We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel in the Crown of Lucca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais San Lorenzo

Save Saved
You added Relais San Lorenzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais San Lorenzo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cesare Battisti, 15, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 57 hotels in Lucca
Kamloops, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Jewel in the Crown of Lucca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a most wonderful stay in Danielle's boutique hotel. It is in the heart of Lucca. The hotel is within walking distance of anything you would need. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and served in an historic dining room. Danielle is a most gracious hostess and her staff are very caring. Danielle is also a great source of information about how to access resources. Our stay at Relais San Lorenzo was truly wonderful. We would recommend this hotel to any travellers who welcome the flavour of architecture and history and a peaceful and relaxing end to busy days.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms and we did not see all of them, but the hotel was built in the 1300's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    26
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
70
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights from late March to early April 2013 over Easter and so glad we chose Relais San Lorenzo. Situated on a floor of a beautiful old Italian building that has been tastefully renovated. We were unexpectedly upgraded to the larger room with separate reading area and it's own outside private patio/balcony area. Wow! What a wonderful surprise and space! Daniela the owner and host was fabulous… nothing was too much trouble and she was most helpful with local suggestions on food, wine and sights to see. It was my partner's birthday whilst we stayed here and after a great dinner out we came back to a lovely bunch of flowers Daniela had left for her… a lovely touch!

Breakfast was great… lots of food to choose from, including eggs if you want them. Coffee was great! The breakfast room is in the common central lounge area with big fireplace that must be great on a cold Winters day… this room had plenty of books to read, and every night a decanter of cognac is left out for a quiet pre-sleep drink if wanted.

Great position with everything within Lucca so close to walk to… the town wall is just around the corner! Hire bikes and ride around it a few times for a different perspective of Lucca! Especially nice on a sunny day.

Make sure you visit the archaeological dig just inside the front door and on the ground floor for some great history of the property and what was built before! Amazing!!

Internet access was great, conencting via the ethernet cable provided to us by Daniela. She said the Wifi doesn't work too well in the bedrooms through the thick old building wall, so she provides the cable! You can use WiFi in the main lounge area though.

Highly recommend Relais San Lorenzo… we loved every minute of our stay here and we were both very sad to leave. Daniela, we will be back one day and will bring the baby with us! Thanks for your absolute kindness.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We enjoyed the stay at Relais San Lorenzo very much! It was a nigt in real palacio! Location is great - in the city center, perfect breakfast. Very good room in old style but with modern bathroom. I can recomend it to everyone. Only one thing you have to take a note. They situated at 3d floor and there isn't elevator. It wasn't a problem for us, but for old person it might be complicated.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent four nights at this hotel and loved every minute of it. Daniela was a superb hostess and her assistant was very helpful. Each morning's breakfast included eggs to order, fresh baked goods as well as the usual assortment of cereals, meats, and cheeses. In the evening, the breakfast area functioned as a comfortable sitting and reading area supplied with fresh fruit and even some wine on occasion. Our room was lovely with nice high ceilings, lovely apricot colored walls, and a very comfortable bed. This hotel is located in the middle of Lucca and is central to restaurants, shopping, and touring the city. The hotel is on the third floor of the building. You'll need to walk up the stairs as there's no elevator. The ground floor entrance includes an entrance to a museum highlighting the history of Lucca. This is a great place to stay. Thanks, Daniela!

Room Tip: Try to get the room with the terrace. We were too late to book it but it looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
398 reviews 398 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the place you want to stay in, when in Lucca! It’s right in the middle of the historical centre, so you’re only minutes away from everything. It’s also on one of the floors of an old Italian manor, full with grand wooden doors. The owner and host, Daniella, is very hospitable and will make you feel right at home in her 5 bed room place. The rooms are beautiful, Italian in style and there are complimentary drinks in the mini bar. The bathroom is in keeping with the hotel’s style and ours had a rain shower too which was very powerful. You can expect impeccable cleanliness throughout and also a beautiful lounge to relax in after a long day in town and before heading out for dinner. There is complimentary water and fruit in the lounge and in the evening there is an additional bottle of strong drink (or something of the sort!) to help yourself from. Breakfast is served in the living room and very plentiful. Daniella takes your orders for eggs and makes them on request, however which way you like. The coffee is fantastic. Rates are excellent especially as the soft drinks in your room mini bar are complimentary - considering what you get for your money. I’ll definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

For me it's the most wonderful place I've ever stayed at. We've stayed at Manon Lescaut room-a romantic room in blue, with retro furniture, a spacious bathroom and a small balcony. Relais San Lorenzo has a big living room where we had breakfast every morning and where every evening we could enjoy our stay by having cognac, sweets or fruits. Daniela is a very polite and intelligent lady, she made our stay unforgettable. I'm sure I'll visit this place again when possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was one of the best places that we have stayed in. Daniela was so nice and friendly. We had the madame Butterfly suite. Definitely worth the money! Bedroom, sitting room and terrace all to yourself. Amazing breakfast, freshly made eggs, fantastic croissants, fruit in the basket. A common room that always had liquor, cognac and water available in the evening ( no charge).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Lorenzo

Address: Via Cesare Battisti, 15, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais San Lorenzo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Relais San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Lorenzo Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais San Lorenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.