We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miss it already - Perfect Tuscany Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo della Madonnina

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lucca
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borgo della Madonnina
Save Saved
You added Borgo della Madonnina to your Saves list
Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Miss it already - Perfect Tuscany Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

Just home from a wonderful week in La Stella the perfect cosy hide away in the tuscan hills. From the minute we arrived we felt relaxed and at home in this stunning cottage on the hillside. Adrian and Christopher the owners have filled the cottages with everything you could need and in such a lovely boutique style. The welcome hamper we received was jsuch a nice touch and ours was perfect for what we'd forgotten to pick up from the supermarket. A&C are at hand if you want to find out anything but the villa is full of maps and helpful leaflets and suggestions so you don't need to if you don't want to. The view from La Stella and the pool are lovely and the peace and quiet is just what we needed. Book up and enjoy tuscany and the local restaurants which offer excellent value for money compared to the big cities and towns. Thanks for a wonderful week with wonderful memories.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

My boyfriend and I have just got back from Borgo and just did not want to leave, both agreeing that it was by far the best holiday we had ever been on. We stayed in the main house which was so thoughtfully organized with everything you could possibly need. The house itself and the surroundings are beautiful and despite us both being holiday 'doers' we quickly gave in to relaxing way of life, lazing on the patio with far too much good wine, food and of course, Stella, the most fabulously amusing dog I have ever met.

Despite only staying here for a week we will always remember our time here and will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

tucked away up a winding road our little 'il Forno' apartment had everything you could wish for - and anything else we decided we needed was quickly found like the coffee pot essential to start the day! lovely little touches in the apartment meant it was a real home from home only nicer, clearly a lot of work has gone into converting the buildings into special places to stay, from the welcome pack of groceries to the neat little terrace to take your meals at. We had planned to 'do' tuscany but after the first day we decided it was too lovely just sitting looking at the view and enjoyed the locality instead. A very good decision. There is much to enjoy and the hosts Adrian and Christopher offer just the right blend of friendly advice and chat whilst leaving you to enjoy your holiday. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

A calm and peaceful North Tuscan retreat set in wooded valleys and hills. A lovely place to relax and unwind - we wanted to read and draw, eat and drink and doze in the sun. The owners Chris and Adrian advised us of the best local places to eat, drink and visit as well as sightseeing tips for Lucca and Pisa. The restaurant Molin della Volpe was within easy walking distance and was a fantastic and friendly place to eat good Tuscan food as well as pizzas for children. Also loved the nearby hillside town of Barga.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

I have stayed at the Borgo della Madonnina in spring, summer and autumn. Every season has something to offer. Whether sipping a glass of wine on the patio of La Stalla (one of the houses in the "Borgo") or hiking in the hills in the vacinity, I've always felt each day was rewarding. Certainly, this is added to by the hosts of the "Borgo", Adrian and Christopher. There is always the right balance of friendly welcome and privacy.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

Had a wonderful week's stay in the Borgo hosted by the delightful Adrian and Christopher and of course Stella the wonder dog. Even though the weather wasn't great Adrian helped out with tips on where to go and great directions (even with a GPS proper local directions are needed!!) they told us the best beach to go to, the best restaurants even helped us with the pharmacy and doctors! They couldn't do enough for us. The place is comfortable and its the little touches that made the visit lovely, the welcome pack and the way the place was decorated and the atmosphere of the place. Adrian and Christopher are on hand when you need them and not when you need some privacy.
We had a lovely holiday! Great shopping in Lucca!!
Thanks

Helen and Jules

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed at Borgo della Madonnina towards the end of July and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It took us quite some time to take in this fabulous location embedded in the heart of a wooded valley in the hills above Lucca.

We stayed in the La Stalla property which was perfect. More secluded that the other properties, equipped with all that we needed and a nice large terrace with stunning views. Our hosts Adrian and Christopher (and Stella the family dog) were very welcoming and excellent hosts providing assistance whenever we needed.

A great base to visit surrounding villages and of course Lucca.

Stuff about food and drink:

Supermarket: Pennymarket is probably the best to use. It also has a great butchers next door where you can pick up meat for the BBQ. Remember the usual thing...stock up if arriving on Saturday as supermarkets are closed on Sundays! Adrian and Christopher also leave a welcome basket containing some essentials.

Breakfast: In Italy we make a habit of getting morning coffee and croissant in a local village bar. The Blubar 5km away in Piegaio fitted the bill with a v friendly owner.

Dinner:
Molin della Volpe (500m) is really handy and nice food. They also do takeaway pizza if you want a night in.

La Fonte in Piegaio (5km) is great with a buzzing atmosphere.

Antica locanda di sesto (7km) is currently No. 1 Restaurant in Trip Advisor for Lucca and is really close. A bit more upmarket pricewise but still great value compared to home. A fantastic holiday treat & great location. Ask for directions and turn off can be easily missed.

Bars: Local bar in Diecimo and Valdottavo worth a visit.

Looking forward to another stay at Borgo della Madonnina!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo della Madonnina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo della Madonnina

Address: Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 Specialty Lodging in Lucca
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo della Madonnina is set in over seven acres of pine and chestnut forest, with abundant olive and fruit trees and beautiful views over the valley. The small touches make a stay here special. The houses date from the mid 1700s and have many original features, including exposed stone walls and original ceilings with chestnut beams and cotto tiles. The overall feel is light and airy, with simple but thoughtful décor, pleasant furniture, pretty bedding and plenty of fresh towels. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo della Madonnina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.