We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best You'll ever find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo della Madonnina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borgo della Madonnina
Save
You added Borgo della Madonnina to your Saves list
Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best You'll ever find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Had a wonderful week in may at this tuscan retreat. Very very friendly and wonderful hosts, and such beautiful houses in a perfect setting. Could not ask for more in any regard. Good restaurants close by. Car needed for going here though. Would recommend this place to anyone, anytime. /Frans, Sweden

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Just home from a wonderful week in La Stella the perfect cosy hide away in the tuscan hills. From the minute we arrived we felt relaxed and at home in this stunning cottage on the hillside. Adrian and Christopher the owners have filled the cottages with everything you could need and in such a lovely boutique style. The welcome hamper we received was jsuch a nice touch and ours was perfect for what we'd forgotten to pick up from the supermarket. A&C are at hand if you want to find out anything but the villa is full of maps and helpful leaflets and suggestions so you don't need to if you don't want to. The view from La Stella and the pool are lovely and the peace and quiet is just what we needed. Book up and enjoy tuscany and the local restaurants which offer excellent value for money compared to the big cities and towns. Thanks for a wonderful week with wonderful memories.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I have just got back from Borgo and just did not want to leave, both agreeing that it was by far the best holiday we had ever been on. We stayed in the main house which was so thoughtfully organized with everything you could possibly need. The house itself and the surroundings are beautiful and despite us both being holiday 'doers' we quickly gave in to relaxing way of life, lazing on the patio with far too much good wine, food and of course, Stella, the most fabulously amusing dog I have ever met.

Despite only staying here for a week we will always remember our time here and will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

tucked away up a winding road our little 'il Forno' apartment had everything you could wish for - and anything else we decided we needed was quickly found like the coffee pot essential to start the day! lovely little touches in the apartment meant it was a real home from home only nicer, clearly a lot of work has gone into converting the buildings into special places to stay, from the welcome pack of groceries to the neat little terrace to take your meals at. We had planned to 'do' tuscany but after the first day we decided it was too lovely just sitting looking at the view and enjoyed the locality instead. A very good decision. There is much to enjoy and the hosts Adrian and Christopher offer just the right blend of friendly advice and chat whilst leaving you to enjoy your holiday. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

A calm and peaceful North Tuscan retreat set in wooded valleys and hills. A lovely place to relax and unwind - we wanted to read and draw, eat and drink and doze in the sun. The owners Chris and Adrian advised us of the best local places to eat, drink and visit as well as sightseeing tips for Lucca and Pisa. The restaurant Molin della Volpe was within easy walking distance and was a fantastic and friendly place to eat good Tuscan food as well as pizzas for children. Also loved the nearby hillside town of Barga.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I have stayed at the Borgo della Madonnina in spring, summer and autumn. Every season has something to offer. Whether sipping a glass of wine on the patio of La Stalla (one of the houses in the "Borgo") or hiking in the hills in the vacinity, I've always felt each day was rewarding. Certainly, this is added to by the hosts of the "Borgo", Adrian and Christopher. There is always the right balance of friendly welcome and privacy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Had a wonderful week's stay in the Borgo hosted by the delightful Adrian and Christopher and of course Stella the wonder dog. Even though the weather wasn't great Adrian helped out with tips on where to go and great directions (even with a GPS proper local directions are needed!!) they told us the best beach to go to, the best restaurants even helped us with the pharmacy and doctors! They couldn't do enough for us. The place is comfortable and its the little touches that made the visit lovely, the welcome pack and the way the place was decorated and the atmosphere of the place. Adrian and Christopher are on hand when you need them and not when you need some privacy.
We had a lovely holiday! Great shopping in Lucca!!
Thanks

Helen and Jules

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lucca hotels
9.6 mi away
Hotel Ristorante Le Rotonde
4.5 mi away
Relais La Cappella
Relais La Cappella
#2 of 56 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Fabbrica di San Martino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Al Podere di Rosa
Al Podere di Rosa
#4 of 56 in Lucca
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
4.6 mi away
Le Murelle Farm
Le Murelle Farm
#4 of 57 in Lucca
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hotel Villa Rinascimento
Hotel Villa Rinascimento
#1 of 1 in Santa Maria del Giudice
4.0 of 5 stars 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borgo della Madonnina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo della Madonnina

Address: Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo della Madonnina is set in over seven acres of pine and chestnut forest, with abundant olive and fruit trees and beautiful views over the valley. The small touches make a stay here special. The houses date from the mid 1700s and have many original features, including exposed stone walls and original ceilings with chestnut beams and cotto tiles. The overall feel is light and airy, with simple but thoughtful décor, pleasant furniture, pretty bedding and plenty of fresh towels. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo della Madonnina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.