We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little hidden gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Dimora Lucense

Save Saved
You added Alla Dimora Lucense to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alla Dimora Lucense
via Fontana, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Nice, France
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“a little hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I noticed Alla Dimora Lucense only comes half way through the reviews of hotels in Lucca. That is so sad. Because Dimora Lucense is a gorgeous little hotel. We chose it after reading many reviews for its position in the walled city and its parking. Considering that if you want to stay in the old part of Lucca, finding a car park in the hotel was a great bonus. And we were absolutely not disappointed by this quaint little hotel, very warmly decorated and welcoming. Situated in a very quiet street close to Piazza Amphiteatro and Via Filungo.. and a couple of hundred metres from a water fountain where local people fill up their bottles regularly, Dimora Lucense offers a good size room with a well appointed bathroom . The lady running the place speaks several languages and is always so ready to help you out . She makes you feel welcome and at home and prepares for you each morning a reasonable breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    20
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
16
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This was our 3rd or 4th stay at Dimora Lucense. It is a great B&B with small lovely rooms, but everything you need. The bathroom is a good size and very clean.
The breakfast was included this time and was very good. Coffee was made to order.

It is close to everything and easy to drive to.

The best part of the B&B is Ester, the lady at the front desk, who does everything! She checks you in, makes your breakfast and even moves your car in the attached garage. I can't say enough about her, she is so nice!!

I hope we will be back soon to a great little place in a great town!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira, Portugal
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a small hotel half-hidden in a quiet street but it is all you need in Lucca: it is inside the walls, has its own tiny garage (do let the owner-receptionist, a lovely helpful lady, park your car for you) and is within easy walking distance from everywhere. It is also well decorated and has a nice feeling.
Breakfast was good. The bed and pillows were a little hard, but that is almost standard in hotels in Italy.

Lucca is a gem of a city, with a life of its own. It is also the birthplace of Puccini and his house, which is being restored, will be open to visitors soon this month.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

I have stayed in three different hotels in Lucca during previous trips to Italy, and the Dimora Lucense is by far my favorite hotel! It is ideally located just a block from the Piazza Amphiteatro, and just a half-block from Via Filungo, the main shopping street. Access to the Passeggiata sur la Mura (the walkway on top of the wall) is very close, as is the Lazzi bus depot. The train station is a short taxi ride or a 20-minute walk from the hotel.
Our room was charmingly decorated, comfortable, and certainly of adequate size for two adults. It was immaculately clean, as was the bathroom, quiet, and with good amenities (all of which worked perfectly!), including air-conditioning.
The staff was very pleasant and helpful, especially Ester (front desk), who suggested restaurants, cultural events, printed out bus and train schedules, and arranged for a taxi with great pleasantness and good humor.
The breakfast was a generous continental buffet in a lovely room that doubles as a cozy bar in the evening, and was a good value for the price.
I would not hesitate to recommend the Alla Dimora Lucense to anyone! Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

My boyfriend's parents (in their 50s) stayed here during our trip through Italy, so I write this partly on their behalf.

The hotel was very nice. located within the city walls but driving there is a hassle. They do have a private garage, but we angered more than a few locals trying to drive through the tiny streets. It's a small, tight garage, where fitting in cars is a bit of a puzzle so not the best if you're planning on using your car on a daily basis. We left the car in the garage during our whole stay. Their room was nice and roomy - though on the second floor next to the breakfast area, so not the best if you like to sleep in.

The staff here was incredibly nice and helpful! Even though my boyfriend and I were staying at a cheaper hostel across town, they had no problem with us coming in and out throughout the day, and hanging out in the breakfast area. Everyone was always friendly. They also helped us locate a small town outside of Lucca where my bf's grandfather was born, and arranged our transportation, as the town wasn't on any maps we had. Staff had wonderful restaurant recommendations as well.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

These people give Italy a bad name. What you get for 130 euros in late October is an average room and if you want to park, its another 15 euros. It gets better - they charge 18 euros for breakfast which consists of not more than the usual coffee, rolls, and pastries. I went to breakfast in the morning thinking it was included (which is customary in Italian hotels) only to find out at check-out that I got socked with the charge. Not very customer focused. I was so angry when I left their establishment that I never wanted to set foot in Lucca again, which is too bad.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2008

This is a bed and breakfast, as other reviewers have pointed out. The desk staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was spacious and reasonably quiet at night. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. You must note that the breakfast is an extra charge and I found it more appealing to go out for something to eat in the morning, although not necessarily more economical!
The audio tour that the tourist information office offers for 9 euro was a good introduction to the city and its sights.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no internet service
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alla Dimora Lucense? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Dimora Lucense

Address: via Fontana, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 58 hotels in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Alla Dimora Lucense reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Dimora Lucense Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Dimora Lucense, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.