We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room. Excellent breakfast. Nice people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais San Lorenzo

Save Saved
You added Relais San Lorenzo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais San Lorenzo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cesare Battisti, 15, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Redmond, Washington
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great room. Excellent breakfast. Nice people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent four nights at this hotel and loved every minute of it. Daniela was a superb hostess and her assistant was very helpful. Each morning's breakfast included eggs to order, fresh baked goods as well as the usual assortment of cereals, meats, and cheeses. In the evening, the breakfast area functioned as a comfortable sitting and reading area supplied with fresh fruit and even some wine on occasion. Our room was lovely with nice high ceilings, lovely apricot colored walls, and a very comfortable bed. This hotel is located in the middle of Lucca and is central to restaurants, shopping, and touring the city. The hotel is on the third floor of the building. You'll need to walk up the stairs as there's no elevator. The ground floor entrance includes an entrance to a museum highlighting the history of Lucca. This is a great place to stay. Thanks, Daniela!

Room Tip: Try to get the room with the terrace. We were too late to book it but it looked lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    25
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
69
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
387 reviews 387 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the place you want to stay in, when in Lucca! It’s right in the middle of the historical centre, so you’re only minutes away from everything. It’s also on one of the floors of an old Italian manor, full with grand wooden doors. The owner and host, Daniella, is very hospitable and will make you feel right at home in her 5 bed room place. The rooms are beautiful, Italian in style and there are complimentary drinks in the mini bar. The bathroom is in keeping with the hotel’s style and ours had a rain shower too which was very powerful. You can expect impeccable cleanliness throughout and also a beautiful lounge to relax in after a long day in town and before heading out for dinner. There is complimentary water and fruit in the lounge and in the evening there is an additional bottle of strong drink (or something of the sort!) to help yourself from. Breakfast is served in the living room and very plentiful. Daniella takes your orders for eggs and makes them on request, however which way you like. The coffee is fantastic. Rates are excellent especially as the soft drinks in your room mini bar are complimentary - considering what you get for your money. I’ll definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

For me it's the most wonderful place I've ever stayed at. We've stayed at Manon Lescaut room-a romantic room in blue, with retro furniture, a spacious bathroom and a small balcony. Relais San Lorenzo has a big living room where we had breakfast every morning and where every evening we could enjoy our stay by having cognac, sweets or fruits. Daniela is a very polite and intelligent lady, she made our stay unforgettable. I'm sure I'll visit this place again when possible.

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was one of the best places that we have stayed in. Daniela was so nice and friendly. We had the madame Butterfly suite. Definitely worth the money! Bedroom, sitting room and terrace all to yourself. Amazing breakfast, freshly made eggs, fantastic croissants, fruit in the basket. A common room that always had liquor, cognac and water available in the evening ( no charge).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. The room was basic but the washroom was nice and large. We had some issues with hot water but we didn't raise them with the hotel owner, which had we I am sure they would have been easy fixes.
The service was great. Breakfast was nice and and there was always fresh fruit and a treat out anytime of day. The drinks in the mini bar were free, which was a very nice treat.
There is free WiFi and there is also a computer to use if you didn't bring one.
The location was amazing. We had read that it was out of the downtown area but that's not the case whatsoever. You are a stones throw away from great restaurants, a store to rent bikes and from the main streets to go shopping.
You are given a key to the main entrance and to the bed & breakfast entrance so you can come and go as you please.
Great spot, would definitely recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights and found it very comfortable. My room was a double and was perfect for me on my own. The bathroom was big, spotless, and modern. There was air conditioning which I could control myself. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, and the wardrobe was large. The place has an historic feel with the decor and the buidling it is in. There is a large living room with fruit and water and sometimes even an apertif set out there every day. The breakfast is good, and as others have said, Daniella, the owner, will make any kind of eggs for you everyday. She and her husband are meticulous about the place and every detail is covered. When I had trouble connecting to the internet they immediately tried to solve the problem and contacted their webserver so I could access via WiFi. In the meantime there was a computer that I was able to use in the hallway. The 3rd floor walk up could be a problem for some, but even with my heavy luggage, I didn't find it a problem Also, Daniella was more than willing to help. Lucca can be a very busy, touristy place in the summer, and this B and B was a great place to get away from the crowds. I never heard any noise, and I could relax in my room or the living room. I would highly recommend the Relais San Lorenzo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This small family run b&b right in the heart of old Lucca was a great choice ! Daniella was such a gentle and charming hostess. We arrived with friends who were staying elsewhere but Daniella welcomed them and offered them coffee as though they were her guests. The rooms were beautiful and absolutely spotless. Mini bar in room was free, internet also free. Fresh fruit was always available in the sitting room.
Breakfast may not have had the choices that some places have...but it was more than adequate...and how many places offer delicious fresh home cooked Italian Lemon Cake! Daniella told us her 80+ mother still likes to bake for the guests! The only home cooking we tasted in 4 weeks in Italy...what a treat ! Thank you Daniella's mum :)
The young couple who waited on us at breakfast were also most polite, charming and efficient.
We'd certainly stay at Relais San Lorenzo again and recommend it anyone visiting Lucca.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais San Lorenzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais San Lorenzo

Address: Via Cesare Battisti, 15, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais San Lorenzo 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Relais San Lorenzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais San Lorenzo Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais San Lorenzo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.