We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Under The Tower

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pisa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Relais Under The Tower
Save
You added Relais Under The Tower to your Saves list
Via Santa Maria 165, 56126 Pisa, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 243 Pisa B&B and Inns
Turku, Finland
1 review
“love it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

we all love the villa under the tower and anytime when we are coming in italy, we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    9
    7
    9
    27
See reviews for
14
17
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

They did not have our booking handy - someone had handled bookings separately so we had to wait 20 minutes whilst it was sorted. We were in the annex, which is a lot further down the road - view of building site opposite and the room was just a bit lower than pavement, so not very private with window open.
It is not a hotel, it is just Bed (and no breakfast) and does not have the facilities it states - no restaurant, office etc. It is just rooms within one floor of a building with other tenants. There are no communal areas in either the main part of the Relais or the annex, just a short corridor with the rooms off it. No bathroom toiletries and only one towel each. Manager only turns up on site if you ring him and wait half an hour.
It was very disappointing for the price in comparison with other B&B accommodation in Pisa that holiday. Royal Victoria was much cheaper, including breakfast and had very helpful staff available at all times.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

we booked this hostel before seeing the negative reviews so were expecting the worst. It was however not too bad and great value! rooms were fine and we were worried about having to share with people but we were given a twin. very central location and basic. if you want a hotel experience however i wouldnt recommend. but very good if you are on a budget and only want to stay a few nights!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We found this hotel easily, very central and we had high hopes. We arrived at around 8pm and rang the bell. No response. We rang again. Then we rang the telephone number from the booking form we had. The guy wasnt even at the hotel! We had to wait for him to get there from whereever to check us in. Card machine didnt work, so we then had to go to the bank to get the cash. Room was underwhelming, very basic and a bit shabby looking. We didnt get shown around and the service, overall was poor. I am not usually a one to say that, but after recieving such warm and friendly service from an even cheaper b and b in Florence (where we even had breakfast for less than the price of our shabby room here!) it has to be said. However we were only spending one night here, which I was thankful for. The bathroom was ok at best. Overall, 'ok' sums it up. I wouldnt stay here again though.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

I don't mind staying in hostels, in fact, sometimes I prefer them and this one is extremely well-located just a few steps from the tower. It is in a nice area to meander and has many restaurants, including some highly recommended ones. However, nowhere on their website does it say you must contact them prior to arriving in order to have someone meet you at the front door. It says check-in from 4-12 but does not state there is NO PLACE in which to check-in. We arrived around 9 pm with 3 kids and all of us tired from a long journey only to find no reception area and only a phone number on a plaque on the wall out on the street. We had no mobile phone and only managed to have a room for the night because some Dutch guys upstairs in the hostel pushed a button that let us in the front door. They were as clueless as we as to where any hostel staff were. We picked a room, grabbed some keys and basically self-served our way through the night.

The room itself was 2 twins pushed together and 2 fold-up cots. (Other rooms had bunks, also) We had a room with a private bath which was adequate and fairly clean. The linens were clean but the coverlets were old and dingy. This is a hostel with a hostel mentality so you must accept some less than perfect conditions. We did not use the shared kitchen so cannot review those amenities.

We only stayed one night and for the short period, easy taxi access, and closeness to the tower it was fine. Had I know it was truly a hostel and not a bed & breakfast or hotel I might have searched elsewhere for a true hostel and perhaps found a slightly cheaper alternative with a full-staffed reception. Arriving in an unfamiliar city at night with small kids and no room open to you is not a welcoming experience.

Room Tip: Call ahead to be met and given keys
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

We stayed here because the price was right and it is an undeniably good location. However, our room was in a separate, isolated building which smelled like sewage backup. We couldn't really complain to the owner because he basically gave us a key, took our money, and disappeared. Perhaps the worst thing was that there were about four other rooms on our floor and all of them used the same key so we felt pretty insecure, and a light switch to our room was wired to the room next door, which we found out when our next door neighbours arrived late at night. Don't stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

In general we looked for a hotel to stay before our flight the next day.
We did not expect much and and our expectation were fullfilled.
We parked our car in front of the hotel after giving the hotel clerk our license plate number in order to be able to park (it needs to be registered with the police)
Obviously he forgot, since the next morning i had a parking ticket. We went to the hotel clerk who promised us to clear this up.
4 month later i was charged 30 EUR for the parking ticket.
6 month later i was charged another 144 EUR for driving to the hotel.

Since i am sure that i will not get my money back (the hotel does not seem to be very reliable) be aware to not drive there.

Aside from that - the room did not have (as advertised) a bathroom in the room, but on the hallway - to be shared with other guests.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pisa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Amalfitana
Hotel Amalfitana
#17 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Helvetia
Helvetia
#9 of 68 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Francesco
Hotel Francesco
#34 of 68 in Pisa
3.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel San Ranieri
Hotel San Ranieri
#1 of 68 in Pisa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Relais dell'Orologio
0.1 mi away
Galileo
Galileo
#50 of 243 in Pisa
4.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Under The Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Under The Tower

Address: Via Santa Maria 165, 56126 Pisa, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Pisa > Pisa
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 243 B&Bs / Inns in Pisa
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Relais Under The Tower Hotel Pisa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Under The Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.