We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay for budget travel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast
Via Lavagna, 22, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 232 Pisa B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“okay for budget travel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I normally do not write reviews, but for this I have to because I think it is overrated.

Pros:
1. close to the train station (5 mins walking); conveniently connected to the airport by a local bus (the stop is near the hotel)
2. the room is clean. cleaned every day.
3. free wifi internet very fast
4. the innkeeper speaks English.
5. AC in the room works well.
6. In a residential area, far from touristy place

cons
1. if you are not good at finding, this place is hard to find because there is no sign outside the building except street address.
2. if you donot call upon your arrival in Pisa, nobody is waiting for you in the site. My US cellphone does not work in europe, I had to find a pay-phone. There is no phone in the airport, and all the phones on the street requires prepaid phone card. BIG TROUBLE! I had to borrow a cell phone from a stranger on the street and call the innkeeper to come and open the door for me.
3. The inn-keeper is not present all the time. Do not expect any help. I donn't feel he is as friendly as other reviewers commented. He was either neutral or rude.
4. Towel smelled bad from beginning. No towel exchange during my stay!
5. The bathroom was >10 steps away from the room. Very inconvenient.
6. Bathroom smells of mold.
7. Breakfast... sigh.. at least, I expected coffee in Italy tasts better than maxwell instant coffee!
8. Depending on the room, it suffers from street noise at night/early morning..

Overall, if all you expect is a clean room with a private toilet, this place is for you. If you ask for a bit of more amenities and convenience, look for some other hotels..

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    12
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
21
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northallerton
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed in June 2010, three adults in a triple room (Silvigie) with ensuite on ground floor of traditional Italian apartment block. Arrived from airport by bus (1 Euro, six stops) and short walk down street opposite bus stop. B&B is unattended so you need to phone prior to arrival. Met by Chris the owners assistant who was very helpful. Room with one double and one single bed was clean, air conditioned with comfortable beds and clean ensuite (although the shower hanger was broken which made showering difficult). Other negative was noise from the street which the room fronted on to. Certainly adequate for a two night stay and reasonably located a 5 - 10 minute walk from the station and Corso Italia, the main shopping street. Due to early departure we arranged for the owner to provide a ride to the airport which costs 10 Euros.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

we were traveling with a young baby ( 8 months ) and found il giramondo very suited to our needs. It is located in a quiet area 5 minutes walk away pedestrian zone and the central station. It is very easily reached from the airport. It has a nice big balcony.
Nice with free 6-10 mbit wireless internet.

The Staff ( Chris) was very friendly and forthcomming and did everything to make our stay a pleasant one.
We therefore do not hessitate to reccomend this location to other travelers

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elche, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

The Island Vulcan caused problems for our trip back home, but this BB made our stay in Pisa very pleasant. Its close to the citycenter, its clean, have a good service and its great value for the money.

We will for sure stay there again next time we pass Pisa.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I stayed in the Bed and Breakfast Il Giramondo for two weeks. So they gave me a SPECIAL PRICE: 30 euro per night for a single room (which was in fact a room with two beds, so it was large for me) with bathroom (which was indeed not in my room, but exclusively for me) and breakfast. It was the best price I was offered in Pisa.
The quality of the breakfast depends on the number of guests: If there are many guests the breakfast is very rich, otherwise it is ok.
At the beginning of my stay I got a key for the hostel. This was very good and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alearco, Proprietario at Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2010
Thank you so much for your review. We hope to have you as our costomer again when you'llm get back in Pisa.

Alearco Bettarini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

When we first got to the hotel, no one was there to meet us and they'd just left a phone number for us to call which was a huge pain given that we'd been traveling for the past 20 hours and didn't have a phone with us. So, we had to haul all of our luggage to find a pay phone and then wait for them to come let us in. Then, they didn't actually have a credit card machine at the hotel, so we had to go with them to another hotel to pay with credit card. So, the service could have been better.

Having said that, though, the owners were very kind once they showed up! They packed us a breakfast since we were leaving early the next morning. The room was clean (with hilarious leopard print sheets!). The bathroom was a bit weird because the shower was in the middle of the bathroom with only shower curtains on either side (no ledge or anything), making it so the whole bathroom got wet when you showered. But, the bathroom was still always clean somehow!
The B&B is not far from the train station, which was nice. All in all, the service could have been better, but they were very friendly and it was a decent stay at an affordable price.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Lavagna, 22, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and Tingo so you can book your Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.