who did not speak English was asking for help and he couldn't understand him and basically 'shooed' him away. His attitude soon changed when that person brought back about 50 guests easy for a group booking.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Try it! If it's not busy !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We went there about noon to have lunch before leaving pisa. We didnt want to go far so we chose restaurant based on TA and i like the carbonara and spaghetti seafood there.

It was not crowded when we were there but may br if it's busy, it might be like other comments. So take a
Chance !

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Was alright - nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

Went here and had the pasta which was nice. The pizza was only okay (they actually gave us the wrong toppings than what we ordered). It seems like a very busy restaurant which is because of its proximity to the tower. It was priced reasonably well. In conclusion, it was okay, nothing I will remember for long!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Don't, you will only end up being disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Having walked away from the immediate vicinity of the tower in search of somewhere to eat lunch we found this restaurant. It looked clean and tidy and offered a generous selection of dishes.

So after being shown to a table we then had to wait 10+ mins to order drinks, and only then because I approached the waiter for service. So the four of us ordered, some with starters, some not, from here it was downhill.

Two of us received our starters, one of the group received their main, and the other received the chips that they had ordered to go with their pizza. When asked the waiter was indifferent and denied there was a problem, "does it matter that you have them separately was the gist of it" He even refused to take the chips away to keep warm.

Then the mains arrived, they were all pizzas and all were dire. The dough was soggy, especially in the middle, the sauce on the base was just tinned tomatoes, no herbs, seasoning, puree etc.

Throughout the service was dreadful from all we engaged with, the food quality was dreadful and the attitude of our waiter was a disgrace.

Clearly they work on the basis that they are unlikely to see any customers again given the transient nature of the area, thus make sure the place looks nice, but there the attraction ends!!!

Avoid at all costs!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Duomo also viewed

 
Pisa, Province of Pisa
 

Been to Ristorante Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Duomo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.