We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little bed and breakfast inside Lucca's wall!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Dimora Lucense

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alla Dimora Lucense to your Saves list
Alla Dimora Lucense
via Fontana, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Dedham, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful little bed and breakfast inside Lucca's wall!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Last fall, my family and I stayed at this lovely bed and breakfast which we found on tripadvisor. It was on a quiet little side street around the corner from one of Lucca's main streets. Our party of 5 rented one double and one triple room. Both were large, well appointed and immaculate. The AC worked very well. The bathrooms were well stocked with toiletries and decent towels. My husband and I had the "Colonne Mozza" room on the second floor. Even though it was near the elevator, it was very quiet. The staff was very friendly and the manager was gracious. They had a garage for our car. They served a continental breakfast with fruit, cereals, yogurt, donuts and pastries along with coffee, tea, milk and various juices. I like a firm bed and this was probably the firmest bed I have ever slept on. We were able to use the wifi out in the little courtyard garden. We will definitely stay here again, if we go back to Lucca.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
20
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

The rooms were clean and comfortable. The lady who greeted and helped us with information on directions and restaurants was very friendly. Great location.
The minor problem we had was the parking as we had a big car but the owner was happy to help us out with another solution. We did expect this as we were staying in the old part of the city of Lucca.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Located on a quiet side street around the corner from the San Frediano Church with its beautiful mosaic front, Alla Lucense Dimora offers a comfortable and friendly place to unwind after your day of exploring Lucca's impressive wall and sampling its many fine bistros. Sara and her mother, Rosanna, run a well oiled machine that makes the extra effort to please. We rented a triple and a twin on the second floor. The facilities are not expansive (especially the typically European shower), but they most certainly are sufficient on a budget. Wi-fi is available, generally strongest in the first floor breakfast room (nice starting meal included in room price) and in the lounge areas of the upper floors.

As noted at the start, Lucense's ace in the hole is its blissfully quiet location in a very busy tourist town. The bidet always reminds me of how civilized the Europeans are. Garage parking for €10 extra per night is well worth it, as legal street parking inside the wall is near non-existent. You will find any inconveniences quickly cured by Sara and Ester at the front desk. A very nice find, which we reserved through Booking.com.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

after ending up at a revolting hotel in Prato during a weekend with a major cycle race, I found Alla Dimora Lucense at the last minute using Trip Advisor.
My mum and I left our bus tour and boarded the train for Lucca. Unsure of what to find arriving at the train station we breathed a sigh of relief, the town just had a lovely feel.

The taxi driver took about 10 minutes to reach the hotel in the narrow streets of the old town. We were received by the manager and we felt very welcome. She showed us to our room on the top floor. A lift took us 2 floors and we had to carry the bags up another. It was not too hard. The room had a small sitting room with a double sofa bed, and upstairs had a queen bed and the bathroom. The view from the windows was of the roofs … a favourite of mums so she was very happy. It was a really quiet and peaceful. The beds were not the most comfortable, and we were happy to stay only 2 nights on them, but that was the only downside.

The breakfasts were simple and continental, as expected … the croissants tasty and fresh with lovely fresh coffee.

Wifi was easy to use in the courtyard, and meant the room really was an ideal escape.

The communication with the hotel was good - with my booking confirmed (with a personal email) at 11pm at night. Above and beyond for a family hotel.

Lucca itself is lovely, stay within the walls and you will adore it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at Alla Dimora Lucense for a long weekend in October, visiting for our friends' wedding. We arrived early to a busy reception but were greeted warmly and told that our room was ready for us. Our room was large and clean and although it was next to the breakfast room, not too noisy. The hotel is in a quiet side road but in a great central location near to shops and restaurants (less than a minute's walk). The staff were friendly and helpful and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Richmond, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Alla Dimora Lucense recently for three nights. The proprietress/manager was so very helpful and kind, she repeatedly went far beyond the necessary to help us. She gave us train timetables, called a taxi, gave wonderful restaurant recommendations, and much more. Our rooms were huge, great bathroom, furnishings were fine except the pillows are like sacks of cement and the bedside light so dim I had to use a flashlight. Breakfast in a cheery room was, however, disappointing. There were piles of packaged little cookies or muffins that looked revolting, and the coffee was surprisingly weak considering we're in Italy after all. Otherwise, some sad fruit, fresh pastries and yogurts. There was also a nice lounge with wifi and comfy couches. The location can't be beat, overall I really enjoyed my stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street may be slightly more exposed to night-time noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. Ester was in contact with us before our stay to ensure our room was ready for our arrival. When we did arrive Ester was there to welcome us and throughout our stay was very helpful. This is located within the old town and everything is within walking distance, including the railway station with luggage. Our room was a good size with everything you needed and had loads of charm. Overall a wee gem of a place and wouldn't hesitate to go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alla Dimora Lucense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Dimora Lucense

Address: via Fontana, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alla Dimora Lucense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Dimora Lucense Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Dimora Lucense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.