We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation in great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Zia Beppina

Casa Zia Beppina
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Zia Beppina
Via Luigi Fornaciari 64, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 52 Specialty lodging in Lucca
derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation in great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

This accomodation ticks all the boxes - gloriously spacious, comfortable, clean, in a peaceful, friendly area and close to the remarkable and beautiful city of Lucca! The owners, Aldo and Cinzia made us feel extremely welcome without being in the slightest way obtrusive. Just round the corner from the apartment is the most fantastic restaurant/cafe - friendly people, great food and extremely reasonable! You also have a well equipped supermarket within easy walking distance. And to top it all, the city walls of Lucca are a short walk away!
Great base for exploring this beautiful area! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
STRANRAER, SCOTLAND
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

This was our seventh trip to Tuscany and our fifth stay at Casa Zia Beppina in Lucca; this time we travelled with extended family, including three teenagers. Everyone enjoyed our stay at the apartments.
A warm welcome from Aldo, Cinzia and their daughters set the tone for the 9 day stay in the apartments; we had both the top floor apartment and the garden apartment.
The apartments are spacious, comfortable and well equipped with the view from the front and side terraces offering sight of the hills and mountains near Lucca.
The apartments are ideally situated for local amenities, with a local restaurant and large supermarket a couple of minutes away and the city walls a 10 minute walk. The chance to venture further afield is offered by easy access to the autostrada or the nearby railway station.
We will be back.

Allan, Stranraer

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed on the upper floor of this huge villa with another couple while we toured Lucca and other near by towns for a week.

Key Points:
- great location (15 minute walk from old city walls and 20 minutes from the train station, groceries and a good take out restaurant are one block away)
- spacious and well furnished
- great views
- Aldo the owner was very helpful prior and during the stay
- there was a washer but no dryer
- no air conditioning

Bottom line: excellent value when split with another couple - would recommend this place but not during the summer due to no air conditioning.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

I stayed here for 18 days. Situated in a busy, well served neighbourhood, 10 mins walk outside of Lucca's walls, it is a pleasant and safe walk to the centre. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable, with a double bedroom, to which a single bed or cot can be added, on request. It has a garden and well equipped kitchen. The owner, Aldo, was very helpful and provided invaluable local information. The apartment is well situated for both bus and train travel and I should be very happy indeed to revisit in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

An excellent choice for those on a budget and/or looking for value for money. We had the Magnolia apartment which is the smaller of the two available from Aldo and Cynzia, our charming, helpful but unobtrusive hosts.

The apartment is part of a detached villa situated outside Lucca's walls about 10 or 15 minutes walk from the centre and handily located for the rail station. It is modern, well equipped and has access to a small garden (handy for al fresco meals). Ideal for a couple although Aldo and Cynzia can provide an additional single bed where necessary.

Shopping for essentials is not a problem. There are 2 supermarkets within 5 minutes walking distance. For those disinclined to eat in Lucca itself there is a basic but very good value cafe/trattoria just around the corner. We used it a lot.

All in all, highly recommended for those, like ourselves, on a budget and looking to maximise the bang for their buck. The only downside was the lack of satellite television. Only Italian TV in the Magnolia apartment, I'm afraid. But this was more than compensated for by the quality of the facilities, the helpfulness of our hosts.and the charm of Lucca itself. A super place for chilling out.

In short, highly recommended. We would not hesitate to stay there again if/when we return to beautiful Lucca.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2007

We stayed in the magnolia apartment, which was clean, a good size and nicely decorated. The apartment is in a pleasant part of town about 3/4 km form the walled center, 10 -15 minute walk. We often walked back from the center late at night and always felt safe.

The owners were really friendly and provided us with a cot free of charge. I would not hesitate in recommending this apartment to friends. One of the biggest advatnages of staying here is that it is substantially cheaper than staying inside the walled city.

Lucca is a great place to stay lots of good resturants etc however if your going for the nigthlife you may want to reconsider its definetly not a party town. As a base Lucca is great, the apartment is 10 minutes from the train station; with Pisa 20 mins by train and Florence just over an hour (I think the bus may actually be quicker).

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

Casa Via Beppina apartment in Lucca
The homeowners of this lovely home offer three apartments in the lower levels of their home. Both Cinzia and Aldo speak English and are very accomodating. The apartment we stayed in was the Magnolia. There were two of us traveling (friends) and Aldo added an extra bed for us. There was wifi internet in the home, and the apartment was a short walk into town. A fabulous bar (Via Viale) was on the way to town and offered both cafe and ensalatas at a fraction of the prices inside the city walls of Lucca. The apartment was immaculate, airly, light, private, and perfect! A nice sized refrigerator for the food from the local market (a block or 2 away), nice garden with table and chairs for relaxing or eating food we brought back. Price for one week in Sept 2007 was HALF the price of an apartment within city walls. Please email with questions, I happily recommend this place, location, price, and owners were ideal.

  • Liked — Clean, airy, location
  • Disliked — Everything was perfect!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Zia Beppina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Zia Beppina

Address: Via Luigi Fornaciari 64, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 52 Specialty lodging in Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Zia Beppina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Casa Zia Beppina to your Saves list