We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, particularly if you are driving” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Luca Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Luca Palace Hotel to your Saves list
San Luca Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Paolino 103, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
164 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Excellent, particularly if you are driving”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the San Lucca Palace Hotel and were very pleased in all aspects of the hotel. Our room was quite large, very comfortable and very quiet. The bathroom area was also large and well appointed. The location is excellent, easy to drive to, just inside the walls, off the Piazzale Verdi. We could walk to all the sights and Lucca is a very pleasnt city for strolling. In addition, the bus for Pisa leaves from the Piazzale Verdi and drops you off right at the Duomo in Pisa which is very convenient, far better than taking the train or driving.
Service was exceptional. We were met at the parking and our luggage taken to the hotel. My travelling companion had trouble with the free wi-fi and the staff spent over an hour trying to help. (The problem was our fault) When they couldn't correct the problem, the manager brought us one of the hotel's laptops for our use while we were staying at the hotel. They also helped with restaurant recommendations and reservations.
Tip: If you have a car, make sure you follow the hotel's instructions and drive to the parking whose entrance is off the Piazale Verdi. Under no circumstances should you try to drive to the hotel's address. It is less than 20 metres from the parking to the hotel.
Tip: Many people do Lucca as a day trip from Florence. Consider staying in Lucca instead. The city is interesting and more peaceful, and restaurants are better value than in Florence. It also makes a good base for a day trip to Pisa.

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe double and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    75
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
67
198
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johnston, Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We only had one night in Lucca, and arrived late in the day. The town kind of closes down at night and it's character changes, so I wish we had had more time there. That said, the Palace was very clean, in a good location, the staff were kind and parking was available inside the walls for 10 Euro a night...not very far at all from the hotel. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room that faced the street and noise was not a problem. Lucca seems to shut down a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After completing a 17 day tour with a fairly packed schedule, we arrived at Lucca for a two day break before beginning the next leg of our journey. The hotel was an oasis of calm and quiet after the bustle of Venice and we appreciated the large, well appointed room and the central location. The welcome was warm and attentive and the desk staff were helpful with restaurant tips and directions. The location inside the city walls allowed us to visit the main attractions - the walk around the walls, the Pfanner Palazzo, the botanic gardens, the Guinigi tower and several churches - very easily. The quality of the hotel breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice and the leisure to linger over coffee. There is a nice little bar/ coffee shop for evening aperitifs, too.

An excellent restaurant to try is da Nonna Clara (ilristoro@hotmail.it) which specialises in the regional food and wines.

Lucca itself is a beautiful, relaxing place to walk and enjoy the views to the mountains as well as the parks and gardens which surround the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at the start of April for two nights with my partner and our 14 month old daughter. A great small hotel - service professional and friendly throughout, large well appointed room nicely finished (had also set up a beautiful and cosy travel cot on arrival) and a good buffet breakfast with plenty of choice.
Position is good just within city walls and everywhere within the city is a short walk. Wouldn't hesitate to stop here again if in Lucca.
Didn't know what to expect from Lucca but a compact, beautiful city - would recommend spending a few days here and in the surrounding area if visiting Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the San Luca Palace only one night, but it was a very good (althoug short) experience. Our room was spacious, elegant and confortable. Further, the receptionists were very nice and always cooperative. Although the hotel is in the city center, it has parking available for 10Euros a day. If we visit Luca again we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hills, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

but one of the best hotels in northern Tuscany. My wife and I spent a wonderful, restful night at the San Luca Palace. It is very well-located, inside the wall with parking (!!) and quite close to a ramp that leads up onto the wall so that, in a few minutes, you will be using the hotel's bikes to travel around this charming, historic city. The staff's friendliness and smart advice is particularly noteworthy, and Simon at the front desk would be a standout at the best hotel in Rome, Paris or New York. He's a gem.
The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and quiet. This is a can't miss selection. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel in Lucca - close to parking area, yet in the center, really nice people and fantastic breakfast. Going back in a few weeks during the olive oil fest and can't wait to stay in one of those spacious rooms again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ilaria
Hotel Ilaria
#7 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Alexander
3.0 mi away
Albergo Villa Marta
Albergo Villa Marta
#5 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Albergo Celide
Albergo Celide
#16 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 610 reviews
0.5 mi away
A Palazzo Busdraghi, Residenza d'Epoca
2.4 mi away
Villa La Principessa
Villa La Principessa
#15 of 56 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Luca Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luca Palace Hotel

Address: San Paolino 103, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#1 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Business Hotel in Lucca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Luca Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superior 4-star hotel is situated in the beautiful historic centre of the magnificent city of Lucca, within the boundaries of the city's ancient original walls. The hotel offers 26 luxurious, elegant, air conditioned double rooms and suites. Each of the well-appointed and comfortable rooms has satellite TV and an area in which you can relax or get some work done. Every room features an internet connection point offering internet access free of charge.Parking available with extra cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your San Luca Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Palace Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luca Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.