We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and restful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Luca Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added San Luca Palace Hotel to your Saves list
San Luca Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Paolino 103, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and restful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

After completing a 17 day tour with a fairly packed schedule, we arrived at Lucca for a two day break before beginning the next leg of our journey. The hotel was an oasis of calm and quiet after the bustle of Venice and we appreciated the large, well appointed room and the central location. The welcome was warm and attentive and the desk staff were helpful with restaurant tips and directions. The location inside the city walls allowed us to visit the main attractions - the walk around the walls, the Pfanner Palazzo, the botanic gardens, the Guinigi tower and several churches - very easily. The quality of the hotel breakfast was excellent, with plenty of choice and the leisure to linger over coffee. There is a nice little bar/ coffee shop for evening aperitifs, too.

An excellent restaurant to try is da Nonna Clara (ilristoro@hotmail.it) which specialises in the regional food and wines.

Lucca itself is a beautiful, relaxing place to walk and enjoy the views to the mountains as well as the parks and gardens which surround the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    60
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
56
168
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed at the start of April for two nights with my partner and our 14 month old daughter. A great small hotel - service professional and friendly throughout, large well appointed room nicely finished (had also set up a beautiful and cosy travel cot on arrival) and a good buffet breakfast with plenty of choice.
Position is good just within city walls and everywhere within the city is a short walk. Wouldn't hesitate to stop here again if in Lucca.
Didn't know what to expect from Lucca but a compact, beautiful city - would recommend spending a few days here and in the surrounding area if visiting Tuscany.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the San Luca Palace only one night, but it was a very good (althoug short) experience. Our room was spacious, elegant and confortable. Further, the receptionists were very nice and always cooperative. Although the hotel is in the city center, it has parking available for 10Euros a day. If we visit Luca again we would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hills, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

but one of the best hotels in northern Tuscany. My wife and I spent a wonderful, restful night at the San Luca Palace. It is very well-located, inside the wall with parking (!!) and quite close to a ramp that leads up onto the wall so that, in a few minutes, you will be using the hotel's bikes to travel around this charming, historic city. The staff's friendliness and smart advice is particularly noteworthy, and Simon at the front desk would be a standout at the best hotel in Rome, Paris or New York. He's a gem.
The rooms are spacious, tastefully decorated and quiet. This is a can't miss selection. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We absolutely loved this hotel in Lucca - close to parking area, yet in the center, really nice people and fantastic breakfast. Going back in a few weeks during the olive oil fest and can't wait to stay in one of those spacious rooms again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in the San Luca Palace, booking our room through Expedia. Very clean with a great bathroom and wonderful shower. Lots of space in the room and we loved the desk and table and chairs. Lots of closet space. Free WIFI worked well in the room.

It was both an advantage and disadvantage being near the bus station just outside the walls. We were awakened every morning with people laughing and talking as they came in groups off the buses into the city right below our window but this is no reflection on the hotel quality. Just ask for a room in the back.

We would have given this hotel a higher rating if the bed and pillows were more comfortable but they were quite hard. Our fault for not asking for different pillows which would have helped. We would have liked BBC or another English news channel on TV.

Front desk staff was wonderful but the waiter in the breakfast room hovered over us and was a little intense removing plates and utensils the second we finished with them, but the breakfast was very good.

There is a refrigerator with a mini bar in the room. We were charged 24 Euro but never took anything from the bar. We did store our own water in it. It could have been a pressure sensitive system so maybe they assumed we took something each time we removed a bottle of water. But when we told the front desk staff we did not use the mini bar, they graciously removed it from our bill.

Location is perfect and the hotel was easy to find. Along with the bus station, there is a Tourist Information Center just outside the walls. We highly recommend the San Luca Palace.

Room Tip: Choose a room that does not face Via San Paolino if you are a light sleeper. We stayed in room 10 w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by our travel agent at AMEX, we were extremely happy with the stay. The hotel staff is awesome, always available to help and go above and beyond. The rooms are extremely large for Italy and even US standards, also very clean. It is located in the city walls, a short walk to everything you want to explore around the city.
The only suggestion I have for the hotel is to find a new approach to internet access, you are given a code to use which is common. However, every time you close the device (phone and laptop) you have to log back in again. It requires you to hang onto this small piece of paper during your stay- and a different one is required for each device. Again, doesn't impact the overall experience but its a bit clunky compared to all other hotel experiences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Luca Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luca Palace Hotel

Address: San Paolino 103, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#1 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Business Hotel in Lucca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Luca Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superior 4-star hotel is situated in the beautiful historic centre of the magnificent city of Lucca, within the boundaries of the city’s ancient original walls. The hotel offers 26 luxurious, elegant, air conditioned double rooms and suites. Each of the well-appointed and comfortable rooms has satellite TV and an area in which you can relax or get some work done. Every room features an internet connection point offering internet access at an additional cost.Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your San Luca Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Palace Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luca Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.