We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stipino

Hotel Stipino
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Stipino to your Saves list
Hotel Stipino
Via romana 95, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quaint charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

This was the first hotel we spotted when we arrived in Lucca. We wanted a room for one night after sightseeing. The double room for one night was 50 euros. We were offered breakfast for 10 euros but decided to go to one of several nearby really good cafes instead. Within walking distance of the walled town which was useful as parking at the hotel saved time & money trying to find a space in the town.

Walking into the lobby felt like going back to the 1950's, with the old fashioned decor and furnishings and there was a strong smell of garlic. Our room was on the first floor at the end of a very dark corridor but was a pleasant surprise. Although it was a bit musty, opening the doors onto the tiny veranda soon aired the room out. The decor and furniture, although old, was spotless and the bathroom was pristine. The towels were very thin but there were toiletry sachets and a hairdryer. There was a small flat screen TV.

The hotel is right on the main road and traffic noise is very bad at night even in our room at the back of the building. The two gentleman that manned the front desk were very sweet & courteous. All in all good value, basic, clean hotel with an authentic old Italian feel. OK for one or two nights - with earplugs!

Room Tip: Try to get one at the back to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
9
33
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

The staff here was very friendly and greeted us twice every time we left or arrived at the hotel, nothing to complain here.
The rooms were big and clean, but smelled stale. Some room's personal bathrooms are located somewhere else in the hall (not directly accessible from the room). The bathroom had a bad smell to it, of old pipes, but was clean.
The center of Lucca is within 1,5 km and the train station at 1,6 km, so all at walking distance.

Overall review: Good place to stay for a budget trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We appreciated the great value of this hotel, the friendliness of the staff and its location - only a 10 minute walk to the old town centre within the walls of Lucca.
However the hotel is old-fashioned and in need of renovation. The room and bathroom are small and rather spartan and the the air-conditioning could not be regulated.
Breakfast was adequate, but at 5 euros I would not expect anything better.

If you are travelling by car, this is a good place to stay because there is free and abundant parking and as I mentioned before its close to the old town where cars are not permitted. If you are arriving by other means then chose a hotel in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel has a good location around 20 min from the railway station and 10 from the center of the city. Staff were very polite, helpful and discrete. The room was very clean, but had a weird smell...clearly a religious hotel as i was having the bible next to my bed. Also the sound proofing was poor but did not really bother us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

If you want modern ,clinical, minimalist, hi-tech, find somewhere else! This hotel is complete retro Kitsch but with its own unique charm. Its like walking into a wonderful 1950'/60's film set. The two gentleman who run this hotel were totally charming, welcoming and helpful. This was a little gem of a hotel which not everyone will get. A unique quirky experience. The decor is very old but classic.
We stayed in room 5 which had its own bathroom, everything (though dated) worked perfectly as expected. The hotel was spotlessly clean and well looked after. Breakfast was typical continental but my wife liked her Twinings Prince of Wales tea served on genuine 1970's hostess trollies. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will book again next time we go to Lucca. It has a large carpark which was great. Price very reasonable. Its literally 7 mins walk from Elisa gate in Lucca , superb location. Enjoyed our retro experience, very nice indeed!

Room Tip: Room at back away from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a very dated hotel with poor sound proofing, noise from doors closing disturbed us in the night.. Bathrooms are very basic, shower was miserable and breakfast at 5 Euros was the worst we had in a 6 hotel trip. If you use the hotel visit the patisserie just down the road and have coffee etc there, far cheaper and far nicer. The hotel is however very convenient for walking into Lucca, approx 7 minutes and has plenty of private parking. If you visit be sure to go to 'Bonta' the gelateria which is a couple of minutes walk away. The hotel staff were very helpful giving out maps etc and recommended a good pizzeria nearby when we were too tired to walk back into town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorks
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is charming the owner is very polite and helpful,although the room was basic it was spotlessly clean and functional for the price,the hotel is a 5 minute walk from the town with a patisserie and supermarket 2 minutes away,all in all a very good budget hotel which we will not hesitate recommending to our family and friends just to add Lucca is a charming unspoilt town the people are lovely

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stipino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stipino

Address: Via romana 95, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 57 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Stipino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stipino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.