We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convinient place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast
Via Lavagna, 22, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 220 Pisa B&B and Inns
Rhodes, Greece
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very convinient place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have been staying in Giramondo last year during our trip to Italy. Everything was organized perfectly, even the manager was in holiday. We found the house very easy and very close with train station, just 5 min walk. The center was also very close. The house was very clean. I liked the room everything organized well and in it's place. The kitchen was warm. I liked very much the caffe smelled the house very nice... the fridge was full with food :-). We met a singer group in the kitchen and that was a nice surprise in the morning. I would suggest this place for everybody.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    24
    13
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
19
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My cousin and I were the only customers the night we stayed there. We were escorted to another property of the house owner which was two blocks away and even prettier with the same price. The decoration of the room and the whole house is very very artistic and the living room is huge! The lovely host - sweet Italian grandma speaking a little English with strong accent:) actually knocked on our door to ask us to stay and play in the living room as she saw us staying in our little room for like an hour. We had to leave early like 7:00 am to catch our flight the next morning. As we knew the breakfast is only provided from 8:00 to 10:00, we asked her not to get early and prepare the breakfast for us. But she got up!!! And the breakfast was grand!!! I mean, it's only two of us, but we have to take 4 pictures to include everything was provided! I would strongly recommend this hostel for everyone.

Room Tip: I read the reviews about this B&B before and saw complains about the communication. But I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location, hospitality, free wifi and cleaness. The right place where to stay for business reasons or tourism.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

I stayed at this B&B for 2 weeks in a bedroom with private bathroom. The owners welcomed me personally upon arrival, they were extremely helpful, friendly and generous, trying to communicate as best as we could providing that I don't speak italian.
The B&B is spotless. The bathroom was small but with all the comfort and very well kept. Breakfast in the morning was tasty and with a good variety (toast, cheese, ham, sweet cakes, coffee, juice, etc), served in the kitchen in a very familiar environment.
While it's true that this B&B is not in the city centre, it's only a 15 minutes walk to the leaning tower of Pisa. The train station is nearby but the area in itself is not a dodgy one at all. I came back to the B&B every night pass midnight and never had a problem or felt unsafe.
Another good point to note is that it provides a good Wi-Fi connection, free of charge.
I highly recommend this B&B if you are going to Pisa and wish to experience the italian culture and hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed here for a night this month. Was surprised to receive an e-mail a few days beforehand telling me to ring the hotel half an hour before my arrival time, since it wasn't routinely staffed, but dropped them an email with the appropriate time anyway. Nobody present on arrival, so I called the number provided only to receive a Spanish voicemail message. Fortunately, the Tourist Information Centre in Pisa were able to help - I can't thank them enough for their assistance - and made contact with the management.

The lady who welcomed me was warm and friendly, but I was most struck by the two signs on arrival - one asking guests to pay immediately on arrival, and another asking for positive reviews on TripAdvisor! The first led me to wonder what sort of guests the hotel was expecting, especially as they had already taken card details at the time of reservation. The room itself was incredibly dated, and the 'private external' bathroom situated at the other side of the B&B entirely. You had to walk through the shower to reach the toilet, a novel arrangement to say the least. There was a strong smell of disinfectant; I wasn't sure whether to be concerned or relieved.

On my return to the hotel after an evening in Pisa, I was surprised to meet a couple in the same situation as I had been previously - they had to ask at a restaurant to make contact with the B&B's management. Apparently guests arriving late had been known to ring random properties in the building at midnight in an attempt to gain access to the rooms they had reserved.

This hotel could be great - it's well situated in the centre of Pisa and structurally sound. But as it is, I can't honestly give it more than one star - had I been 45 minutes later in Pisa, by which time the Tourist Information Centre would have closed, I would not have been able to check in. But based on the quality of the hotel, perhaps that would have been an advantage.

Room Tip: Avoid the 'private external' bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The main reason I stayed here was because they seemed the most amenable to late check-ins (replied to emails very quickly). In additional the location was close to both the train station and tourist areas and the price was great (40euro per night). I paid the extra 10euro to have someone pick me from the airport as I was a female traveling alone late at night. This went very smoothly despite the fact that I speak no Italian and he spoke no English! He was very friendly and pointed out the train station on the way, 'explained' about the keys, rooms, breakfast etc and gave me a bottle of water for my room.

I stayed in the Paris room, which I thought was quite big and and a huge bed all to myself! There's no phone, but I was happy to have free wifi. TV and AC was good too. There's only the one table in the breakfast room, so be prepared to interact with other guests! This was actually quite nice though as I was on my own. The food itself was fine... nothing too extravagant but lots of choice of breads, cakes, yogurts etc.

The only downside was having a shared bathroom, but I was well aware of this when I booked and thought it was a good trade-off for the piece of mind that I'd be able to get checked-in smoothly late at night. I just made sure to get up early to avoid anyone else. I think there is only hot shower in the mornings though, there wasn't any when I checked-in. Also I didn't realize that they don't have a card machine so had to pay by cash.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

The Cairo room was amazing. Emy made our stay most enjoyable using good english. Close to railway station (300m) and 15 minute walk to leaning tower. Recommend to anybody. 60 - 65 euro per night for a couple is great value. Shower was great, good stream and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was plentiful including toast, a first for us in Italy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast

Address: Via Lavagna, 22, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giramondo Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.