We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit to this beautiful place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Biancalana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Biancalana to your Saves list
Casa Biancalana
Via Santissima Annunziata, 1070, 55100 Lucca, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 133 Lucca B&B and Inns
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Second visit to this beautiful place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at Casa Biancalana several years ago with a friend and we had four fantastic days. This year I took my husband back to celebrate our second anniversary and overall we had a lovely stay and I would definitely go back again.

That said when we first arrived I was quite disappointed. The rustic charm that I remembered was now just rustic. It is a beautiful very old guest house with lots of chandeliers and antiques.

The kitchen facilties had seen better days and the pond area outside the room we had booked was so overgrown it was like stepping into the Amazon jungle, complete with Mozzies. We talked to owner and manager Atilia about our disappointment and she immediately moved us giving us a choice of all other apartments. We stayed in Lavinia which having looked through all is definitely the best one.

They have upgraded the two free bikes which is great although they hadnt been looked after very well so we spent lots of time with chains coming off and a trip to a bike doctor in the middle of town. Slightly disappointed that we werent offered a discount for the £15 we paid to hire another bike for the day and £10 to repair it. But hey Attilia is endearing and in the scheme of things they were free to start with.

This place is slightly out of town but as Lucca is really flat it takes ten mins on the bike to get into the centre and its a great way to see the walled, car free city.

There is a supermarket around the corner which is open every day until 9pm (no siesta) which is excellent value. Atilia makes the most stunning breakfast each day for an extra 8 euros.

A tip if you're going to stay here is to take your own washing up liquid, cloth, salt and pepper. The cooking facilities are very basic and could do with an upgrade soon but all in all it is a lovely place to stay and we met some great people as it has around 5 apartments.

I gave this 3 stars for cleanliness because whilst Attilia makes the beds and tidies kitchen/bathroom each day some of the cutlery and kitchen equipement needs an upgrade.

Room Tip: Definitely Lavinia unless they sort the garden out then its Katerina
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    26
    9
    8
    25
See reviews for
31
60
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We spent 6 wonderful nights here-couldn't ask for more. Attila's hospitality is second to none.Breakfasts are fit for a king and our room was outstanding. We had our a rental car so were able to go on lots of day trips.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

My husband and two older children stayed at this hotel/Villa for 4 nights at the end of september. What a lovely secret hotel, although it was very difficult to find even with the Sat Nav as it is on the busy road and you can go past it easily. The garden was my favourite area with a small pool and pretty plants . You will have to watch out for the mosquitos and bring plenty of spray!
The apartment was lovely, we stayed in Chiessiata on the ground floor which had a small courtyard to the main house. The bathroom ,living room and kitchen were on the ground floor with the two bedrooms up a spiral staircase. The main bedroom is quite dark and you have to have the lights on and the other room for the kids was very small with twin beds not enough room for any cases so they had to stay downstairs. The rooms and bathroom were very clean and homely. Overall the Villa is very old shabby chic but interesting. The breakfast room is nice and the owner Atillia made you welcome. You need a car if you are staying here as it is a little way out of Lucca.

Room Tip: Take mosquito spray and hire a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We went back to Lucca 1-8 October. Again we stayed at the beautiful Casa Biancalana. The fabulous hospitality of owners the needs to be experienced. This place get my highest recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here for just 4 nights early October.
Had a lovely time in apartment Lavinia which is on the top floor, under the eaves and has has views over the lovely garden and pool. Attila was extremely helpful and advised us of a lovely restaurant - 'All Olivo', bit pricey but very very nice..
The apartment is large enough with a lounge area, TV and dining set, twin bed room and a double bed room. The shower was a bit small and could be improved by making a wet room of the separate bathroom and loo perhaps?
Breakfast was tremendous and set you up for the day! Lots of home cooking and fresh local produce.
The walk to town is about 35 minutes but just as easy to get a local bus from near the Carrefour supermarket - only €2.50 return! Taxi from station was €15 for 4 people including luggage, we used Bruno - ----, very polite and informative without being to pushy. Shame I forgot to tip him, all more reason to re-visit!
Lucca has lots to see, plenty of piazzas to sit and watch the world go by or have a top notch meal.
On one particularly hot day we found the Botanic Garden, adjacent to city walls, absolute oasis of coolness and serenity plus lots of lovely trees and flowers. Well worth a visit at €3 and somewhere nice to eat your sandwich?
Also took a train ride to Viareggio (30 mins away) at cost of €2 each way, lovely seaside town - beach restaurant 'Irenes' (green covers)has superb food and service. The town itself is very nice with some HUGE yachts there.
Worth staying here for at least a week next time and also hiring car to go to Braga.

Room Tip: Choose another room than Lavinia in summer if you want a cool room as the others are at rear of hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Lovely clean welcoming hotel, what makes this Hotel so interesting is the character of the place its so old with all antique furniture. The dining room is like a musuem full of information and photos dating back to family generations. Only downside it was a litte too far out from Lucca although we had a car we wanted to have a night sampling the wines so we arranged a taxi this was 14 Euros each way (a little expesive considering some of the trains are 4 euros return from one city to another). Lucca was lovely we hired a bike and went round the wall, 3 euros for 1hr. A lovely place for wine which is cheap and served with olives etc at no extra cost is Lenoteca Calastro this can be found at square piazza s Giovanni, we also bought our ticket from here for puccini opera which contributed too a lovely evening, would deffinately reccomend this.

A cheap friendly eat in or take out is Danne in via s croce.

We had a lovely day at Pisa the tower looked fabulous very amusing watching people having there photos with it. Unfortunatley we decided to go for something to eat just outside the arch thinking this would be cheaper than inside (big mistake) We was stung, not only was we stung the staff was rude also after we placed our order builders started with scaffolding on the building opposite. My advice would be to eat inside the grounds some lovely little side streets with friendly italians.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I second my wife's review below. Probably a simple mistake, but *extremely* poor given how long before we'd made the booking. We went to stay at a proper hotel which was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Biancalana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Biancalana

Address: Via Santissima Annunziata, 1070, 55100 Lucca, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Lucca > Lucca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Lucca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Casabiancalana For those who love beautiful, the taste and refinement and search for a Bed and Breakfast in Lucca as an alternative to more expensive hotels in the area, in B&B Casa Biancalana a unique solution, that is a level Bed and Breakfast absolutely top, with rooms and apartments located in a splendid villa of the 1600, tastefully furnished and renovated, to provide a unique ambience and excitement guests .... Inside the B&B there are also two receptions rooms, la Limonaia room and the Hall of Portraits, for the Organization of events, ceremonies and meetings. A solution to the Top, absolutely not comparable to traditional Bed and Breakfast in Lucca and its province ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Biancalana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Biancalana Lucca
Casa Biancalana Hotel Lucca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Biancalana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.