We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in Lucca!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of San Luca Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added San Luca Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
San Luca Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   San Paolino 103, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Lucca!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel was recommended to us by our travel agent at AMEX, we were extremely happy with the stay. The hotel staff is awesome, always available to help and go above and beyond. The rooms are extremely large for Italy and even US standards, also very clean. It is located in the city walls, a short walk to everything you want to explore around the city.
The only suggestion I have for the hotel is to find a new approach to internet access, you are given a code to use which is common. However, every time you close the device (phone and laptop) you have to log back in again. It requires you to hang onto this small piece of paper during your stay- and a different one is required for each device. Again, doesn't impact the overall experience but its a bit clunky compared to all other hotel experiences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    57
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
52
144
11
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Izmir, Turkey
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Rooms are quite large and comfortable. It is really a good relaxation after having an extreme prices in Venice with small rooms. The facility is managed very well and clean. Breakfast was good. We stayed in late April, out of season that we booked on the way to Lucca from Pisa. In the city walls and easy walk to see around the old town. It has parking next door which is also helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed at a room facing to the main pedestrian street. The bathroom was large as the room. I dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

In my work I travel a lot and I have stayed in hundreds of hotels - and the San Luca Palace easily ranks among the best.

Located within the city walls but close to the bus station, it could hardly be easier to get to or better situated for access to the centre of town.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful (with very good English), the breakfast fantastic, and our room was very comfortable and quiet.

For a relaxing visit to the charming city of Lucca we couldn't have found a better place to stay than the San Luca Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The staff, the location & the breakfast were all top notch. The hotel is located just inside the west gate to the old city and has parking. We got a huge room with 3 beds. Very clean. The breakfast was included and great quality. The staff was helpful in every way. Even helped us book out next Trip Advisor hotel in Como.

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were traveling with our 4,6 and 8 year old. Great accommodations for all of us in one room. Staff was wonderful. Restaurant recommendations were great too. Great location next to the ancient wall and near all the shopping and restaurants.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I too cannot praise this hotel highly enough. It's ideally located on the western edge of the walled inner city with easy access to the must-do walk around the walls and the other delights which Lucca has to offer. The rooms are large and comfortable, the bathrooms modern and well appointed, the staff unfailingly helpful. The hotel is excellent value - the whole of Lucca is, really - and there's a cosy bar to enjoy a drink or two in the evening. The hotel does not have a restaturant which is no hardship as you are spoiled for choice outside.

One review has described the breakfast as "nothing special". If you keep in mind that Italians do not really do cooked breakfasts in the English or American way, you will be more than pleased with the scope and quality. It's Italian, not "International" and all the better for it.

All in all, an ideal base for our stay in Lucca and to explore Tuscany beyond. When we go back, it will be my automatic choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The location is great. It's a very short walk to the wall that surrounds the historical part of city, which to me is the most charming part of Lucca. Also a short walk to anywhere else in the historical center.

The rooms are nicely decorated and contain some nice touches. Bathroom is a nice size and good showers. Wifi worked well in the room.

Breakfast was typical, nothing amazing.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Luca Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Luca Palace Hotel

Address: San Paolino 103, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Lucca
#1 Family Hotel in Lucca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
#3 Business Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — San Luca Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This superior 4-star hotel is situated in the beautiful historic centre of the magnificent city of Lucca, within the boundaries of the city’s ancient original walls. The hotel offers 26 luxurious, elegant, air conditioned double rooms and suites. Each of the well-appointed and comfortable rooms has satellite TV and an area in which you can relax or get some work done. Every room features an internet connection point offering internet access at an additional cost.Parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your San Luca Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Luca Palace Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Luca Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.