We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful staff, nice rooms, fantastic view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Mezza Luna

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Mezza Luna
Via Nazionale - Loc.Meuccio | Barga-Gallicano, Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Helpful staff, nice rooms, fantastic view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Staff at La Mezza Luna are very helpful, sorted us out with timetables etc. Rooms are everything you need. Within walking distance to the train station which is fab, even though there isn't frequent trains from Barga there still are various chances to get to Pisa, Florence and Lucca. La Mezza Luna has the most fantastic view!! Although it is outside of Barga it isn't far in a taxi, if you are looking at having a stop off this place is fab.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
3
9
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
honolulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Rita and her partner Alex and family run a really great operation with wonderful apartments and the restaurant. This is very clean and economical place to stay. Great beds and comfy pillows and linens, spectacular views across the valley, and the kitchen is stocked well for an extended stay. But have dinner in their restaurant, the food is equal to some of the finest in Lucca which I had the pleasure of enjoying, but their prices are more reasonable and the portions generous The hospitality is superb. The train from Lucca runs up the Sercchio valley and stops at all the significant towns. Buses connect to the hiltowns so you can really get around without a car, but having one takes you to some other places outside of the towns. Their place is a short 5 blocks from the Train station and slightly uphill as is the case in this region, but is doable with roller luggage or a backpack, there is always a Taxi at the station if you prefer not to deal with baggage. The public bus, a block away, runs up to Barga and return and this is the best way to get there rather than a car and deal with parking.. I am a seasoned traveler and this was my 5th trip to Italy and I highly recommend this place. The people from Scotland's review comes from obviously unseasoned tourists sounding like they expected a full service hotel, these are self catering apartments and two ensuite B & B's that are just great places.

Room Tip: All rooms have view of the valley and Apuan Apinine mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamezzaluna, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Thank you so much for coming to La Mezzaluna.
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in Barga soon.
Thank you so much for your kind words, it is very much appreciated .
Best regards
Rita and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barga, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I have just moved to Italy and was expecting to move into my newly renovated home at the end of August 2011 after a 3 week vacation north of Barga with my children. Needless to say, at the end of August my children went home and I was left to find other accommodation as my house was not ready. I rented a house for 4 weeks in a mountain top village (not exactly convenient) at huge cost and after my dog was poisoned for the 2nd time (rat poison) decided that I needed to move out the same day. La Mezzaluna provided some much needed help very quickly. Rita put me in an apartment that had the most beautiful view of Pania Secco (mountain) and was nothing other than accommodating. A friendly welcome and throughout my weeks stay was extremely supporting and helpful.

La Mezzaluna is close to the railway station which makes it easy to jump on a train and visit Lucca (a must), Florence, Viareggio (beach), or even to Castelnuovo di Garfagnana. The Garfagnana is wedged between the Apuane Alpi and the Appenino Alpi, which obviously means a very hilly/mountainous landscape. La Mezzaluna is situated on a hill and therefore if you are not in a car and if you do not want to use public transport, then you need to be very fit if you want to walk to places like Barga - the beautiful medieval hilltop town.

Thankyou Rita and family for your help and support - I will be back on a regular basis for the delicious pizzas'. Looking forward to seeing the place after the refurbishments are finished.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamezzaluna, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Hi, thank you so much for your review.
It was a pleasure meeting you.
I am happy that you are now in your new house and settlling down well.
Molly is now keeping well too I hear.
Come down to La Mezzaluna any time, for a pizza or even a coffee in the afternoon.
The painting of the restaurant is now finished and looking good.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Rita and Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The accommodation here is clean & economical, however what really makes this experience work is the environment created through a combination of location and the efforts of Rita, the host.

You are surrounded by mountains, trees and beautiful views - so it is worth hiring a vehicle for convenience. You can walk to Barga - the nearest place for activity, however the roads are dark and steep in places so a car is the best bet.

Rita and her partner Alex are great fun. We were involved in their kareoke practice and were made to feel very weclome and confortable for our whole stay. We were offered lifts when we did not want to take our car so we could have a drink and any information we requested was provided.

We often ended up sitting chatting with Rita over a beer or two in the bar.

There is a lovely family type atmosphere to The Mezza Luna and it feels very much that you get out what you put in.

A great trip hepled by our hosts and their advice & accomodation. Hope to return one day.

Local pool in Barga is lovely and only 5 mins drive (kids pool there too). Various restaurants all within a short drive. Barga itself is beautiful and worth a walk round and up both day and night, make sure you get up to the church right at the top.

We had a great experience here. Hope you do too

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamezzaluna, Owner at La Mezza Luna, responded to this review, August 11, 2010
Thank You very much.
I am glad you enjoyed yourselves and it was a pleasure meeting you and all the wedding party,
Good luck to you both .
Have a wonderful day on the 13th, will be thinking of you.
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

just back from my second holiday at the wonderful la mezza luna as always the room was spotlessly clean and fresh clean towels every day as i said in my last review you have to try ritas food to belive how good it is this also applies to ricardos pizza in a country with world famous cusine this place has the best i have ever tasted never have i found a place i find so relaxing and i have never stayed anywhere where the owner makes you feel this welcome so much so i was telling her by the end of the holiday that she was my auntie but thats just the way she makes you feel id take that over your big hotels any day i cannot recomend this place highly enough

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

I have just returned with my husband and son from one of the best holidays we've ever had. Thankyou so much Rita, Alex, Ricardo and Daniella. We found our room very spacious , airy and comfortable with everything provided,. Clean towels and plenty of them every day, plenty of tea and coffee and even a hairdryer. The room was cleaned thouroughly every day.
Rita is a fantastic cook and we had lovely meals for breakfast, lunch and dinner with plenty of everything. The wine is delicious and recommended.
Rita and Alex are the perfect hosts and we have come home feeling as if we're part of their family.
We cannot wait to plan our next visit

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

Staying at La Mezza Luna was absolutely the best part of our trip to Barga last summer. The accommodation was perfect. It was clean and spacious with a lovely area of outside space where we spent most of our time, enjoying the wonderful view of the Tuscan hills and relaxing in the sunshine.
Rita's restaurant was without a doubt the best place to eat in Barga due to the outstanding pizzas (and wine!) and the hospitality. Rita often told us of events that were going on around the area that were worth taking a look at. We would not have known about had she not told us and this definitely enhanced our trip.
We decided to stay at La Mezza Luna despite reading other reviews on trip adviser. We were pleasantly surprised and in fact could not believe what we had read before arriving.
We would thoroughly recommend it and would have no hesitation about returning to La Mezza Luna. Grazie Rita!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lamezzaluna, Proprietario at La Mezza Luna, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Grazie a Voi!!!!!
It was my pleasure looking after you.
Best regards
Rita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mezza Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mezza Luna

Address: Via Nazionale - Loc.Meuccio | Barga-Gallicano, Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 50 Specialty lodging in Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mezza Luna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Mezza Luna to your Saves list